Sunday, July 22, 2007

Harry Potter

Yes, I have done little in these past two days but read and finish the new "Harry Potter" book. I'm sad because the saga is over. It was such a great series and JK Rowling is done. Sigh.

After I finished, I was reading some comments on the Chronicle's website, comments written by a variety of people as a reaction to a newspaper article about Harry Potter. Many of those comments got me irritated, especially the ones that said that reading the Harry Potter books was a waste of time and that the books were stupid and foolish and that they are nothing but pointless escapism and people should read nonfiction instead.

Time for my general reply. As both a reader AND an English teacher, I think I have a good backgrounds for my arguments.

First of all, the books are getting people to read. Kids should definitely read the older books, but the newer books, espcially this one, is very violent and there are deaths of many beloved characters (including my favorite, which made me sad). But these books are getting not only kids reading, but adults. Many adults stop reading books after college and therefore become alliterate (not illiterate, but alliterate, which is choosing not to read). I know many adults, including myself, who are hooked on these fun books.

Secondly, these books teach great lessons: honor, loyalty, discipline, trust, family, good vs. evil, evil never prevails, etc. Harry and his friends should be models as how people should act with their friends - they're helpful for each other, determined to not let the others fall, and will go through great lengths for their friend's safety. Also, people who do wrong in these books are punished. Except for small mischiefs that really hurt noone but the doer, every bad thing that happens has a repurcussion.

Third, they are the mark of a great imagination and irony. Has anyone really looked at the character's names. Look up their names in other languages (especially Latin). For example, Umbridge in Latin means shadow. See the resemblance? Malfoy's first name is Draco, Latin for Dragon (a typically harsh mythical animal). Voldemort - "mort" meaning death. Also, listen to the connotations of the names. Potter - a simple, everyman. Weasly - sneaky (as they all are, but in good ways). Hagrid - almost sounds like "haggard", which fits his descriptions. Dumbledore - goofy, eccentric. Snape - sounds like snake, sneaky. Luna - she's slightly loony, crazy. And on, and on, and on. Rowling took her time with these names and used great creativity.

Fourth, these books provide excellent examples of imagery, which is a literary element that the kids need to determine in school - and also analyze their effects. One of the reasons these books are so fun is that Rowling describes everything very tactilly- warm butterbeer, squashy poofs, scabby hands, brilliant sparks, piercing pain. Her descriptions make the readers see, feel, taste, smell, and hear.

Fifth, these books all have the classic plot diagrams - the expositions, inciting incidents, rising action, climax, falling action, conclusions.

Sixth, she is a master of both suspense and dramatic irony.

I could go on, and on, but my point is that, as silly as some of the books may seem, don't knock them until you've read them and know that the story is as classic as it comes: good vs. evil. Except this time, the heros are teenagers, and not experienced adults.

PS - If you disagree with me, please don't waste your time replying. This is MY blog. Voice your own opinions on your own blog.

Time to finish a nonfiction book on Shakespeare, another fantastic writer.

Cheers!

Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Overall, Not Bad

I actually wasn't as bored as I thought I'd be. I did go to the movies, and then afterward I went shopping and bought (more) new stuff for the apartment and new make-up. I love make-up shopping. And then afterwards I sat in my apartment while the guys fixed my porch (it's safe to go outside on it now!) and then finally to dinner. We ate at a hibachi place since the Pregnant One can't have sushi, and was, after dinner, presented with a samuari sword and red chef's hat, and I had to pose for a picture whilst the waiters sang "Happy Birthday." The Pregnant One and her husband kept teasing me about getting it done, and, despite threats of friendship divorce, managed to cajole a nearby diner to tell the waitress that today is my birthday. So I sucked up the embarassment and took a pretty good photo. It now sits on top of my entertainment center, as a reminder to not take myself too seriously.

Overall, nice birthday and I had a candle with my green tea ice cream!

Another Candle on the Cake

Yep, today is my birthday. My 20s are coming to and end quickly. Next year I'll have to change my blog tagline from "An almost thirty-something" to "A thirty-something."

Upon reflection, my 28th year was probably one of my worst overall. Two injuries, a never-ending case of bronchitis, an unsettling workplace, a relationship that went bad for too long. At least I'm still alive, right? My friend Christine said that her 29th year was her best year. Here's hoping...

I usually try to do something fun for my birthday. This year is the first year in probably 6 or 7 years that I'm not doing anything special. Last year I was in New York City, this year I'm sitting in my apartment, watching Wibble sleep. I wanted to go to the movies, but I've seen all of the good ones. It's too hot to go to the beach (and it's supposed to rain later). I could go shopping, but I just went shopping Sunday and I don't think there's anything I need or really want. There's no good musical in town right now. There's nothing really to do to make today feel special. Maybe it's just a sign that I am indeed getting older.

I'm on a funk on my birthday. How bad does that suck?

Later on I'm going out to dinner with my family and the Bride and her husband (although she's not a newlywed anymore and she's also pregnant now, so her nickname will have to change to the Pregnant One). But I have nothing to do until then. I might go to the gym, not to work out and feel good, but to work out and kill time.

Sigh. What to do, what to do.

Thursday, July 12, 2007

Adjusting

As of about 10-15 minutes ago, I have internet access! Keep in mind, I'm technologically challenged and still use dial-up (also because it's cheaper), so I fell to the mercy of AT&T, a company that frustrated me beyond compare. My phone was to be turned on last Thursday, but due to "errors" in their computer, pole problems and internal wire problems (discovered after about 7 phone calls to AT&T - utilizing 120 cell phone minutes, being put on hold for over 100 of those minutes, getting disconnected all over the country and being disconnected by some of them), I just not got service.

And things are still not perfect. The only phone jack in my apartment that works is in my tiny kitchen. The one in the living room doesn't work and the one in my bedroom doesn't work. So my phone is perched precariously on a tiny ledge, just itching to be knocked into the sink. My answering machine must be placed in my dining area, and I can't use the internet from my bedroom, which means I have to lug my computer and printer to the dining area, with cords running from the kitchen, to do internet stuff. And right now, I'm sitting at my dining table. Grumble, grumble, grumble. The AT&T guy was at my apartment for almost two hours trying to figure out why things weren't working. It turns out that the wires are broken in my wall, probably the result of a squirrel or other critter chewing it in the attic area. So I have to get my apartment complex to fix that problem (as well as my unsafe porch). And, by the way, I missed my ballroom dancing lessons tonight because of it and I'm a bit irritated because it was the first night of the month/class and I don't know if they'll let me join late. But the repair guy was cool, and I discovered that his son will be entering the school I'm teaching at, but he won't be in my class because his son is taking pre-AP, which I'm not teaching this year.

Other than the phone and porch, my apartment is quite nice. It's unpacked, and I finally hung things on the wall today. My books and DVDs are alphabetized and catagorized and the only thing left to work on is my closet, which is a daunting task. Wibble has had her surgery and is living with me (and sticking to me like velcro, I must add) and I even bought a plant.
Next on my list: a trip to Specs. I need alcohol. I only have red wine and if I invite people over for drinks (which I intend on doing) or when I bring a date up for a nightcap, I need variety.

Time to go shopping!

Sunday, July 01, 2007

Help!

The dust! The dust! I am surrounded by dust! And I can't stop sneezing.

I hate moving. Let me rephrase it: I hate moving after being in a location for an extended period of time. Hidden dust bunnies lurk in places you can't find until you pack and move.

Achoo!