Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Coming Home

Last week, I smelled something strange in my apartment. Kinda like trash, but very faint. I found nothing suspect, so I just continued on.

Sunday, after coming home from Mom's house (I house-sat this weekend), I smelled it again, but much stronger. Sam (by the way, the Cop's name is Sam... more on him later) was with me, and I was actually embarassed, apologizing, because I thought maybe I left something to rot under my trash bag. Nope. My trash can smelled fine. He bought me flowers (again) last week, so we assumed it was the water from the flowers so he changed them.

Today, upon coming home, I realized that the smell wasn't coming from my apartment. As I pulled into my complex, I saw a cop car near my apartment and my neighbor's door busted in. As I approached my door, I caught a whiff of that smell, but magnified infinitely. I walked in, grabbed Wibble, and walked her directly to the police officer (who was sitting in my car), where I asked him what happened. He told me that my neighbor has been dead in his apartment, no foul play suspected (I asked because I'm a single chick). I told him that I haven't seen my neighbor in almost two weeks. I pointed out his car, and he asked if I knew if Gene had any family. I told him that I've never seen a famiy member or friend with him.

This is sad and tragic and I feel guilty. My neighbor was a very friendly man who always asked how my day was and how Wibble was (and he never complained about Wibble). I haven't seen him since at least the 1st, because I remember seeing leaflets in his door for days. His car was always there, and recently it was given a notice because of stickers that expired in January and the apartment put a note on his door after the 5th (I guess a rent notice). I feel guilty because I knew something was up, but I figured he was like my other neighbor, who travels a lot for work. I was wrong.

He was only 49 (said the cop, but I figured he was in his 50s). It took over two weeks for the discovery of his body, and it was probably due to the apartment complex. This is another sad aspect. I am so glad that I have friends and family who would think it odd if they haven't heard from me in a while, two people in particular (hell, mom Mom thinks it's strange after 2 days, and Sam would think it strange after 12 hours).

I will be staying at Sam's tonight. I don't feel like staying alone.

I would say "cheers," but under the circumstances...

Sunday, February 03, 2008

Super Sunday

The Superbowl is tonight and I'm probably going to not watch it. I will be taping it and showing the commercials to my English class so that we can analyze advertising techniques, but I honestly couldn't care less about the game. The BCIS game was my Superbowl. :)

The student who threatened me is back in school tomorrow. I can't say I'm overly excited about it, but my administrators are cool about it and warned me and said to come to them if anything funny happens. And the Cop volunteered his extra bullet-proof vest, but I don't think that it's necessary. Hopefully the kid chilled out and realized his mistakes. Hopefully.

My running has sucked lately. I've only run 28.1 miles for the month of January - I used to run more than 28.1 miles a WEEK. That has got to change, but if the weather would decide to stick to a consistent temperature and/or precipitation fall, I'll have an easier time. I WILL run 5 tomorrow, 5 Tuesday, 5 Thursday. And then hopefully 8 on Saturday afternoon or Sunday morning. That'll get me 23 for the week, which will make me happy for now. I'll get back up there eventually. I'm in no hurry.

The Cop is still uber-fantastic. I can't say enough good things about him, so let's just keep it at the fact that I'm surprised someone like really exists. I thought that only Disney came up with men like him.

Cheers!