Sunday, June 26, 2016

Selfish Promotion (mine,that is)

So, I just ordered a pair of shoes from M. Gemi.  I LOOOOOOVE Italian leather shoes (I currently have a Tieks addiction).  And then I discovered this company.  The shoes are gorgeous, and I was able to get $40 off, so I figured - what the hell.  I bought a pair of the grey Glassa ballet flats.  I cannot wait for them to come in!

And best of all, when you purchase a pair, they send you a promo code.  If two other people use the promo code and get $40 off their shoes, YOUR shoes are free (well, you get a credit, which means really that your next pair is free).

So, sure - let's try it!

If anyone is interested in having the promo code, here it is!

Click here for $40 off!

Friday, June 10, 2016

Phase 2: NEW SHOES! Beginning review of Skechers Forzas

So, total weight loss since January: 43 pounds.  I'm super excited.

I took the next step into my half-marathon adventure - new shoes.  I haven't bought running shoes since 2009.  I debated about buying walking vs. running shoes, but I hope to actually do the race 5 minutes walking, 2 minutes running, so I figured running shoes would be better.

The Houston marathon people gave registrants a discount code for Skechers, who is one of the new (or relatively new) sponsors.  At first I laughed.  Skechers - really?  I love Skechers, but they always seemed kinda fun and fluffy shoes rather than serious sneakers.  I've been out of the loop, so I had no idea they came out with a performance line, got Meb to be a speaker for them, and they've actually been getting pretty decent reviews.

As I'm still a bit too intimidated to go back into a running store (because clearly, I do NOT look like a runner.... yet), I went ahead and bought some online.  I have serious overpronation issues - hence my ankle issues from 2009 and my arches have fallen.  FALLEN.  On a side note, the doc won't do surgery to life them because my feet were pretty flat anyway, so I just have to be careful about what shoes I wear.  Anywhoo, Skechers Forzas are the stability, motion-control shoes, so I decided to go for it.  I usually wear running shoes a size up (in case of swelling - most runners do this), but that makes my shoes an 11.  In size 11, the colors were extremely limited, so I settled on a navy and pink. I usually prefer light-colored shoes (because I feel weird about wearing white socks with dark shoes), but I knew this wouldn't be my last pair before the half-marathon if all goes well.

They came in today, and I am super excited to try them on.  Right out of the box, the smell of chemicals and rubber is strong, but I know that will go away.  The color is much darker than it shows on the website, but it's not bad.  I like the hot pink near accents and the blue color wheel that is seems to go through.  I put them on my feet and DAMN.  I can feel the arch support/motion control/overpronation support that I need.  And they are extremely light weight.  I'm embarrassed that I can't remember which Asics or Brooks I used to wear (whatever the highest motion control ones were), but these feel so much better so far.  They're not clunky feeling at ALL.    I'm really intrigued by the inside feeling the most -  I feel like I'm wearing orthotics.

Ok.  Time for a walk to break them in.

Ciao!

Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Day 1.

When I started this blog, I was a runner.  Well, a jogger, but I finished several marathons and half marathons.

Then, in 2009, I was told I had to stop running marathons, and to stop any impact exercise altogether for at least 6 months.

The downward spiral started.  Over the course of 6 years, I parted ways forever with someone I considered one of my best friends (and God, it was a heart-wrenching experience that, I'm able to see now, needed to happen), then fell into a not-so-fulfiling relationship and stayed there for two years, then got into another relationship, had two miscarriages, my mom died, and grad school (which the PTSD from my thesis experience is just now really gone - seriously, I had HIVES and crazy bad panic attacks whenever I thought of my thesis advisor).  What does that mean?  It means I gained a shit-ton of weight.  Stopped blogging for the most part, suffered from grief so badly I spent way too much time on my couch.

Then, this past January, things clicked.  What I was doing to myself was bullshit.  It's like the logical part of my brain said, "That's enough."

In the past 5 months, I've eaten MUCH healthier foods, started exercising again, and have lost 42 pounds.

And today, I signed up for my first half marathon since 2008.  I fully plan on walking the Disneyworld Star Wars half-marathon next April, thinking I could be back down to my 2008 weight.  However, I need something sooner to set my sites on.  So today, the Houston half-marathon registration opened and I got a spot.

This is totally history repeating itself.  In early 2005, I decided I was going to run the Marine Corps Marathon out of spite - to piss off someone who kept registering for it and bailed at the last minute.  I, who started running, decided that I would finish it before he did.  I did.  But before that, I signed up for the San Diego Rock-n-Roll Marathon just to make sure I could finish one before doing the Marine Corps Marathon.  I did.  I did both.  I did both and he was actually incredibly supportive.

Fast forward to now.  Another full, 5 halves, and tons of smaller races later, and then 7 years of not running.  I am doing it again.  I'm not doing it to spite anyone.  I'm doing the Disney one because I want to prove to those who have only known me recently that I'm not just some fat person.  I'm a fucking determined woman who has done it before and will do it again (albeit walking since the cartilage damage in my ankle is still there).  And I'm doing the Houston to make sure I can before I do Disney.

So, I hope to blog more with this experience.  I'm 80 pounds heavier than I was when I stopped running, but I know I'll continue to lose weight - especially with the training - and by the time I'm doing Disney, I'll have finished walking a half marathon AND be at my goal weight.

So, day 1.  I signed up.

Ciao!