Yes, I finished the Marine Corps Marathon! Woo-hoo! Was it hard? You have no idea... (some of you might).
Friday, I went to the expo and picked up my race packet and mock turtleneck (and promptly calling Andy to rub it in his nose, which only made it better that the mock turtleneck is purple and gold). Then, after buying myself presents (consisting of a new running t - with the MCM logo, MCM socks, a MCM windbreaker, and a sterling silver pendant/dog-tag chain that says, "Marine Corps Marathon Finisher"), I wandered around the expo. I love running expos - the energy level is so high and I feel like I'm a real runner (yes, I know I am but expos just re-affirm it). Then I sat in on the speaker series and had a front-row seat for Jeff Galloway's talk. It was so motivational and great - but that has to be one of the smallest men I have ever seen. Duh, he's a runner.
Sunday, race day. The night before I ate yummy homemade baked ziti (it was great, April) and cookie cake (not the best thing, but I didn't care). I wake up early Sunday (as in 5am), leave the house at 5:45am, am on the Metro for an hour until I get to the start line (by the way, some poor person decided to jump in front of one of the trains, which caused a delay that morning on the blue line). Shivering with cold and excitement, I exited the metro station and walked around the Pentagon parking lot until I found Runner's Village. I found a couple people I knew (a Marine I met the day before, Bill from TNT) and chatted with them for a while. Anxiety was filling the air (and I have to say that the MCM had plenty of port-a-potties) as we waited. Finally, the scarlet wave was getting ready to line up. The National Anthem was sung and the Navy Leap Frogs (the parachute team made up of active SEALS and SRIC) jumped out of planes and swirled around until they landed. Then, the scarlet wave was off! I was on the yellow wave, so we all begin to line up (carefully because the Marines were running the show and as one guys said, "I'm listening to them - they have guns). Finally, it's our turn.
The first two miles were a bitch. Nothing but uphill. I managed to walk the first 2 miles because I didn't want to tire myself out. Then I coasted downhill probably too fast. Then I was passed by Kermit the Frog and Miss Piggy, as well as the guy running and skipping rope at the same time, and finally passed by a guy running and juggling at the same time (marathoners like to have fun). I saw Bill up ahead, so I ran to catch up with him (this is mile 7). He and his friend were walking, so I trotted up alongside and joined them. Bill said to me, "Erica, I'd like you to meet John Bingham." Yep. Bill was running with the Penguin. I ran with them for about 1/2 a mile, and then I ran up ahead (calling Andy and rubbing it in his nose again). But then Bill and John passed me and I was getting tired so I let them go.
I got to mile 13 in 3 hours and a few minutes, which was about the same time as San Diego. By the time I got to mile 15, however, I was tired of running. And I mean tired. I hit the wall. April (my Gatorade girl) met me at mile 15 and that was basically the last time I ran (although I made several fierce attempts, each one lasting less than 4 minutes). So I sped walked, since I had to make it to the bridge in 5 hours. By mile 19, I was afraid I wasn't going to make it, so I called people and just cried (actually, I first broke down at mile 14 - running a marathon is very emotional). By the way, thanks to Mom, Andy, Christine and April for the inspirational text messages sent throughout the run - I needed them!). As I crossed the 19 mile mark, Marines were yelling, "Go faster or you won't make it! Pick up the pace! Speed up!" I respect the Marine Corps and I admire them, but at that time I was cursing those respective Marines under my breath. As I got closer to the bridge, it got worse. More Marines were yelling. Finally, I got to the bridge and started crying - I made it! I could finish! I got to mile 20 in 5 hours. I then gave up trying to make a better finish time and went very leisurely - for now it was just about finishing. My ankles were killing me and the bottoms of my feet were like fire. So I walked slowly to ease the pain and sang from my iPod shuffle as loud as I could (drawing many a glances).
Finally, I got to mile 25. In San Diego, I forced myself to jog the last mile in, but my feet refused. So I continued my easy walk. I met up with April at 25.5 and she walked with me the rest of the way. When we get to the chute, she convinced me to jog in, which I did. Once across the finish line, many cute Marines were there, congratulating me. They put a medal around my neck, gave me a camoflauge space blanket, took the timing chip off of my shoe (and relaced it, too!) and then guided me to the food. I thought I was going to pass out. I was uber-dehydrated. The sun was beating and I wanted more water stations. I had salt crusted to my face and hair and my sunscreen didn't work as well as before.
But I finished! I finished! And today, the day after, I don't feel all that bad. The bottoms of my feet still burn and my right ankle is hurt, but the rest of my muscles (ass, quads, calves) are only minorly sore. Walking isn't that much of a problem. I'm still trying to recover from the dehydration. Yesterday I almost passed out at the Metro station (I had to sit on the ground with my head between me legs and sit until my breathing went back to normal and the wave of nausea passed). Today, I almost passed out at the grocery store. I am fighting off nausea now, and am going to bed as soon as this is posted.
I'll finish this up tomorrow. I need sleep.
I FINISHED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When's the next one, might you ask? Ask me again in two weeks, once I've healed.
5 comments:
CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I am so proud of you!! I "watched" you on the MCM website & cheered. WOOO!!!
I feel like an idiot now because I didn't even think to send you text messages. D'oh!
Can't wait to hear about the rest of the trip.
way to go girl!
Congrats! I came over from the Carnival of Runners and I ran the MCM as well! You toughed it out and that's to be commended:) Get some rest and hope the recovery goes well!
WAY TO GO! WAY TO GO!
-jessica
Post a Comment