Tuesday, July 04, 2006

I Feel Gross

June and I were going to run this morning. She was to do 3, so I said I'd do 6-8 (starting before her, meeting up with her, and then maybe doing an extra 2 miles if I felt good). While running solo in the beginning (first three miles averaged out a 13-minute pace), I started to feel guilty about not doing my planned long run of 11 miles this weekend. I started to debate against myself whether or not to do it (the main argument against it is tomorrow's Kenyan Night). June joined me, and she decided to make me work hard since I bailed on last night's Kenyan Nights - our first mile was a 10:29, our second was an 11:01, and then our third was 13 and some change (we both got tired). By the time we were done, I figured I'd run two miles out of the park and back to make 10 miles. Well, once I got out of the park, I was feeling great. Not really hurting, not as hot as expected, sort of tired, sort of hungry, but nothing too horrible.

I ran 13 miles total. Yes, ladies and gentleman, I did a really long run (long in the sense that I'm training for a half marathon that's still almost two months away). Unfortunately, I don't feel all that great now because I did none of the preparations for a double-digit run.

I did not:

1) Eat a Hooah or Power Bar before starting (instead I ate a cup of dry cereal).
2) Apply Body Glide (although the chafing is minimal and is around my bra line - I'm wearing a new sports bra anyway).
3) Wear my double-layer socks.
4) Slather my feet with vaseline (although I've had worse blisters)
5) Put Gatorade in my fuel belt.

In fact, the only good things I did do was take two salt packets during the run and have a gu at mile 6.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I'm going to soak in the tub and drink Gatorade.

Cheers!

2 comments:

Unknown said...

Very nice workout. WTG. You're going to be so ready for that half.

Donna said...

Wow, I still don't fathom how people can run that far. Maybe one day I will understand and have done it.