Friday, July 28, 2006

One Week Left!!


The frozen hot chocolate at Serendipty 3. Notice the two straws. I don't know why two were needed - it was only me and I drank the entire thing (minus the whipped cream).


Lord Voldemort/Red Dragon


The Emperor

Yay! The picture thing is working again!

Ok, time for a physical update.

I haven't run since my birthday (after which I seriously jacked up my ankle/tendons/muscles). I stayed off of it almost completely for a day and a half, and then began walking. By my last day in NY, I was walking very well.

Today, I ran for the first time.

Wednesday, I decided to start doing impact workouts to test out my ankle. So I did 45 minutes of Tae bo. No problems (although my quads and hamstrings are STILL screaming at me... and I used to be able to do the workout easily and without pain - what the hell happened to me???). Yesterday, 35 minutes on the elliptical. I felt crappy (non-ankle related), so I gave up after that.

Today, back at the gym. I started off with a mile run on the treadmill. I perhaps did it too fast for the first mile back (11:30), but I didn't feel too terrbile at the end. It twinged every once in a while, which leads me to question how Sunday's 6 miler will go. It's just a couple of laps around Rice (I think... right June?), so if I hurt, I can bail out. I want to be able to finish the half-marathon that's in 5 weeks, but it'll be a very SLOW race for me). Then afterwards I hit the elliptical machine for another 45 minutes and did some heavy upper-body weights (I love the fact that I use 75 pound weights on the lateral pulldowns and 65 on the rows).

Now I'm home. I have one week of vacation left - and I don't know what the hell happened to the other 9 weeks. I was a bum!!! It kinda bothered me this morning, but then I realized that my funk was probably related to the general inactivity that I'm been going through the past three weeks (except for the walking in NY). Now I'm ok with what I didn't do, which really isn't anything to fret over. But I have been very (VERY) unproductive for the past couple of days. Why? Because I joined the internet scrabble club and I keep playing games - up to 6 or 7 a day. This is why I still haven't finished "Crime and Punishment" or "Cold Mountain" or began to write lessons and quizzes and word banks. It's so addicting! I'm going to actually have to make myself stay off of it for a few days, or at least until I'm done with "Crime and Punishmnent."

5 comments:

Unknown said...

WOW!!! The emperor!!! he looks so good!!

Junie B said...

Rice is fine with me!

and that choco looks so divine!

Erin said...

Mmmmmmmm... that hot chocolate looks INCREDIBLE!! I am SO having that when I go back to NY this fall.

Oh & I have a friend who would pee himself if he'd gotten that close to the Emperor.

Tiggs said...

oh lord that hot choc looks GOOD!

TX Runner Mom said...

Great pics - of the chocolate and the stars! Welcome back!