Who am I kidding? I don't have time to play. Hell, I barely have time to breath.
Now that a great deal of pressure is off of my shoulders, I'm starting to relax. Sort of.
Rodeo: It's over. No more rehearsal, no more evenings out. I miss it, but it's nice to have my evenings to myself again.
The play: It's over. I've been the director of our one-act play for competition. It was the kids' first acting experience, it was the first bit of directing I've done in ten years, we have no set and no props and no costumes (so everything was done by me). Knowing all of that, I'm ok that we didn't advance, but I'm ecstatic that two of my kids got acting recognitions. They had a blast, I had fun (although it sucked up A LOT of my time), but thankfully it's over. I also learned that I like the acting part much more than the directing - I'm too much of a control freak and it drove me insane when my students didn't project or face out or anything that I told them to do (and they got marked on it in their critiques). But it's all good.
Running: Sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. Last week was a don't. I've been pulling 11 hour days at school and just don't have the energy after that much working/teenagers. But now that rehearsals are over, I have more time. And I'll have more time after the TAKS is over. And I AM going to sign up for the MCM. I need something to train for/goal to reach. I just want to beat the bridge again. That's my goal.
School: Thank God we only have 6 weeks left. The kids are out of control. My stress level is rising each day (at this rate I figure I'll have a stroke by the end of the semester). And I cannot wait until the TAKS and EOC exam is over!
Reading: I finished a fantastic book - "The Bookseller of Kabul." Really, it was quite good! I highly recommend it. I'm working on another one called "The Historian" and wish I had more time to delve into it.
Now that those things are over, I hope to spend more time on ME. I need to catch up!
Cheers!
No comments:
Post a Comment