Saturday, January 26, 2008

The Swing of Things

Well, I ran today for the first (real) time since the half-marathon. Right after the half-marathon (2 weeks ago), I got sick and didn't do much of anything for almost a week. And this week was chock-full of Rodeo meetings, which severely restricted running time. I did run an 11:10 mile at the gym last weekend, but today's run of 5 miles was the first. And now that I'm feeling better and I don't have four Rodeo meetings in one week, I'm going to up my miles again, preparing for the Seabrook Half Marathon.

While I usually become irritated when I don't run, I haven't been irritated at all lately. The main reason for the lack of irritation, and my last post, is that I am seeing someone new. And this new guy has made me happier than any guy I've dated. He is the nicest guy I've ever known - selfless, caring, supportive. He's also a weight-lifter/body-building police officer (who gives fantastic hugs and back rubs), so he's going to help me work on lifting weights and I'm going to help him start distance running. Seriously, here's a couple of examples of how sweet he is: he not only likes my hyper dog, but he walks her whenever he's over here so that I don't get cold from the outside temperature and buys her doggie treats. When my mom hinted that she needed man-help around the house, he volunteered, telling me later that he wants to do it to earn brownie points with my mom and myself (but Mom already adores him). On our first date, he brought me a box of chocolate protein/work-out cookies as a present (how thoughtful!). He holds opens ALL doors for me (including car), sends me sweet texts and e-mails all day and was willing to try sushi since he knows how much I love it.

So, since previous boyfriends have all received nicknames, let's call this one the Cop. But I'm giving a bit of warning to you guys: he might soon not have to have a nickname on this blog. Or it might get changed to something else...

Gotta run. The Cop and I are going to dinner with the Pregnant One so that she and her husband can meet him.

3 comments:

Steeeve said...

Let's hear it for The Cop! Future Strider :-)

Anonymous said...

Thats terrific Erica! You know you had me at the car door thing!

Its been a year for GID and I, and he STILL opens every single door for me, including the car door and gets angry if I forget and go to open it myself.

Your cop sounds like a keeper indeed!

See ya on the roads girlie!

Tiggs said...

one of the two best men in my life is a cop (my dad). Glad to hear you met someone who treats you right!