Today, I had my first training walk with Bay Area Fit, the group I ran with in 2007/2008. Not going to lie: I was nervous as hell. I have gained a significant amount of weight, I haven't done any walking of a significant distance in a while, and it was hot outside.
But it went well. Thankfully I've been doing 1-2 hours of aerobics daily. I wasn't breathing as heavily as people near me, and I don't hurt at all. My legs are super-strong (that 30-Day Squat Challenge I'm in the middle of helps, as much as I hate to admit it).
So, 3 miles, 56:50 minutes.
Mile 1: 19:05 minutes. It was rough. The temp was already over 80 degrees and HUMID. It was my warm-up mile.
Mile 2: 18 minutes. I started feeling strong, but hotter. I was passing up other walkers, so part of me felt good about that.
Mile 3: 19:47 minutes. The heat started getting to me. My head started hurting. I was sweating like a pig.
So I finished. I think I was happiest that I was not the last one in - there were maybe 4 or 5 behind me. Considering I was the heaviest by far, I'm quite please with that.
But did I mention the heat? Yowzas.
So, goal for this week: Start the weekly training plan. In addition to my workouts, I'm going to add a 35 minute walk Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday. Also, hydrate a lot more during the week.
All in all, I'm damn proud of myself. And I don't hurt.
Ciao!
No comments:
Post a Comment