Ugh. Building back up sure does suck sometimes.
So I didn't go to last week's long run because, well, I was in a car accident the night before 300 miles away from home. I'm almost healed, but my car is still 300 miles away. Hopefully I'll get it back soon.
Anyhoo, last week was a rough one. As I was away for a work conference, I did not get my three training walks in - but I did use the elliptical almost every day, so I was working on different muscles/muscles that haven't been used in a while.
So I needed to get back into gear this week. Due to rain, I opted out of Monday's walk, but I did Tuesday and Thursday- I walked for about 60 minutes at a comfortable pace. I'm glad I did that, otherwise I might be MORE sore today.
Yesterday's long run was GREAT. We did 4 miles, and I felt awesome on my 4th - like I could have kept going. I'm continuing with negative splits, which makes me happy, and added more jogging in the 4th mile. I'm a work in progress, but I'm getting there.
Average: 18:17/mile
Mile 1: 18:50
Mile 2: 18:15
Mile 3: 18:15
Mile 5: 17:51
I'm getting there. I'm getting stronger. With a bit more weight loss and cooler weather, I hope I will be down to 16 minutes/mile by the half marathon.
I am quite sore today - and I forgot about that. I wanted to continue to work out on Sunday, but I think I'll just have to suck it up and use it as a rest day and just not worry about getting 10k steps (which is my daily goal). I'm not so sore that I can't move, but I know a workout will be a pathetic attempt. I just realized the gym across the street from me has a pool, so I think I'll get in the habit of going there Saturday afternoons to make up for my lack of a bathtub. Gotta figure out how to soak somehow, and the swimming might be a good way to work those muscles gently. My feet right now are what hurt the worst - which is quite understandable due to my weight gain.
BUT I'M NOT ON MY COUCH ANYMORE. I'm allowing post-run/walk sweaty pictures of my to go on Facebook. At first, I was too self-conscious because, let's face it, fat sweaty people are far from cute. But then I got to thinking - who gives a shit? Might as well be vulnerable and show people that I'm really doing it. And I'm celebrating it.
Ciao!
No comments:
Post a Comment