I have spent the day focusing on something I haven't done since maybe July: me. I have not left the house, I have not answered my cell phone, I have not chatted with anyone online, I made no plans for the day.
So what did I do, might you ask? Plenty! I did all of my grading, so that my Sunday can be school-free (relatively... I still need to work on the novel, but since I'm enjoying it I hardly classify it as work). I did beaucoup loads of laundry, I cleaned the sugar glider cage, I vacuumed, I cleaned my room, I read my novel, I watched tv, and I attempted to work out (see bottom note), I organized my shoe collection and wandered fondly/sadly down memory lane looking at the heels, wedges, and sling-backs (and realized that I haven't worn my awesome bronze heels since I went to Baton Rouge in June... I need an occasion to wear them again).
Due to school, out-of-town visits and my version of a social life, I rarely get to spend time alone, which is something I truly do miss. I see 150-180 people daily at work, so I cherish alone time, time that is quiet. I miss quiet. In fact, the only person I've yet to speak to today is my mother (by default), and I'm ok with that! I needed this catch-up time.
As for the "attempt" to work out... since I'm not really training for a race now (I'm not doing the half marathon next weekend... on account of the weather - I don't race in hot weather if I don't have to), I'm varying my workouts. I only run when the weather is nice now, so I haven't run a lot lately (although I'm planning on a 6-miler tomorrow morning). Two weeks ago I bought the Billy Blanks Boot Camp DVD set. Wow. Ouch. I did the basic dvd and couldn't imagine doing the advanced. Billy Blanks kicked my ass, which doesn't happen often, since I've been doing advanced Tae-bo for years. Even the abs boot camp kept me in the fetal position for an hour afterwards.
After doing the basic dvd twice, I figured I'd try the advanced and see how bad it could be.
Two words: Big mistake. I did the dvd on Wednesday evening, yelling and straining and almost crying during the workout, and managed to survive only the first 41 minutes (of 55). Ever since then, my quads have been hurting. They hurt worse now than after my last marathon. And it's 4 days later! I haven't worked out since then because, frankly, I can imagine my quads tearing into tiny strands.
But today I figured, to hell with it. I didn't run because my Garmin was dead this morning (and I hate running without it now), so I figured I'd attempt the advanced boot camp again. I lasted 18 minutes. My quads hadn't recovered enough to provide ample strength to get through the multitude of squats and lunges.
Now I'm just chillin'. Maybe I'll answer my phone. Who knows.
Cheers!
1 comment:
oh i am sad you arent doing the half! according to the 7 day it supposed to be GREAT weather..
although this mornings 10K race at Terry Hershey was cold AND WINDY...
miss you!
Post a Comment