No, I'm not having an acid trip.
I went running today. Due to the fact that my legs hurt after 9.3 miles last week, I figured I'd go 10. Then when June said she was doing 14, I figured I'd try for 12. However, I've been ill, so when I got to Memorial Park this morning, I estimated I'd do 6-8 (since the weather was very cold and the last time I ran with a cold I lost my voice for a week).
So June and I met up. She's doing 14, and I said I'd do 6. We start running. Damn, I felt great. Then I said I'd do 10. Hmm. I feel damn good. Fuck it. I'm going to do the 14 with her!
I hurt right now. I hurt a lot. I didn't start feeling crappy until mile 12. But under the circumstances, I thought I did well. I told June that I haven't done 14 miles since July 4. Upon looking at my running log, though, I realized I did 13 miles on July 4. Hmm. When was the last time I ran more than 14 miles? The answer: the Country Music Marathon on April 29. Whoops. I've done 2 thirteen mile days and then 4 ten mile days. But I haven't hit 14 miles in a LONG time.
There's no turning back now, though. I will not be going below 12 now for a while. I'm up to 14, my goal is to stay there pretty consistently.
Time to shower! I'm gross.
I'm so pleased that my body remembers 14 miles. Unfortunately, it also remembers the pain.
Cheers!
2 comments:
Wow, guess you haven't lost it after all. Way to go, Erica.
Awesome job on the 14 miles! You rock!
Post a Comment