Saturday, December 09, 2006

Got Spam?

I finally rolled myself out of the warm bed at 8am. I originally planned to wake up at 5am, grade papers for a while and then go running at 7. Nope. Too cold. I woke up at 8, watched tv until 9. Still too cold. I left, went to SuperTarget, spent too much time in there, and when I came out, I realized that the temp wasn't going to warm up that much and I should just go ahead and run.

So I did. Getting to Memorial Park at 10ish, I donned my new gloves (bought at SuperTarget because I don't know where my other ones are) and went off. 2.5 laps and a short out-and-back out of the park later, I finished my 12th mile. I saw no one familiar, but did run into some kind of Marine Corps boot camp for, what looked to me, non-Marines. These poor kids were getting screamed at by these Marines while running. I just sang along to my iPod shuffle as they went past me.

Speaking of my lovely new tiny iPod shuffle... I have come to really appreciate it. After the Marine Corps Marathon last year, I started not using my other iPod. I just started enjoying the runs without music. I still used my iPod at the gym, but it started to wear down and I figured I'd get the new tiny one. It's fantastic! I also put some new songs (finally) onto my playlist, and so I've been listening to it while running. Today, as I made it back into the park, a song from the musical "Spamalot" came in. Sigh. Sometimes a bit of Broadway is what you need to get you through that last mile.

I haven't quiet decided if I'm running the Jingle Bell 5 miler tomorrow. I'll be at the 30k in Sugarland tomorrow, manning the Striders water station with June et al. There's talk of going to a pub afterwards, but I might just mosey on down to the race. I'd love to run in a race where everyone wears jingle bells on their shoes, but I don't know if my legs can handle it. I'll bring my running clothes just in case, but I probably won't use them.

Well, time to grade papers. And maybe eat something. I'm hungry.

Cheers!

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

I am totally in love with my new shuffle too! Sarah mentioned it on her blog and that's all it took.

Too funny about Spamalot - I ran long one day last week just because that song came on when I was supposed to stop running, but I wanted to hear it. There are a couple of other good ones on there too.

Musicals tend to have some really good running songs on them, particularly the closing credit song (at least what I listen to). Another good one is Push Da Button from The Color Purple.

Junie B said...

YAY! i will see you around 6am(ish)!!!

and congrats on the 12 today...and oh it DID warm up because when i did mine today (and started around 11:30) it GOT WAY WARM...i was overdressed and all i did was wear a thin long sleeve and my pants...

i think all the regulars are resting today because they are running the 30K tomorrow!!

Sarah said...

The new shuffle is indeed awesome! I love it love it love it. Can't even feel that I'm wearing it.

I'll be at Jingle Bell tomorrow...