I just spent an hour glued to my tv, tearing up. No, I wasn't watching a cheesy chick flick or a cheesy romance movie. I caught the last hour of the re-televised Ironman Championship in Konda. Wow. Talk about inspiration. My leg soreness went away, as did my negative mindset about why I'm doing this to myself (as in running). I now want to do one. Of course, not for a while, but I think one of my new goals is to complete it by the time I'm 40. There was a 76-year-old nun who finished it for the 20th time! The time cut-off, I believe, is 17 hours, If I can do the swim and biking in 10-11 hours, I'm set.
Since I won't even start thinking of the Ironman for a while, my mind wandered to my next full marathon. I said I wasn't going to do another full marathon until I drop 30-40 pounds. I'm still serious about that, but I've decided what my next full marathon is going to be: the 2008 London Flora Marathon. That gives me a year and a half to drop the weight and train to run a good race. And the best part is that the majority of my training will happen in nice weather. :)
3 comments:
i watched the whole damn thing and cried too many times that i am going to really admit.
hey, want some company to London?
I missed it! I was at work. I saw someone flip past it as they were changing channels on the TV we have in there, but of course the TVs aren't for us to watch network stuff. :(
Congrats on the new goal! In my very limited experience, I have found that spring marathons are the "easiest" to train for--fall marathons have you running the bulk of your mileage in the hot summer, and Houston has you doing very long runs over the holidays. So April is definitely a good month for a race, and London is supposed to be a great one!
I got a little teary watching Kona, too. Everyone there has a story, and they told some very good ones yesterday...
Post a Comment