I don't hate doctors. I really don't. But part of me doesn't like to see them because I'd rather tough it out. Why? Because of health insurance.
When I worked for Starbucks, I had awesome health insurance. In fact, great benefits is one thing that Starbucks takes great pride in. $40 of every paycheck went to Aetna, and in return I had $15 doctor co-pays, $75 ER visits, $10-20 prescriptions, and a $250 deductable for having my tonsils removed. I went to the doctor for my annual check-up, I went when I felt sick. All of that changed when I received HISD insurance.
I had quite an insurance culture shock when I became employed with HISD. I tried to pick a plan that was beneficial for emergency visits, since I rarely get sick. I also opted to not go with an HMO because I wanted the freedom to see whomever I wanted. I chose poorly.
Last December, if you recall, I took a nasty spill and busted my knee, causing me to go to the ER. I knew I had a $1000 deductable, so I wanted to limit my cost. I persuaded the doctor to not have my knee x-rayed, I was able to acquire steri-strips instead of stitches on my gashes. I was in the ER for less than an hour and all that was done to me was: temp check, blood pressure check 3 times (since my first two were frighteningly low), the doctor looked at my gashes, made me take a tentative step (ouch), he applied steri-strips to the gashes, wrapped it in gauze and then wrapped it in an ace bandage and sent me on my merry way with two prescriptions (pain killer and muscle relaxer), two ibuprofens and told me to acquire crutches because the hospital didn't have any. No labs, no x-rays, nothing major was done. And the doctor himself saw me for only 20 minutes maximum.
Call me naive, but I assumed that my bill would be no more than $300. Not a lot was done to me.
I finally received my bill(s) today (5 months later). I was billed $205 for the er doctor and $488 for the ER visit, totalling almost $700.
I started crying out of frustration. I understand the $205 doctor fee for examination (about the cost of a doctor's visit). But $488 for everything else? I wasn't even given a detailed invoice, so I called up the hospital requesting one. They didn't have my invoice detailed; my account just said "For moderate services." I had basically nothing done! What the hell does "moderate" mean? What is "minor" - walking in, dancing around the room, and walking out? And THEN the lady I talked to said that "ERs are expensive. Plus you had an ace bandage and gauze, and those things add up."
If she was in front of me, I might've flipped her the bird at that point.
THIS is why I don't go to the doctors anymore. I don't have a copay. I have a $1000 deductable, even on basic doctor visits. When I sprained my ankle in NYC last summer, I didn't go to the hospital because of that $1000 deductable. Thankfully I'm getting different (and slightly better) plans with Clear Creek ISD. Maybe then I can start going for annual physicals again.
But until all of that happens, I will only go to an ER if I'm about to die or be disfigured. If anything like this happens again with me knee (or any other body part), I'm just going to take painkillers until I get a regular doctor's appointment: no more ER for me.
That's just bulls**t.
4 comments:
I feel your pain. I used to work at HISD and the insurance was pricey. Unfortunately, where I work now it's just as bad. Grrr...
Erica,
Contact the hospital again and have them send you an itemized statement. (Hospitals are doing this Patient Friendly Billing effort, but it is really anything but.)
If they refuse to do so, tell them that you want to speak with the Administrator or their Risk Management department.
E-mail me if I can be of any specific help.
Jon
For non life threatening incidents, I think it is better to visit neighborhood clinics. They are not open 24/7 but are a lot more reasonable. Most non internal injuries can be diagnosed and patched up just as competently by a nurse.
Healthcare in America is out of control! I feel your pain.
massage recliner
Post a Comment