So, as I said Saturday, I spent almost 4 hours in an archive. After discussing my findings with my mom and bf later that evening, I came up with a research topic. Go me. Later that night, I read two very boring chapters of a very boring histiography textbook.
Sunday, I stayed in my pajamas most of the day, alternating between playing games of Scrabble online, farming on facebook and reading the remaining two chapters of the very boring histiography. After the reading was complete, I sat down and wrote the 2 page analytical/reflective essay. I'm pretty sure this one is more like my professor is wanting, so that's done. Later that night, during Law and Order: SVU episodes (gotta love USA and their rerun marathons), I finished the other book for the other class.
This morning, after reading the paper, checking facebook and losing some online Scrabble game, I set to write my 3-5 page critique. Honestly, I was worried about filling up the space. Once I started writing, however, I got sucked in and wrote all 5 pages. In fact, I had to make my margins slightly smaller and lower the font size to 11 to get it all within 5 pages. Frankly, I think it's a pretty good critique, but I'm going to take it to my professor tomorrow after work for him to look at it.
Now it's noon on Monday and I'm caught up with grad school for the week. I'm leaving shortly for a barbeque with my theatre buddies and then later I'll work on high school stuff (I need to re-read "The Scarlet Ibis" and work on close reading questions). Tonight, after the bf drops his kids off at the ex-wife's house, we'll get to spend a little time together. The original plan was pizza and Monday Night Football, but I looked at the TV guide - no Monday Night Football on Labor Day. So maybe I can talk him into pizza and helping me grade literary term quizzes. Not sexy, but he abandoned me all weekend for his kids (not that I'm complaining since I got a LOT of stuff accomplished for grad school, stuff I wouldn't have been able to do if it was an "E" weekend) and I could convince him that if he helps me grade the simple quizzes, I could spend more direct time with him.
I wish I was completely caught up. The seemingly never-ending vicious cycle of 4 boring chapters and a 2 page analytical paper isn't over. I kind of don't want to get ahead in that reading because I want to read knowing what the paper will be about so that I can read with a purpose. I also need to look some stuff up at the library about my research methods research paper and I need to start reading book number two, "Renaissance Florence" for my European Towns and Villages course.
Tomorrow and Wednesday I'll focus on "Renaissance Florence" and read one boring chapter.
Thursday and Friday I'll do research and read one boring chapter.
Saturday I'll be at the archives. Saturday night I'll write my 4-page prospectus.
Sunday I'll read the last two boring chapters. Maybe I'll write the 2 page paper.
Monday I'll catch up with something.
Tuesday I'll research.
Wednesday I'll.... who knows.
Off to enjoy a few hours of Labor Day!
Cheers!
No comments:
Post a Comment