Yep, I'm sick. My illness began Wednesday night, in which my professor looked at me sneezing and coughing and dismissed us early on account of the plague (me). I went to work yesterday because I had to - I'm a teacher leader and we had a long professional development meeting that I was supposed to lead, but towards the end of school I started making plans to be absent. Last night, my other professor sent me home early - he didn't want me to contaminate anyone else. Fine by me - I was miserable.
So today I stayed home. I briefly went to work this morning to meet with the substitute and show her everything, warn her against cheating kids and their methods of getting away with stuff. Then I went back home and promptly fell back asleep. In between medicine-induced naps and lunch (brought by the BF, who risked infection himself), I read Dan Brown's newest book. I probably could've read grad school stuff, but I logically analyzed that if I was working, I wouldn't be reading grad school stuff (I'd be working... duh).
Now, at 7:49, I feel better than I did this morning but actually worse than I did an hour ago. An hour ago I felt good enough to get out of the house, go to the theatre, chat with people in the theatre office and then I decided I was tired again. So I'm back home and I'm sneezing again and my head feels over-pressurized. And as the moments tick, my throat hurts more. Yep. My body was psyching me out an hour ago.
But, on to the triumph in my title... I got 3 of my papers back.
Wednesday night (European history) came with the delight that I earned a 49/50 on my first paper. He had lots of positive comments and thought my writing was well-written. Score! I knew I was a good writer!
Thursday night (Research Methods) brought more delight - and a surprise. I resigned myself to the fact that I will probably end up with a B in the class. We have the 5 little papers, each worth 8 points, and a big paper worth 60. I realized that if I got a 6/8 on each of the little papers, I would end up with a B because I doubt I'd get all 60 points on my big paper. But no... on the one I thought was terrible, I earned a 7/8 and the other one (the one I knew was pretty good) I earned an 8/8! There's hope! I might come out with an A!
The thing that makes me laugh, though, is his comments on my paper - he says that while my word choice is vivid, I need to use less words - why use three when one will do?
Sigh. That's going to be tough for me. Me, who loves Shakespeare and Dickens and Dumas and Rowling - each of whom go great lengths into descriptions and wit and demonstrates their love of the English language.
But I can still get an A!!! Cough, cough. Achoo.
Cheers!
No comments:
Post a Comment