Happy New Year!
As is my relatively new custom, I had a very low-key New Year's. I am not a big fan of partying to bring in the new year because I came to realize a couple of years ago that if I have a fantastically fun and exciting New Year's Eve, I have a crappy year, but if I have a low-key New Years, I have a pretty good year.
Case in point: last year. I can't remember what I did, but I know it was uneventful. And I had a pretty good year overall.
So yesterday went like this: AM trip to the gun show (where the Sailor looks for guns and accessories and I look for the coin collectors and the jerky vendors - but I bought a beautiful walnut shadow box for my race medals). Afterwards, I went solo to Yvonne and Stephen's, where we just lazed around reading the paper, eating homemade brownies and then I made dinner. They're trying to convince me to move to the Webster/Clear Lake area, which sounds tempting sometimes. Anyway, I went home after the late dinner and was in bed by 11:30. I did wake up at midnight to take "Happy New Year" calls, but then zoned right back out today.
So it's a new year. How am I spending the first day of the new year? Not as I'd like it, but it's not bad. I WANT to be running the 8 mile resolution run (last year I ran 11 on New Year's Day). I am still sidelined, however, for probably at least another month (I go to the doctor tomorrow to find out). Instead, though I went to the gym.
Yes, I went to the gym. I haven't worked out in over a week and I feel my muscles beginning to atrophy. I went to test the waters, so to speak. Here's what I can do without pain:
1) Use the crosstrainer machine. No problem! I was on it for 35 minutes and only felt tightening in my calves. No knee pain whatsoever, probably because it's no-impact.
2) Arm weights (duh)
3) Hamstring curl
4) Quad pull
What I can't do...
1) The quad press
2) Lunges
3) Squats
4) Anything with impact, meaning running and Tae-bo is still out.
I feel great knowing that I can use the elliptical machine. I was a gym rat before I started running, and it looks like I'll become a gym rat again until my patella ligament can handle the stress of jogging again. It's not so bad after all. It's only 4 or 5 more weeks, I'm sure.
Happy New Year!
3 comments:
yay for a new year!!!
I too was asleep before midnight, but i did manage to watch the ball drop in NYC and that was close enough for me. i felt like i rang it in albeit without a bang or anything of that nature.
have a great day! and i hope you feel better SOOOOOOOOON!!!
We sure missed you at the run. Get that knee better. Happy New Year, E!
Clear Lake's where it's at...
Or something like that. :)
Seriously, if you ever move down here, we can grab Joe and run on the Seabrook trails anytime!
Post a Comment