I haven't run in 3 weeks, which marks the longest time I haven't done so in nearly two years. I'm so antsy that I'm grumpy, which leads to self-detestment, which leads to self-pity. Seriously, I don't know how the Sailor puts up with me these days.
I haven't been to the gym since Monday. I do believe that I pushed myself too hard too early. 65 minutes on the elliptical machine is fine for a healthy me, but a slightly injured me doesn't do as well. My knee's been twinging an extra bit this week, so I've taken some time off from the gym, which just adds to my crankiness. But the rest has been good. I'm still planning on walking the half-marathon, so the rest I hope will be very beneficial.
April flew in town today; she's running the half on Sunday as well. She brought me the goody bag from the Marine Corps 10k, the race that I bailed on. I now own a goodie bag of stuff I can't use, including a commemorative champion chip (one-time chip) and a Marine Corps yellow mock-t that I can't wear because I didn't run the race (but I might wear it around the house when no one is watching). Oh, and the race bib is cammoflouge (sp)!
That bag bothered me. I really wished I ran the 10k. I will run the 10k next year. I shouldn't've bailed out, but traveling was hard for me that weekend. Next year, I will wear the shirt.
I'm going to pick up my race stuff tomorrow. I think it will be my last half marathon for a little while. After this race, I'm going to hang up my running shoes for at least another 3 weeks, in order to completely heal. I will then have to start my training from scratch and I honestly don't know if I want to train for another half right away. I think I might just relax for a while, run 20 miles a week or so, very slowly building up my mileage to an 11-mile Saturday long run. I've been training for something since I started running and I think I want to take a break from training. 10ks are fine, but I'm taking a much needed break. Maybe I can focus on other aspects of my health now and worry a lot less about running and pulling an Achilles tendon, and running too many days in a row, and speed and time. Who am I kidding, I'll still run with my Garmin.
Cheers to running for fun, not being in pain (I hope) and enjoying my health.
3 comments:
I'm with you, girl. I'm on week 8 and there's no end in sight. Be careful out there, but run well--hope to see you at mile 4!
sorry to hear you are still down for the count, but it will be great to see you today!
Hope to see you today? You going to the pasta party
Post a Comment