Thursday, February 23, 2006

Call Me Frankenstein's Monster

Wow, I'm sore. Let's recap the past two days...

Tuesday, remember, I was victimized - I was forced to do lunges (in my speed workout). I think I would've been ok, but I went to the gym that morning and my weight training focused on my lower body. The double leg workout was not a good idea.

Yesterday, I went to the gym in the morning and was a bit sore (35 minutes on elliptical machine, 30 minutes upper body weights). It only got worse as the day progressed. I went to a TNT happy hour last night, therefore didn't run. This morning I went to the gym again, but was a bit more creaky when I woke up. 60 minutes on the eliptical machine (a tad slower than normal, but not bad) and then 20 minutes lower body weights. I was so sore by the time I got to the weights that I used very very light weights and I still hurt. All day, going up and down stairs was painful. My quads were on fire (but not bad enough that I had to go backwards on the stairs). This afternoon, I went running.

Overall, the running wasn't bad. I was sore so I went a minute slower than normal. I planned on going 3 miles, but felt so good that I went 6. Again, this was an endurance run, stopping only once per mile (and not stopping the last two miles at all). I felt great by the end and could've gone another lap around Rice, but it was getting dark and I didn't want to hurt my already pained limbs. But I felt great!

Until I stopped. Oh my God. I felt as though I just run 18 miles instead of 6. My quads are in much pain (general muscle soreness, though, nothing to be worried about). Getting in and out of my car hurt. I'm stiff and sore, so I'm going to soak in a tub really soon. Since Saturday is my 18 miler, I'm going to take it easy tomorrow. I might even take a day off from the gym.

Oof. I welcome this pain, though, because it makes me stronger.

Cheers!

2 comments:

WalkSports.com said...

Nice job, Erica. Keep up the good work!

Anonymous said...

Crucial! You're doing great. I can't wait to celebrate you finishing Nashville in your best marathon time ever! I know you're gonna rock. :-D

~April