Today I went running.
I haven't been able to since Monday, due to late nights at school and my ever-increasing unwillingness to run in complete darkness. I have, however, been logging in hours in the gym in the early morning, so my muscles haven't been completely useless.
I was at a meeting tonight, one that didn't start until 6:30, so I squeezed in a quick 5.8 miles after school. I'd been up since 4:20am, logged in 5.5 miles on the elliptical machine this morning, focused on lower-body weights, was at work all day... I didn't expect a great run. In fact, I was wishing I had time for a nap.
As I started around Rice at 4:30pm, I felt ok. Not stellar, but ok. After a half mile, I started feeling better. By mile 2 I felt as though my legs had a mind of their own and that the rest of me was just following. I gladly rounded the campus for a second lap, although the latter part of the second lap wasn't as fun, due to an extreme desire to find a bathroom. Alas, there are no port-a-potties around so I jogged slower.
Here's my stats...
Distance: 5.8 miles
Time: 1:17. First lap was 37 minutes, second was 39. I'm finally getting faster!
Hydration: Wonderful
Boredom level: low
Nutrition - eh. Not wonderful, but not terrible
People I knew: 1
People who knew me: 2 (I had no idea who this one chick was but she knew me!)
I felt really good, but I don't know why. I'm finally getting faster, the weather was beautiful, I ran two good half-marathons within the past 3 weeks, I'm dropping pounds... overall I just felt good!
Tomorrow will be better: tomorrow is Friday!! I'm meeting my co-mentors for dinner, so I'm going to squeeze in another lap or two around Rice before I meet them. Saturday is the first long run of the summer TNT season and since they're only doing 3 miles, I'm going to go in early and accumulate a total of 9 miles by the end. I'm not training for a big race, but I don't want to lose my ability.
Time to sleep!
Cheers!
No comments:
Post a Comment