Maybe I shouldn't've come to Baton Rouge.
Ok, update on the eye. It still hurts. It doesn't hurt as much, so instead of the feeling of a knife stabbing through my eye I just feel an irritation, like constant dust. I slept with an eye patch last night (go ahead with the pirate jokes), but since I got only 5 hours of sleep, that wasn't much time to heal.
Yes, I only got 5 hours of sleep. I am exhausted. God, I hope I get at least 7 tonight before the race.
Here's another painful omen: last night, at the Chimes (great restaurant in Baton Rouge), my foot slipped on the wet floor and jammed underneath the table, causing bleeding on my big toe. Ouch.
Today's painful omen: hot coffee on my left hand. Andy and I went to Starbucks this morning and his lid wasn't working right on the 190 degree coffee he was drinking and it started to spill on him. He was driving, and since I didn't want to die in a firey car crash, I grabbed the coffee to help him, and then we hit a bump or something and the coffee spilled some more - and this time on me. Now, I'm not a stranger to Starbucks coffee burns, but it's been a while. My left index finger hurts.
Today, I am not running. Andy did, however. He ran a 5k (making me wish I was running, but I wasn't going to because of the run tomorrow), and did a damn good job. He expected to do it in 45 minutes, so I wandered around and found breakfast. Luckily I went to the finish line line after 30 minutes, because he comes charging up at 37 minutes! I wasn't expecting him then, but I grabbed my camera and got a picture (after which he told me that as soon as he saw me, he made sure he looked good).
Soon we're going to New Orleans to pick up our race packets (him the 5K and me the 1/2 marathon - why do a 5K when I can run 13.1 miles?).
Maybe I can squeeze in a quick nap. Maybe I'll sleep in the car since he's driving.
Cheers!
2 comments:
of course Jon posted your finish time already :)
way to go!
way to go!!!!!!!!!!
Post a Comment