Saturday, May 27, 2006

Ahh... Day 1

Today is my first official day off for the summer. Yep, I have survived my first year of teaching high school and I refuse to teach summer school. Except for the 8 days here and there of professional development I have to do, I am not going to do much this summer. I might sign up with a temp agency so that I don't get too bored, but I'll have to think about that.

How did I start off my first day of vacation? With a 5k. I ran the Astros Race for the Pennant 5k. Damn, was it hot. I wanted to PR. Then, after getting on the course, I just wanted to finish. I finished in 38:18, only 36 seconds slower than my previous best 5k time (and that was in 40 degrees, so imagine what I could've done in the same temperature!). Saw Christine, June, Jen, Jan, Edwin, Keith, Sarah and others. My speed training coach won first place in the master's division with a 15.11 win. The overall winner won in 15.07. Yeah. Sean is freakin' fast.

So the rest of the day will be spent relaxing and doing fun stuff. I was going to run another 3 miles, but the heat is just too unbearable right now. I'll probably do some Tae-bo and then head over to the gym. I think I'll even take a nap.

Damn, it's nice to not have anything important to do. Maybe I'll clean my bedroom. Maybe I'll clean my car. I'm not tackling my office for another week (that's where I have my school stuff and I refuse to look at it for a week).

Cheers!

6 comments:

Unknown said...

Nice race in the heat this morning.
I hope you enjoy your summer break.

Keith.

Sarah said...

Nice to see you -- sorry we didn't get a chance to chat! :) It was freaking HOT out there.

Junie B said...

hugs to you my friend!!! and we "done good"...see ya tomorrow and Monday!

Jill said...

You lucky, lucky girl! Maybe I should go back to school and become a teacher. Then I could get a job virtually anywhere. But then I would have to put up with kids. Hmmm, not sure if I would be good at that!

Great job running in the heat! Just wait until it gets cooler (in 6 months if we are lucky!).

equarles said...

Nice to see you yesterday. That's good running in that heat.

elf said...

Sorry I missed you yesterday. Sounds like you had a good run--congrats! It was ridiculously hot out there...