Tuesday, November 29, 2005

Frosty the Snowman

The weather was as close to perfect as can be in Houston. The air was chilled this morning, stayed a nice cool temperature during the night and then descended again after school. I took advantage of the opportunity to go for a nice jog.

My jog, despite the weather, was less than stellar. I grumbled through the initial 2.9 miles around Memorial Park until I started counting various things to get my mind in a better frame. I counted 1 dead frog, 18 cute guys, 4 tiny dogs, 2 of my running buddies, 2 mounted police officers, 2 news vans (was there another attack in Memorial recently?), 1 tow truck towing another truck, more smelly port-a-potties than desired, and a partridge in a pear tree.

I achieved, on this very rare occasion, negative splits! My first lap took me 41 minutes, while my second lap took me 39 minutes. The temperatures dropped pretty quickly and I was jogging faster to keep warm (which is why I am more speedy in the cold weather). I decided to quit my walk breaks for the second lap (I'm trying to build up the strength to go at least two laps without a walk break), and that second lap, albeit less minutes, felt like it was never going to end. My knees and right ankle started feeling sore, but I arrived at a point in which to stop would hurt more. So I kept trudging along...

And then I came home and binged on pizza.

Sigh.

Monday, November 28, 2005

Back to the Grindstone

I had to go back to work today. Bummer.

The kids were extremely hyper today. If it continues, I will be writing kids up tomorrow. I will not take it.

I had a parent yell at me today. Her child is not doing the work (I teach English, for heaven's sake, not physics), not coming to afterschool tutorials, talks in class, doesn't come to class prepared and thus does not "understand" what's going on and is therefore failing and the mother has the audacity to yell at me? Oh, no. That will not do.

I didn't run today. I had night class. Thankfully, I only have two of those left. I cannot wait until my nights are not filled with classtime and my weekends are not filled with projects! On the plus side, however, I did get a 100 on my thematic unit project (worth 20% of the grade). Woo-hoo!

Tomorrow, I'm aiming for 5.8 miles - twice around Memorial Park.

Sunday, November 27, 2005

When You're Bored of Upset... Give a Small Dog a Bath

I just gave Wibble the Jack Russell Terror (thus monikered due to the fact she is a terror) a bath. :) And then, after towel-drying her a bit, I let her loose in the house and watched her run like a freak. Yes, I laughed. A lot.

Now, 10 minutes later, she's all tuckered out and passed out on my bed. Luckily the sugar gliders haven't popped out of their pouches to say hello.

"Taking it slow and easy, eh?"

Fuck you.

I was jogging at a pretty good pace (pretty good, for me) and I jog past this older guy stretching against a tree. And he said, "Taking it slow and easy, eh?" I didn't say "fuck you" to his face, but I was thinking it. I am a slow jogger! What he thought was slow and easy was actually me going a bit faster than I normally do. In fact, I cleared Rice in 37:45 minutes, which I haven't done since April. And I cleared the second lap in 39:30, which is good for me as of late, too. Grrr.

Today's stats:
Distance: 12 miles.
Time: The first six was 82 minutes (woo-hoo!)The last 6 was untimed. But it was BAAADD. I walked it with my sister, who's a slow walker and she was on her cell (grr) for much of the time for work. After she put the phone away (3.5 miles into it), we started doing 1-4 intervals - shuffle one, walk 4. This is the first time we put any shuffling/jogging in and she did ok with it. Now we need to work on walking faster.
Nutrition: Ok. Not stellar. But ok.
Hydration: bad
Boredom level: low
Weird people: none
People I knew: one (an old Starbucks customer)
Asshole: 1

I don't have a great deal to do today, which is exciting. My ACP supervisor is coming tomorrow, so I guess I should actually write my two lesson plans for tomorrow. That'll take me all of 15 minutes. Then I'll finished reading "Julius Caesar."

Oh, and I will be there for the "Run the Woodlands 5k Blogger's Edition." And I've made up a list of race dates I want to do in the spring, including three half marathons in a matter of 4 weeks.

Bring it on.

Saturday, November 26, 2005

Saturday update - Destruction

I am fortunate to have never seen first-hand damage from a bomb, but I wonder if our kitchen resembles that...

We're renovating our kitchen. My brother-in-law is doing most of it (the women are supervising). After finally finishing cleaning and my project (and I even got ahead on tests, vocabulary lists and handouts!), I ventured into the kitchen for a snack. Upon glancing at the kitchen, I realized it was just not in the stars. The tile was ripped up yesterday, the refrigerator is now in our living room (meaning the margaritas are closer to the couch), cabinets are missing, the stove and oven is now in the backyard (awaiting trash day, they will not stay there long - we have some class), I can't find the plates and flatware because those are the cabinets that are no longer in existance, the ceiling is ripped apart where top cabinets were removed... sawdust is everywhere. We're going to be eating takeout for a week because we can't cook! Either that or we'll be doing a hell of a lot of grilling...

Tomorrow is my long run day. On my own, I will do 6.1 miles. After 6.1 miles, my sister will be joining me, since I am training her for the Houston half. She's a walker but we're going to do 5-1 intervals (5 minutes walking, 1 minute running). This is the first time we're incorporating a minute of jogging, so we'll see how it goes. Oh, she is a chronic asthmatic, so we're taking it REALLY easy. Her goal is just to finish. And I'm going to be the good sister and I will accompany her the entire time (which is fine with me; maybe I'll do better in New Orleans, two weeks later). Hell, maybe I'll walk faster with her (I tend to stroll during my walk breaks and could use some speed then). So tomorrow is a total of 14.4 miles - 6.1 on my own and 8.3 with her. Granted, I'll be walking most of the last 8.3 miles, but it's still mileage... right?

Hey, I need help. Who can tell me how to add links to my blog, such as other blogs I read or sites I visit? Keep in mind, I'm not very technologically savvy...

You Oughtta Know

Now I'm listening to Alannis Morisette.

I took procrastination to a new level today.

I woke up early to man the TNT water station. It began to rain when I got to Memorial Park, so the coaches and I fiddled around for a while, trying to determine if the weather would but a damper on the days' running. After about 40 minutes, lightening shot down and thunder rolled near the park so we packed up the water station, picked up some runners (or followed those stubborn fools who wanted to run back to the park in a thunderstorm) and then went out for breakfast.

Wow, I was given an extra 3-4 hours of time today from not having to man the station all morning. What to do? What to do? I'm not going to run because I'm a fair weather runner (I only run in fair weather). I could finish my project. Hmm.

Nope. I'm going to clean! I'm going to do anything to not have to finish my project! I cleaned like a freak this morning. I went under my bed, in my drawers, in my closets, I organized my book shelves, I dusted. I spent a good hour and a half on my bedroom. Shall I finish my project yet? No! I still have another room to clean. I went into my office. After looking around, I realized that I was really desperate to procrastinate if I was willing to tidy up that room. Let me put it to you this way: it resembled more of a storeroom than an office. Yuck.

Luckily, my phone rang and Andy stalled me by having me listen to speech he wrote (which was excellent) for his Toastmasters club.

But that conversation was short and I was forced to delve into the depths of books, papers, and miscellaneous shit. Seriously - I found some random stuff, like a finals schedule from freshman year of high school. I didn't live here in my freshman year of high school! I worked on that room for about two hours. I cleaned the top and inside of the desk, the entertainment center, organized my DVDs, took every book off of all of my bookshelves, catagorized them according to subject (which is when I realized I own a small library of British history books and plays), and put them up according to era (example, all of the Tudor histories here, all of the screenwriting books there, Harry Potter here, Jane Austin there, Shakespeare here). It was sad. Then I sat down and read my old diaries I found (I am so happy I am not the anguished college student I was) and my unfinished screenplay. I haven't touched that screenplay in months. I need to finish! I'm going to review what I've written and my notes tonight.

At least I can see the floors now!

After hours of cleaning, I settled down in front of my computer and spent an hour finishing. I spent 4 hours cleaning to avoid 1 hour of computer work.

So, my grades are done, my project is done. Now I'm going to write three tests: one vocabulary test and one test over chapter two of "Fahrenheit 451", one over books 21-23 of the Odyssey. And maybe I'll be generous and create a sheet of questions for my sophomores on chapter 3 of F451.

Yea!!!

Friday, November 25, 2005

Friday Update

Uh, oh. It's coming on... there's not a lot I can do to stop it...

I am bored.

Yes, I was productive today. I finished grading, updated my gradebook and updated my grade spreadsheet (so I know how many kids are failing now). Then I started on my 12-page paper. I've completed 8.5 pages, so I only have 3.5 left to do. And now... I am bored.

I don't like to be too bored, because when I'm too bored I start thinking, and I think way too much. Then when I start thinking, I think depressing thoughts, and get lonely and get myself into such a state that I don't want to talk to anyone and I don't want to do anything but sleep. And eat chocolate cake. And watch "Sex in the City" reruns.

Sigh.

Gingerbread... an excellent cooldown

Today's stats;
Mileage: 6.2 miles (total this week - 24 miles)
Time: The first 5.8 took 82 minutes. I stopped my watch for the last 4/10 mile.
Pain: None whatsoever
Boredom level: High, but I kept saying 6 miles sounds better than 2.9
Weird people: None.
Temperate: Cooler and overcast. Almost perfect.
Hydration: Fine, fine.
Nutrition: Fine, even with yesterday being Thanksgiving - I did't pig out and ate veggies.
Route: Twice Rice and a half mile to and from Starbucks. :)
Post-run treat: Happily munching on a piece of gingerbread loaf from Starbucks (on the cooldown walk back to my car).

I have to be productive today. I will update my spreadsheet - I will not leave my house until that and half of my project is done. And since Christine and I are going to Company OnStage's production of "The Fantastiks" tonight (we must support our theatre home and friends/fellow actors), I have to be done with that stuff by 6:30pm.

But first... a shower. Ooh. Maybe I can pencil in a nap today, too...

Thursday, November 24, 2005

Do Turkeys Really Trot?

I ran the Uptown Park 10k Turkey Trot! Woo-hoo!

Here's the stats...
Distance: 6.2 miles (17.8 miles thus far this week)
Nutrition: Better, but not perfect (damn the leftover pizza!)
Hydration: Good.
Pain: None. Although when I was walking prior, my shin was bothering me.
Time: 80:45

I am really happy with my time for a number of reasons:
1) It was hot. While running, 70 degrees is hot to me (remember, I'm not thin)
2) After weeks/months of not running regularly and then running like a freak for the past 5 days, it's amazing I wasn't too tired or hurt.
3) It was only 2:45 minutes longer than my last 10K, which was in the cold of March.

I was running 13 minute miles. Notice that these past couple of days I was running 5.8 miles in 80 minutes. I ran an entire 4/10 mile more in just an additional 45 seconds. I felt it, though. I saw many running buddies and actually kept on pace with one, although I was behind her. With 1 mile left to go, I sprinted to catch up to her. After I caught up with her, I slowed down because that sprinting was not a good idea. The only real problem I had was that they ran out of water at the end by the time I finished. That sucked. My friend Erin was behind me a bit of a ways and she said that they ran out of water at the last water stop before she got to it.

On the plus side, finishing food included Kolaches from the Kolache Factory.

Another plus: I went to my gym to shower afterwards and when I weighed myself, I was three pounds lighter than I was last week. Now, it could've been water loss, but I hope not.

Afterwards, I met my family for Thanksgiving lunch. Due to issues (i.e. cousins with little children, a sister who has a small abode, an aunt in a wheelchair, and our house under renovation), we decided to eat out for Thanksgiving. So we went to Landry's. I don't see my aunt, uncle and cousins and their families much - only at Thanksgiving and Christmas. Due to a personal tragedy, I skipped out on Thanksgiving festivities last year to wallow in rented movies and chocolate and not everyone made it to Christmas, so I hadn't seen some in two years. This is sad, and please don't think me evil: but I am so freakin' happy I'm not the fat cousin anymore!!! Growing up, I was always the chubby one. Then the fat one. Then I started shrinking and at the same time my two girl cousins and my sister started growing. I was the smallest woman there. And I loaded my plates with vegetables and salad (and bites of the traditional Thanksgiving fare) and felt good when I saw fried foods and gravies and other stuff on their plates. Call me horrible, but I'm not judging just observing.

Anyway, the one thing I wanted was pumpkin pie. I ran 6.2 miles this morning, damnit, and I want pumpkin pie! I acquired a lovely piece, put a bite in my mouth, and then wanted to spit it out. It was the worst pumpkin pie I've ever had. :( Looks like I'll have to go to the House of Pies this week to get my pumpkin pie fix.

Tomorrow: 5.8 miles again. Easy run. I'm not going to bust my ass, but I will go early while it's still cool.

Wednesday, November 23, 2005

Ahh... They Still Have that New Shoe Smell

I'm sitting here, lacing my personal Champion Chip into my fabulous new shoes. I've worn them 17.1 miles, and they still have that "new shoe" look and smell about them. Someone asked me today how far I could run in high heels. I told him that from experience, I know I can run at least 5 blocks in strappy heels, but I prefer my Aasics.

The 10K is tomorrow! I'm going to bed nice and early tonight to be well rested. I hope to see some of you there!

PS - I wish people would think before they speak. I can't go into any more details about it, but seriously, THINK FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!! Have some fucking consideration!

Lesson o' the Day

While peppermint oil cooling gel feels good on legs and feet after a long jog, it does not feel so good after a shower which included a leg shaving (sorry guys, I know you didn't want to read that).

Ouch.

How Many More Miles?

Today was not a great jog, it was an okay jog.

Stats:
Mileage: 5.8 (total this week: 11.6)

Time: 80 minutes (to show how it got worse, the first lap around Rice was 38 minutes, the second lap was 42 minutes).

Nutrition: A hell of a lot better than the previous day, but not perfect (I had three slices of pizza last night and one for breakfast before the run, but at least I ate fruits and vegetables as well)

Hydration: Good. I consumed almost three liters of water yesterday.

Pain: Not bad. Maybe a slight pull once on my Achilles tendon, but after 2 miles, I started feeling a new pain in my left lower shin.

The rundown: I arrived at Rice, not really wanting to keep my time, but I did it just out of curiosity. I started my watch, started the jog, and after a mile I started complaining. God, I did not want to run today. I decided I was only going to do one lap. Then an irritating thing happened: a speedwalker passed me. I am slow. My best time was a 11 minute mile, and that was in 30 degree weather last winter when I started jogging. Considering I haven't been running as much due to the heat and have gained 5 pounds since the San Diego marathon, I can manage to pull off a 13:30 minute mile. I was talking an interval walk break and a speedwalker passed me. Oh, no, I was not going to let that happen. So I started jogging again and got ahead. Then when it was time for my walk break, she'd pass me again (I take slow walk breaks). So we did this for about a mile until I just decided to take out the walk breaks (catch me now, speedwalker!) and I jogged the last mile stopping only for a red light. I was miserable, but my total time around Rice was 38 minutes, which I haven't done since... April maybe. I then stretched and pondered going another lap. I pondered for about 5 minutes. Then I said, "F**k it" and went on, slowly and bitching the entire way. So I barely did 5.8 miles and my heart wasn't in to it. Then I went to the gym and bitched as I lifted weights.

Now I am home, thankfully. The shower is calling my name and I feel obligated to answer.

Tomorrow is the 10k Turkey Trot. I will don my favorite singelet, the one that is purple and reads, "26.2 Miles and Still Smiling" and jog comfortably. And then eat pumpkin pie.

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

Nope

I chose not to run this afternoon - why hurt myself and also it became warm. Blech.

I did, however, go to the movies again (I'm trying to catch up). I saw "Pride and Prejudice." Men: this is a 100% chick flick. Women: Do not see it if you are depressed over a guy - you'll be crying by the end. If you're not heartbroken, go ahead and see it and fall in love with Mr. Darcy. It was fabulous.

"I Gotta Go My Way"

Wow! I'm not listening to a musical.

First things first... running stats.

Distance: 5.8 miles

Time: 80 minutes (which I'm not happy with, but can't complain too much b/c of...)

Nutrition yesterday: Sucked. What word is worse than "poor"? The only vegetables I had were the tomatoes, onions, pickles and banana peppers on my cheeseburger. The other meals were just as bad. I eat too many brown and beige foods.

Hydration yesterday: Sucked. Most of my fluid intake (which was minimal anyway) was diet coke, decaf coffee and a smidgen of water (no more than 30 ounces)

Pain: Zip

Weird people I ran by: Zip.

Dead animals: Zip (cringe if you like, but when I run in River Oaks, I count dead frogs and squirrels as a distraction to the pain of the long runs).

I'm going to run again this afternoon, with TNT. I figure I'll do two laps around Memorial (another 5.8 miles) and then do the speedwork/leg strengthening exercises. It's not like I have anything else to do.

Here's the story of the weird guy from yesterday. Andy and I go into the theatre again for the second of the two movies we watching - this one being "Harry Potter." It was pretty empty, so I picked a good, central row with good, central seats. We sit and I immediately put my sexy-boot-clad legs onto the chair in front of me. Damned if this one guy walks to that aisle in front of us. He looks all around, counts seats as if he's reserving for a bunch of people, tilts his head in all directions, waves his arms around. I move my feet and he plops (and I mean plops) into the seat directly in front of me (grumble). This guys actions sound normal, but they weren't. His actions were just not normal. I was curious and trying so hard not to laugh. I had tears coming from my eyes. Andy looks at me and tries to suppress laughter himself, which just makes me laugh out loud. I try to laugh quietly, because I don't normally laugh at people (talk about them, yes. Laugh, no). But then Andy starts laughing and I just about lose control. Andy then leans over to the guy and asks what he was doing. The guy (in his young twenties) looks at us and asks if we know who Plato is. Andy, the literature major, was slightly offended and said, "Yes, of course I know who Plato is." Then the guy starts rambling about Plato and geometry and the acoustics of the theatre. Andy interrupts and says, "So you're just trying to find the best seat." "Yes." Andy settled back in his chair, satisfied but still humored. I admit to the guy I have no clue what he's talking about with geometry, telling him that Andy and I are English teachers. His eyes widen and says, "Wow. English teachers. Cool." And then he proceeds to tell us that he is a Biology major and trips up his professors by writing his lab reports in 17th century prose. I was just about to lose it again (once I get the giggles, they don't go away quickly). Then he asks if Andy and I like sushi. Warily, I say yes. He says that we should try out the sushi place in the food court of the mall but not to mistake the wasabi for guacamole, like his grandmother did... Andy mercifully interjected again telling him that he lived in Japan for years and knows what wasabi is.

Then the guy puts on his mp3 player and bobbs his head back and forth "Night at the Roxbury" style. I had to cover my head with my leather jacket. I needed a tissue to stop my eye make-up from running. Damn the giggles.

I think this is a "you had to be there" story, because it was a lot funnier there than when I describe it.

Today is more of nothing. Except I will update my gradebook - that is my one objective for the day (that and putting away my laundry, which I did at 6:30am because I couldn't sleep). But tomorrow, I have a date with a new guy! We'll see how this one goes.

Monday, November 21, 2005

"There's a Fine, Fine Line..."

Yep, I was listening to the "Avenue Q" cast recording again. There's a specific reason why this is the song o'the day (and Christine is the only one who knows the reason why... so this one is for you!)

Well, I have been on my vacation for three days now. Today was the busiest, by far. I met up with Andy in Lake Charles and we took in two movies and an uber-fast lunch and coffee. Yes, I did rub the marathon in his nose. Yes, he knew I was going to do it and yes, he laughed. Luckily he's a good sport about these things. I think we're at the point in our friendship where we have to take digs at one another - it makes things more fun.

The trip back sucked. This is horrible, but I was thinking, "Wow. If only I didn't break it off with Matt. I could just drive an hour to Lafayette and stay with him instead of the two-and-a-half hour drive to Houston." But since I did break it off with him, I didn't see going there as appropo. So I sucked it up and drove home, listening to "Avenue Q" and a Dave Matthews CD.

I told Andy about my blog and he found the site. I didn't tell him the address because I wanted to rush home to make sure I didn't write anything bad about him (I didn't think I did, but I just wanted to check). I did realize, however, that my posts are boring. I would like to apologize to everyone, then, about how boring my life is. :) And thanks to my running buddies (new and bloggers) that check up on my boring life!

I'm off to bed. I've a busy week ahead. I'm going to run as much as I can, get my grade book organized, go on a date on Wednesday, run a 10K Thursday, do my freakin' project (the one I'm procrastinating on), go out with Christine this weekend (since she's home), catch up on my movie-watching, clean my room, etc.

"And now it's time to go home..."

But here's a teaser for tomorrow: I must share the story about the very odd individual at the movie theatre.

Sunday, November 20, 2005

New Shoes, Same Route

I decided to take my new shoes on a run today to break them in. I jogged the same 5.5-6 mile route, but this time I finished 5 minutes earlier, going 1 minute/mile faster. I was so excited I was cheering on Greenbriar. :) I love my new shoes. I think that's what did it - these are much lighter and more flexible.

I got my pictures developed from MCM. Not realizing it, I took a picture of the juggling runner, as well as the Leap Frogs. Of course, I also have a picture of me between two hot Marines. :)

Just a few more days until the Turkey Trot. I'm ready. Bring it on!

Saturday, November 19, 2005

"There is Life Outside Your Apartment..."

"... there's a pigeon squashed on the street. Eew."

Sorry, I'm listening to the "Avenue Q" cast recording again.

Anyway, on with my life. :)

I played waitress at our TNT water station today, and I was absolutely jealous of those running. It was freezing cold, overcast which is my favorite kind of running weather. ARGHHH. All I could think of was, "Damn my Achilles tendon." Then I started to think... hmm...

I went home after the torturous watching and I decided to go running. I donned my running gear and headed to Rice. I went one loop around Rice (2.9) and tacked on the ENTIRE Hermann Park (including the golf course, not just the zoo area - which is at least 3 miles). I did my jog in 1 hour, 17 minutes, which is great, despite the pain that kept coming. Then, I decided to go to Luke's Locker and sign up for the 10k Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving. I want to run it, even if I hurt. It's all about the bib collection.

A funny thing happened at Luke's Locker. 104 KRBE was there for promotion purposes. I went to their "Meet Market" singles even with Tracy on Wednesday. I'm not a bar person, I'm not a drinker, but I went anyway for the hell of it. They had a drinking contest - a spelling bee. If you spelled the word correctly, you got a shot and continued until you spelled two words wrong. I'm an English teacher. Guess who won. Anyway, Reno, one of the KRBE producers/on-air personalities, was the host of the spelling bee. When I won, I won 40 shots and got to pass them out to cute guys. Unfortunately, the guys kept insisting I take shots with them. I think I had a total of 9 shots. Plus the rum and coke I had before the spelling bee. For a non-drinker, that's a lot of alcohol. Yes, I felt it the next morning.

Anyway, Reno was there. I looked horrible - in my running gear, hair pulled back, no make-up. I signed up for the Turkey Trot and while I was there, I bought some new running shoes (I'm starting to hate the brand I've been running in for a year). As I walked to check out, I paused by the KRBE table. Reno looked up at me and immediately said, "Hey teacher, how did you feel after Wednesday?" Shit. He recognized me. So I laughed it off and we chatted for about 30 minutes. One of the tech guys came over, stopped and said to Reno, "Isn't this the teacher?" Dear lord. What a way to be remembered. Winning a drinking contest. But I had a good time.

So I've signed up for the Turkey Trot. I want to sign up for the Houstonian Lite 30k, but that's an 18-miler and I'm not sure I want to hurt that bad (although finishers get a medal). We'll see how my Achilles tendon feels in a week or so. But I'm thinking the 18 miles is not a good idea.

But I have new running shoes! And they're lighter! I'm an over-pronator and the motion-control shoes I was wearing (Brooks Ariels) felt like boats. So the guy at Luke's Locker introduced me to some Asics that are more flexible and light. I can't wait to try them out tomorrow!

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

I Felt Like A Child Getting Chastised...

I was chastised today, borderline yelled at. And who did this... Andy.

So, my achilles tendon area has been sore, so I've decided to not run the Baton Rouge half-marathon in two weeks. I don't want to limp for the rest of my life. So I told Andy, since I had previously told him I was going to do it and we were going to hang out while I was there. He was very irritated with me. Why, you ask? Because I was running while hurt. He told me that I shouldn't even run Houston, but that's two months away and I know I'll be ok. I just started off too much too soon for me. Granted, the first run after a marathon shouldn't have been 14 miles, but it was two weeks later! And I know, that I shouldn't just jump into 14 miles after two weeks of no running. I do realize the mistake. Trust me, I feel the mistake. But he became angry! He literally chastised me, reminding me how I hurt myself before San Diego and he said that I should stop training for marathons because I need to heel and there will always be more, etc etc etc. I didn't tell him I wasn't going to run another one until I dropped 30 pounds, because I'm sure he would've thought it was a feeble attempt to save face.

Runners, don't lecture me. Please. I know I was wrong. I feel it. And I will get better and wade in the shallow end instead of jumping into the deep end. I guess my justification is that I'm so slow, that hurting myself doesn't seem like a big deal.

Moral of this story: my next run won't be until the Houston half two months away. I'm going to go a short distance on Sunday (as in no more than one lap around Rice). I'm going to start slower. And build up.

Arghh....

Saturday, November 12, 2005

ARRGGGHHHH!!!!!!!

So, today was a 16-miler, but I decided to do only 14. I'm not training for a full anytime soon, but I do have 3 halves within the next three months, so I'm thinking a maximum of 14 miles on a long run will be fine, and will keep me in a bit of shape when I start training for a full again.

I haven't really run since the marathon. I tried last Sunday, but gave up after a mile (due to back pain) and walked the other 4.8 miles. For the past week, I've been at the gym daily, doing weight training and spending time on the elliptical, so I figured I'd be ok. Ummm... no.

The first 10 miles were fine. I decided to stop running with my iPod because it distracts me, but I had a great time and was running better without it. After the 1st mile, my right achilles tendon (which has been tight and slightly sore since the marathon) starting stiffening up. Groan. But after another mile it was fine. Then tight again. Then fine. That went on for a while, but the weather was pleasant and the route was nice and scenic and familiar and I was feeling fine. After 10, though, I was feeling the strain and pain. After 11, I gave up jogging. I walked fast for a mile, and then I limped for the last 2 miles. I was whining so badly the last two miles, that it's a good thing I was by myself. Each step was torture.

Now I am home. I've decided to make a concerted effort, despite the weather, to actually do the weekly maintenance runs that I've been skimping on. I need to get back to normal (which means how I was running before my June marathon).

Now, for the rest of the day, I'm thinking I'll take a nap and then work on my project.

Oh, yeah. I donated blood yesterday afternoon. That might have an effect on my overall feeling today. Duh.

Thursday, November 10, 2005

When I get down in the dumps...

So, I've spent a good portion of 2005 being depressed because I thought my life sucked (to quote one of my favorite musicals, Avenue Q, "It sucks to be me.") I focused so much on the bad things (my weight, stress over my poor time management, the stress of a job switch, being in too many short-lived relationships with people I shouldn't've gotten involved with), but the other day I looked at my year as a whole and came up with an epiphany. My year was pretty damn good. On December 31st, I decided to dub 2005 "The Year of Erica," mainly because 2004 sucked big-time. I decided that I was not going to sabotage my happiness, like I usually do, and focus on more positive things. And here's what I realized about this year...

1) One of my New Years' Resolution was to run a 5k. I've run 2 5ks, 1 10k and 2 marathons. That's pretty damn good!

2) I wasn't going to date any losers. Well, I fell short on that one, but on the positive side I've had more dates this year and relationships (short-lived or otherwise) than I've had period. Which is great for my ego! I'm not the troll I thought I was.

3) My weight. Sigh. This has been a very depressing issue (a continuous battle since high school). But then I realized that, despite gaining 10 pounds this year, I've done all that running/jogging and had all those relationships and dates. I decided that my weight wasn't going to stop me from doing one marathon (and I've done 2!) or dating. So I'm coming to realize that my weight doesn't play as big of a part as I thought it did. (I know, it's the inside that counts, but I've dealt with eating disorders for the past 14 years and this is a big realization for me).

4) Job. I hated my job at the beginning of the year. And though the switch to teaching has been busy and time-consuming, I still love it! And I am actually proud of what I do. I am not embarrassed to tell anyone that I'm a teacher.

5) Writing. I haven't finished my latest screenplay. But I've been busy. And I'll finish. I'm ok with not finishing yet... sometimes the best things take a while to do.

6) While I didn't go to London, as I had hopes of, I've traveled more this year than I ever have in one year - I went to California (a first), New York City (a first) and Washington DC (a trip I've made before and always love).

So, all in all, I've had a great year! And this makes me feel stupid for spending the majority of my year feeling depressed and sad.

I wonder what 2006 will bring me...

Tuesday, November 08, 2005

Farewell, dear jacket... how I'll miss thee....

Hey Mr. Weatherman! Bring back the cold! Bring back the cold! What's up with this heat and humidity - don't tease us with 2 weeks of coolness, only to yank it away!

In case you can't tell, I'm irritated. I hate the heat. I want the cold. I want to go running again (of course, after my back is 100% - it's now only 80%). I've been working out for the past 6 days and am getting tired of the elliptical machine.

But I've been getting up at 4:30am to go the gym. I'm proud of myself. And I'm so tired that I feel like I'm going to fall over. But my muscles are sore and I'm happy about that - I might actually be finding a routine again.

Sunday, November 06, 2005

I Spoke Too Soon

Back spasm! Back spasm! AHHHHHHH!!!

Yesterday morning, my back started getting sore. By last night it was spasming. During the night was ok, but after moving around for a little while this morning.... more spasming. I was waiting for this to happen, but I was hoping it wouldn't.

I have problems with my sciatic nerve. I've had problems since early in college. A slight move in a certain direction will send pain shooting down the nerves from my back down my legs. It usually only happens once a year, but it happened after San Diego and I am not surprised to feel it now, but I was hoping it wouldn't. I'll be fine in a week or so, but it's just annoying.

I tried to jog this morning, my first jog since the marathon. I've been using the elliptical machine for the past couple of days, and I might have to go back to it until my body can take the impact of jogging. My back was giving me problems after just a mile, and my right ankle/achilles tendon area was still smarting. So, I ended up walking 2 laps around Memorial this morning (the last lap with my sister).

I've also decided NOT to do the New Orleans full marathon. Instead, I'm going to do the half. I can't run another full until I lose 30 pounds - this weight just makes it harder and I know it's why my back is the way it is. I can't train for a marathon and lose weight at the same time, so I'm just going to do halves until I drop the poundage. But I'm going to keep my weekly long runs to around 15-16 so that I won't have to start completely over.

Time to grade the papers now....

Friday, November 04, 2005

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

So I'm feeling good. Sort of. Almost. I noticed, however, that my legs were starting to hurt, but not from the marathon - they wanted me to move them again! So I decided to brave the gym (despite the blister that is on the ball of my left foot and way under a callous, thus making a feeling as though I am walking on a sharp rock). I did 45 minutes on the elliptical machine and called it an evening. I felt pretty good afterwards. This is the first time I hit the gym since the MCM, and it didn't tire me out!

After the trip to the gym, I went home, took a shower, dolled myself up and made an appearance at my Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo committee meeting/auction. Being that it's a rodeo event, I wanted to wear my boots. They have heels on them. Bad idea. I ended up barefoot less than two hours later. My feet were killing me! I guess they're still sensitive from the marathon.

Today at work, my feet were feeling the brief time in the boots, especially that pesky blister. I am so happy, however, that my legs don't hurt! I'm going to go to the gym in an hour (after my dinner settles) to work out another 45 minutes. I need to get back into a steady workout regimen (one that's been suffering since school started). If I do 45 minutes on the elliptical and 20 on weights, I'll be a happy camper.

When will I start running? When the damn blister heals. It hurts that bad. I tried to pop it today (sorry, I know it's disgusting, but I was desparate), but it is so far underneath a callous that I wasn't successful. I was afraid I'd stick the pin into my bone. So I guess I will just have to suffer. The elliptical machine, however, is easy to do since your feet don't move - your legs do. I want to try to run Sunday. We shall see.

Oh! I ran into another friend of mine who was supposed to run the MCM - he bailed out. But he told my sister that he's doing the Houston half, and since she and I are doing it we invited him to trot along with us (since we're slow). So now the three of us will jog it together.

Yes, my sister is going to do the Houston Half. We start training Sunday. She's a very serious asthmatic, so I'm pretty sure we're going to be walking most of it, which is fine since I hope to do the New Orleans marathon two weeks later. We're going to start with a simple loop around Memorial Sunday morning (but by the time she shows up, I hope to have done two loops). She doesn't run at all, so we'll probably be doing run 1 walk 4 or run 1 walk 5. We just want her to finish.

I am going to work on increasing mileage and dropping 30 pounds. For those who don't know me, I weigh around 190. I know that to have a good marathon I need to drop at least 50 pounds, but I'm not in a hurry. I'm going to focus on 30.

Wednesday, November 02, 2005

Must Vent

Ahh, the wonders of a blog... a place where you can vent and people can laugh at your problems. :)

I need more hours in the day. Or I need a week off (how many weeks until Thanksgiving?). Let me list what kind of pressure I'm under...

1) School (as in work): I need to write my lesson plans a month in advance because I'm starting to feel pressured and overwhelmed by days. I also have to update my grade book since it's a new six weeks, grade tests for my freshman class, grade papers for my sophomore class, write tests for them...

2) School (as in night class): I have a large project due Monday (but she said she'll take it the following Monday if necessary... and it might be necessary). I have to write a thematic unit. Not hard, but time consuming. Then at the end of November, I have to have a 12-page instructional strategy research paper written. Again not hard, but time consuming (this will be my Thanksgiving break).

3) ACP (the alternative certification program I'm doing): I have to have my second portfolio assignment in by November 9 and I haven't even started. Again not hard, but time consuming.

4) HLSR: I'm on a committee and have to write reports and call contacts. Again, not hard but time consuming.

5) Exercise: Oof. I need time to do it, but often when the time is here I am too tired or stressed from worrying about the other things. But I need to get back into the gym (my card is gathering dust) and I need to start running again (next week) to train for the next race....

And the time I have to do that stuff? A couple of hours tomorrow night, Friday night, Sunday all day (Saturday I have plans). God, I'm tired. I cannot wait until Thanksgiving break.


AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Tuesday, November 01, 2005

Two Days Later...

I feel almost normal!!! Here's the update on the pain: ass still hurts, quads don't hurt at all (and haven't at all), knees don't hurt, calves still slightly sore, ankles still hurt, back fine. I should be 100% back to normal on Thursday. I'm going to start going to the gym again tomorrow and I might try to easy jog again Friday.

My next marathon: New Orleans. But from now until then I will focus on the following: getting in the appropriate miles of training a week (strive for no less than 18, and getting up to 36-40 depending on long run) and losing 30 pounds. If I drop the weight, I won't tire as easily.

Upcoming races: Baton Rouge half marathon (December 3), Houston half marathon (January 15), New Orleans marathon (February 3). Goals: to finish!! (Actually to finish each half in less than 3 hours and the full in less than 6:30).

Later!

I Forgot to Mention...

More Marine Corps memories...

1) The guy who played the sargeant on "Full Metal Jacket" gave a pep talk before the gun went off.

2) There was a little boy around mile 18 holding up a sign that said, "Run you freakin' idiots!"

3) I owe much thanks to whatever group was passing out cups of M&Ms around mile 16. I was going to toss them out (I wanted water), but decided to eat them and felt so much better 5 minutes later (I guess my blood sugar was down to my toes).

4) High school bands played the theme from "Rocky"

5) A sign at mile 23 said, "3.2 miles until beer."