Tuesday, November 22, 2005

"I Gotta Go My Way"

Wow! I'm not listening to a musical.

First things first... running stats.

Distance: 5.8 miles

Time: 80 minutes (which I'm not happy with, but can't complain too much b/c of...)

Nutrition yesterday: Sucked. What word is worse than "poor"? The only vegetables I had were the tomatoes, onions, pickles and banana peppers on my cheeseburger. The other meals were just as bad. I eat too many brown and beige foods.

Hydration yesterday: Sucked. Most of my fluid intake (which was minimal anyway) was diet coke, decaf coffee and a smidgen of water (no more than 30 ounces)

Pain: Zip

Weird people I ran by: Zip.

Dead animals: Zip (cringe if you like, but when I run in River Oaks, I count dead frogs and squirrels as a distraction to the pain of the long runs).

I'm going to run again this afternoon, with TNT. I figure I'll do two laps around Memorial (another 5.8 miles) and then do the speedwork/leg strengthening exercises. It's not like I have anything else to do.

Here's the story of the weird guy from yesterday. Andy and I go into the theatre again for the second of the two movies we watching - this one being "Harry Potter." It was pretty empty, so I picked a good, central row with good, central seats. We sit and I immediately put my sexy-boot-clad legs onto the chair in front of me. Damned if this one guy walks to that aisle in front of us. He looks all around, counts seats as if he's reserving for a bunch of people, tilts his head in all directions, waves his arms around. I move my feet and he plops (and I mean plops) into the seat directly in front of me (grumble). This guys actions sound normal, but they weren't. His actions were just not normal. I was curious and trying so hard not to laugh. I had tears coming from my eyes. Andy looks at me and tries to suppress laughter himself, which just makes me laugh out loud. I try to laugh quietly, because I don't normally laugh at people (talk about them, yes. Laugh, no). But then Andy starts laughing and I just about lose control. Andy then leans over to the guy and asks what he was doing. The guy (in his young twenties) looks at us and asks if we know who Plato is. Andy, the literature major, was slightly offended and said, "Yes, of course I know who Plato is." Then the guy starts rambling about Plato and geometry and the acoustics of the theatre. Andy interrupts and says, "So you're just trying to find the best seat." "Yes." Andy settled back in his chair, satisfied but still humored. I admit to the guy I have no clue what he's talking about with geometry, telling him that Andy and I are English teachers. His eyes widen and says, "Wow. English teachers. Cool." And then he proceeds to tell us that he is a Biology major and trips up his professors by writing his lab reports in 17th century prose. I was just about to lose it again (once I get the giggles, they don't go away quickly). Then he asks if Andy and I like sushi. Warily, I say yes. He says that we should try out the sushi place in the food court of the mall but not to mistake the wasabi for guacamole, like his grandmother did... Andy mercifully interjected again telling him that he lived in Japan for years and knows what wasabi is.

Then the guy puts on his mp3 player and bobbs his head back and forth "Night at the Roxbury" style. I had to cover my head with my leather jacket. I needed a tissue to stop my eye make-up from running. Damn the giggles.

I think this is a "you had to be there" story, because it was a lot funnier there than when I describe it.

Today is more of nothing. Except I will update my gradebook - that is my one objective for the day (that and putting away my laundry, which I did at 6:30am because I couldn't sleep). But tomorrow, I have a date with a new guy! We'll see how this one goes.

No comments: