I was chastised today, borderline yelled at. And who did this... Andy.
So, my achilles tendon area has been sore, so I've decided to not run the Baton Rouge half-marathon in two weeks. I don't want to limp for the rest of my life. So I told Andy, since I had previously told him I was going to do it and we were going to hang out while I was there. He was very irritated with me. Why, you ask? Because I was running while hurt. He told me that I shouldn't even run Houston, but that's two months away and I know I'll be ok. I just started off too much too soon for me. Granted, the first run after a marathon shouldn't have been 14 miles, but it was two weeks later! And I know, that I shouldn't just jump into 14 miles after two weeks of no running. I do realize the mistake. Trust me, I feel the mistake. But he became angry! He literally chastised me, reminding me how I hurt myself before San Diego and he said that I should stop training for marathons because I need to heel and there will always be more, etc etc etc. I didn't tell him I wasn't going to run another one until I dropped 30 pounds, because I'm sure he would've thought it was a feeble attempt to save face.
Runners, don't lecture me. Please. I know I was wrong. I feel it. And I will get better and wade in the shallow end instead of jumping into the deep end. I guess my justification is that I'm so slow, that hurting myself doesn't seem like a big deal.
Moral of this story: my next run won't be until the Houston half two months away. I'm going to go a short distance on Sunday (as in no more than one lap around Rice). I'm going to start slower. And build up.
Arghh....
1 comment:
How cool! Someone has written about me on their weblog (I hate the word "blog," so I won't use it).
Good luck Thursday.
Post a Comment