Thursday, November 24, 2005

Do Turkeys Really Trot?

I ran the Uptown Park 10k Turkey Trot! Woo-hoo!

Here's the stats...
Distance: 6.2 miles (17.8 miles thus far this week)
Nutrition: Better, but not perfect (damn the leftover pizza!)
Hydration: Good.
Pain: None. Although when I was walking prior, my shin was bothering me.
Time: 80:45

I am really happy with my time for a number of reasons:
1) It was hot. While running, 70 degrees is hot to me (remember, I'm not thin)
2) After weeks/months of not running regularly and then running like a freak for the past 5 days, it's amazing I wasn't too tired or hurt.
3) It was only 2:45 minutes longer than my last 10K, which was in the cold of March.

I was running 13 minute miles. Notice that these past couple of days I was running 5.8 miles in 80 minutes. I ran an entire 4/10 mile more in just an additional 45 seconds. I felt it, though. I saw many running buddies and actually kept on pace with one, although I was behind her. With 1 mile left to go, I sprinted to catch up to her. After I caught up with her, I slowed down because that sprinting was not a good idea. The only real problem I had was that they ran out of water at the end by the time I finished. That sucked. My friend Erin was behind me a bit of a ways and she said that they ran out of water at the last water stop before she got to it.

On the plus side, finishing food included Kolaches from the Kolache Factory.

Another plus: I went to my gym to shower afterwards and when I weighed myself, I was three pounds lighter than I was last week. Now, it could've been water loss, but I hope not.

Afterwards, I met my family for Thanksgiving lunch. Due to issues (i.e. cousins with little children, a sister who has a small abode, an aunt in a wheelchair, and our house under renovation), we decided to eat out for Thanksgiving. So we went to Landry's. I don't see my aunt, uncle and cousins and their families much - only at Thanksgiving and Christmas. Due to a personal tragedy, I skipped out on Thanksgiving festivities last year to wallow in rented movies and chocolate and not everyone made it to Christmas, so I hadn't seen some in two years. This is sad, and please don't think me evil: but I am so freakin' happy I'm not the fat cousin anymore!!! Growing up, I was always the chubby one. Then the fat one. Then I started shrinking and at the same time my two girl cousins and my sister started growing. I was the smallest woman there. And I loaded my plates with vegetables and salad (and bites of the traditional Thanksgiving fare) and felt good when I saw fried foods and gravies and other stuff on their plates. Call me horrible, but I'm not judging just observing.

Anyway, the one thing I wanted was pumpkin pie. I ran 6.2 miles this morning, damnit, and I want pumpkin pie! I acquired a lovely piece, put a bite in my mouth, and then wanted to spit it out. It was the worst pumpkin pie I've ever had. :( Looks like I'll have to go to the House of Pies this week to get my pumpkin pie fix.

Tomorrow: 5.8 miles again. Easy run. I'm not going to bust my ass, but I will go early while it's still cool.

1 comment:

WalkSports.com said...

Erica,

Congratulations on the run today!

It was good in The Woodlands for the first three of 5 miles then it started to warm up a little bit for me. (9:21 first three miles; 10:10 last two miles)

I try to find a way, regardless of whatever time that I post, to walk away from a race learning something that I can put in my runner's tool chest down the road.

Think about coming out in two weeks to the Bloggers 5K (as part of Run The Woodlands 5K). Although the gas will cost you more, the $1 entry fee won't break your race budget and you can meet all of the other bloggers in town.

Again, congrats on your run today!

Jon