Saturday, December 31, 2005

The Year of Erica, part II

Last year was dubbed, "The Year of Erica." I had a great year, so 2006 will be henceforth known as "The Year of Erica: the Sequel." I have great plans, great dreams, great friends, great activities planned - how can 2006 not be good (don't answer that... I don't want to be jinxed).

Happy New Year everyone. I hope your 2006 will be as good as I hope mine will be.

By the way, Day 1 of Phase 1 of the South Beach diet went well. It was touch and go at 3pm when I was experiencing sugar withdrawal (which is to be expected after sharing a yummy brownie bottom pie from Bennigan's yesterday), but I managed to pull through. 13 days left.

Once Does Not a Habit Make

Today was a first. I woke up, as per my alarm, at 4:55am. I walked to my desk, shut off the alarm clock, and went straight back to bed. I did not go running with the group today. Today is the first time that I have done so due to the previous' nights activities. I've even managed to drag my ass out of bed after 4 hours of sleep and go for 15 miles after one Friday night. This morning was just too difficult. Not only was I just exhausted, but I also wore high-heeled boots for 15 hours yesterday. Ladies, you understand how my feet felt this morning. I'll just go to the gym later and do my long run tomorrow, which is a great way to start the New Year.

I woke up for good 2 hours later.

By the way, my mother and I are going on the South Beach Diet. Today is Day 1. I have weighed myself (I refuse to publicize the amount just yet) and will not do so again until next Saturday. I went to the grocery store and spent way too much on healthy food (I understand why so many economically-challenged individuals are overweight). For the next two weeks, my body will be given nothing but vegetables, cheese, nuts and meat. By the end of next week, I will be craving fruit like a crack addict craves crack. But for now, so far so good. I'll keep you guys updated on my progress.

"Action is eloquence" - William Shakespeare

Friday, December 30, 2005

I can't. I'm sorry. Don't hate me.

One of my best friends just got dumped in a manner equivalent to the Post-It-Note ("Sex and the City" fans should recall that episode, with the message of the Post-It as today's header). Sorry, girl. At least bad breakups show the true side of people (and you deserve better than him!!!).

I am exhausted and am going to bed as soon as I finish this post.

I had date 2.5 today. Again, while I won't go into detail, it's the best date I've had all week (and one of the best all year). Too bad things are complicated. But I had a good time (of course) and I realized that I still suck at pool (but will continue to play until I get better).

Tomorrow is New Years' Eve. How much do y'all want to bet that some idiot will ignore the burn ban and will set off fireworks? I wonder how much of Texas will be destroyed by wildfire tomorrow night. I, on the other hand, am looking forward to a run, spending time on lesson plans, and going to bed as early as I can.

Goodnight. Happy birthday Andy. Happy hunting April. Happy family gatherings Christine. Happy running to everyone who's running tomorrow (I'll be the one yawning while jogging my 8-10 miles). I gotta get up in 5 hours.... yawn....

Thursday, December 29, 2005

Define Human

I was reading Christine's blog (which is usually extremely humorous and frank and filled with dating disasters) and left a comment. I guess I forgot to type in those random letters at the bottom, because after I clicked it, a message appeared saying, "Please verify that you are human." I don't know why, but that message tickled me.

No running today (still felt trepidatious due to yesterday's debacle), went to the gym, hung out with Yvonne, came home and talked on the phone, went on date number 2.

(By the way, although I don't go into great details of my dates, both dates were at the same restaurant, a restaurant that I have never been until this week. Will there be further dates? Possibly. Number 1 and I got along fine, no spark, but had a good conversation. Number 2, I think, was intimidated by me. Sometimes I can be a bit talkative, and if you can't keep up in a conversation I might run you over. While neither one won the "Best Date of 2005" award, at least neither made it to the "Worst Dates of 2005" list (which, thankfully, only one made the list this year - and that one is hard to beat!)

Wednesday, December 28, 2005

Last Wishes

Today's run: 2.9 miles. It was bad. I felt like I gained 50 pounds overnight. My legs didn't want to move at all. After mile 1, I knew it was going to be rough.

I went to my mom's cousin's funeral today. I hate funerals (as I might have mentioned). I've been to more funerals than most 27-year olds I know. I have only one parent left, one grandparent left (and he was given 3-6 months left), and have been to funerals for cousins and friends. I've been to two funerals on May 5 (3 years apart), I've known two people who have died on May 1 (5 years apart), two friends died in a helicopter crash on my 21st birthday (so that was two funerals in one week). In between my 15th birthday and 4 days after my 21st birthday, I'd been to 14 funerals, and there were several I didn't go to (due to me living in Louisiana at the time). I refuse to look at the body in the casket, I am the last to arrive and the first to leave at cemetaries, and I fidget while in the pews. They remind me too much of my father's funeral, which is a memory that is best remained deep in my brain.

At today's funeral, I saw many relatives I haven't seen in a long time. In fact, several times the words, "I haven't seen you since _____'s funeral" were said. How depressing.

Here are my final wishes (my family knows, but just in case we're all killed in a freak accident). I do not want to live on life support - pull the plug. I want to be cremated with my urn/box of ashes buried next to my parents. I do not want a funeral service. Come to the gravesite, say some poems (maybe parts of "The 4 Quartets) or some Shakespeare (no psalms, no prayers) and then go have a party somewhere. Spend the funeral service money on booze and food and have a good time. No "Amazing Grace", no bagpipes, nothing musically depressing. Celebrate my life, celebrate the fact I'm gone and won't bug anyone anymore, celebrate the free party. Whatever makes you happy. Oh, and plant an antique rosebush behind my marker.

Now I have to finish my vocabulary list for "Julius Caesar." E tu, Brute?

(Oh, and I was informed by someone that I have 2 1/2 dates this week. Sorry for the misunderstanding.) :)

Tuesday, December 27, 2005

Book Review 2005

Last year, the best book I read was "The Time Traveler's Wife" by Audrey Niffenegger.

This year, the decision was tough. I've read more books than I can remember. Books I enjoyed this year include:
1) The Count of Monte Cristo (By Dumas)
2) The Three Musketeers (Dumas)
3) 20 Years Later (Dumas)
4) Viscount de Bragelonne (Dumas)
5) The Kite Runner (can't remember the name of the author)
6) A Home at the End of the World (Cunningham)
7) Life of Pi (Martel)
8) Memoirs of a Geisha (Golden)
9) A Million Little Pieces (Frey)

After much personal deliberation, I have narrowed it down to two books. I cannot decide which is better, because they were both so wonderful for diffferent reasons.

And the winners are...

"The Count of Monte Cristo" and "A Million Little Pieces."

I read "The Count of Monte Cristo" in February, and until 20 minutes ago, it was the best book I read this year. The story line is wonderful, full of betrayal, revenge, duals, loyalty, love, hate, perseverance and adventure. I was immensely disappointed when I finished it, and despite the size I think it only took me a week to read. I didn't read it, I consumed it.

"A Million Little Pieces" is the book I just finished 20 minutes ago. It's so hard to call it a wonderful book, because it's an addict's memoirs of his time in rehab. It's raw, brutal, painful, honest and sad. How can one call such a sad experience wonderful? Frey's writing style was a little difficult to grasp, because it's written in almost a stream of consciousness instead of regular prose format, but since he's battling demons in his own personal hell, it worked well. The rawness and honesty is what made it so wonderful. He keeps nothing hidden (so it seems) and while some of it is painful to read, I couldn't put it down. Some of it hit close to home, and if you know anyone who has suffered from any kind of addiction whatsoever, it will definitely move you.

If I could recommend one book for 2005, I think it would be "A Million Little Pieces." "The Count of Monte Cristo" is a book that I enjoyed so much I'll probably read it again, but "A Million Little Pieces" strikes hard and stirs emotions more.

I look forward to reading more in 2006. I hope to read "Teacher Man" by Frank McCourt, "The Hours" by Michael Cunningham, "Wicked," and I plan on finishing "War and Peace."

Monday, December 26, 2005

New Long-Term Goal

My new long-term goal is to be a member of either the 50 states marathon club or the 50 states plus DC marathon club.

I have two states under my belt thus far: California and Virginia. Unfortunately, my next two races are halves. Dammit. I should've trained for fulls, then I could've gotten two more states under my belt (Texas and Louisiana). Oh, well.

Here's part of my plan...
1) Run NYC this year. If I don't get accepted, I'm going to run Marine Corps again, and do a better job!
2) Run the Houston full next year (2007).
3) Run the New Orleans full next year (2007).

Then I'll be halfway to becoming a member, since you have to have 10 under your belt to join.

I thought about doing Alaska this year, but I vowed to not start training for a marathon until I've dropped 30 pounds, and I might not have the time to do that and train. So I'll just focus on fall marathons.

ohhhhhhhhhhhh

Today's running stats:

Mileage: 8.7 (3 laps around Rice). Positive splits. First lap was 39, second 41, third 43.

People I elbowed: zero, but almost two (move out of the fucking way people)

Strangers who cheered me on: one

Nutrition - poor (ate bad stuff at the brunch... but boy was it tasty!)

Hydration - below poor. Yesterday, I drank countless mimosas, one glass of water, and 16 ounces of hot chocolate. This morning before I ran, I had a bowl of cereal. Then during the run I drank 30 ounces of water. I feel like crap right now, and I know I'm dehydrated. The third loop was getting tiresome, salt was crusting on my face. When I got home I ate some fish and spinach, but then threw it up 15 minutes later. Then I curled myself into a ball on my bed and wished to die. I feel 10% better now, but I'm going back to bed now and wish for sleep. I'm still nauseated. I feel horrible.........................

Sunday, December 25, 2005

"His name is... Lancelot he likes to prance a lot"

"He likes to dance a lot, you know you do!" "I do?"

I have officially moved away from "Avenue Q" and am now listening to the cast recording to "Spamalot," which is wonderful (and Tim Curry and David Hyde Pierce were wonderful on Broadway in it).

Christmas is almost over. "Hallelujah!" Last year I publicly boycotted the holidays, and was ok with my lack of Christmas activities. This year, I didn't boycott the holidays but for a second year they were uneventful. My sister went out of town, leaving just my mom and I. So we went to brunch (where we made fun of other people's outfits) and went to the movies. Here's why I ended up in a bad mood... (and it was a doozy)...

1) I saw lots of happy families. My family is too tiny for this. My father is also dead, which makes me miss the holidays in which he was alive - they were more fun. Seeing the little girls with their fathers was heartwrenching. This year it was just my mom and myself... again.

2) I saw lots of couples. I'm happy with my single state, mostly, but it sucks to be alone during the holidays. I used to be ok with my single-ness during the holidays, but as I get older, I'm realizing it really does suck. I'm also tired of my cousins making references on how "it will be my turn soon" or "who are you dating now?" or "don't worry, you'll find someone." I am officially the youngest unmarried cousin. They all (including my sister) were married before they were 26. I am 27 with very little hope in the near future. I wouldn't be surprised if they secretly believe me to be a lesbian. I've only brought one boyfriend to meet them during the holidays (and only one year), and I don't know if they believe that I do date men. I told them I have two dates this week but they probably think I'm lying.

3) The movie was depressing. We saw, "The Family Stone." Warning, if you want to see this movie, I am going to give it away. Samuel L. Jackson is the killer. Just kidding. But this movie does have a serious turn at the end that had me in tears and depressed the hell out of my mother and me. It's not all funny and cute.

4) Lack of Christmas feeling. We didn't decorate, due to the massive rennovation of the house. Our tree remained in the garage, the snoring Santas in the closet and the lights in the attic. Nothing about our dwelling said, "Merry Christmas!"

5) My family. It's getting harder and harder each year to attend family functions. At one point, I leaned over to my mom and said, "I feel like the bastard step-child." She and I were out of the family loop (probably because neither one of us are married nor do we have little kids). Plus, it's difficult to have a serious conversation with some of them - we rarely see each other, therefore not really know each other and appear to live in two different parts of the world although we all live in Houston.

On the plus side, brunch was tasty, I got tipsy from the bottomless mimosas (those waiter were quick with the refills), and I beat my mom at a game of Scrabble (don't play Scrabble with an English teacher). Hmm. The mimosas could be another reason for my melancholy.

Bah humbug.

.

Saturday, December 24, 2005

Toys

I went 12 miles today (I gave up at mile 12, that is). After 2 miles, I could sense the roughness. I have got to learn to get some sleep the night before long runs - I can't function on 6 hours and then run at 6am. Also, I've been doing afternoon jogging, so I've had breakfast prior to jogging. I didn't eat before I left, felt my blood sugar hit my toes after mile 2. I ate a chocolate outrage gu and felt better - not good enough to all 14 miles, but good enough to not stop at 8 with the other half-marathoners.

Now I'm home, showered, read, etc. My mom and I exchanged Christmas presents early - I have a new toy. I have a digital camera now, which tickles me. I still love my "real" cameras, but I like the insant appeal of the digital. Very few pictures of me exist, and lately the ones that are being taken of me are when I'm sweaty and red-faced at mile 4 or 13 or 26.2, and those aren't particularly flattering. Now I can take a quick digital photo and either print it out on this nifty machine we have or I can upload it to my computer. I'm excited. I'm going to take pictures of me as soon as I put make-up on!

Tonight, Mom and I go to my cousin's house. I don't see myself eating, for the main course is white chili. I don't do white chili (mainly because I don't do beans). Luckily, I have a chicken I'm defrosting for back-up. I just have to have the appearance of eating, otherwise I'll hear "Why aren't you eating?" I could use the excuse of the upcoming race.

But tomorrow is brunch and mimosas... mmm....

Friday, December 23, 2005

Thank Goodness for Friends

I am going to have a great 2006, thanks to my friends. I already have great ideas, have great ideas for resolutions, and am looking forward to many things. I'll be more specific later after I sleep.

Oh, and I got an "A" in my final University of St. Thomas class for my teaching certification. Not bad, considering I had the flu while taking it and I only spent 20 minutes on it. But I must've made a perfect score on my final, because if I made a 100, the highest I could've gotten in the class is a 94. So I must've done a damn good job.

My graduate GPA - 3.66, which is higher than my undergraduate GPA. I might just take the remaining classes and get my masters in education!

Fa La La La La

Yes, I went jogging yesterday! Woo-hoo! 5.8 miles! After the first two miles, I started coughing and grumbling, but after I passed my car and started the second loop, I was feeling much better. Afterwards I felt fine, today I felt fine. I was going to go jogging again, but since I'm doing 14 tomorrow, I figure I'd chill. Plus, Christine just called - she's in town and we're going to brave the Galleria so she can go Christmas shopping and we can catch up on the gossip between us.

Not only did I jog yesterday, but I re-read most of "Romeo and Juliet" and made up a vocabulary list for the intro to Shakespeare and Acts 1-4. I hope to finish the vocabulary lists tonight and make the vocabulary quizzes. Tomorrow, after the 14 miler and before we do the obligatory family visit, in which my mom and I are the only ones from our side, I hope to do "Julius Caesar." The problem with trying to write a quick vocabulary list for "Julius Caesar" is that I haven't read it in a while and need to re-read and analyze it since I'm teaching it. That will take me most of tomorrow and into Sunday evening. Monday, I hope to write Act tests and both Romeo and Julius. Tuesday, maybe write lesson ideas. Wednesday, lesson ideas for "Animal Farm" and/or "Of Mice and Men." Thursday, same. I wanted to get everything done for the semester for my classes, but I'll be ok if I can do at least one unit each (if not two).

I bought a new book yesterday (since I'm a book sponge). "A Million Little Pieces" by James Frey. I've been looking at that book for over a month, every time I walk into a bookstore and yesterday I finally bought it. It's a raw account (true) of a 23-year old alcoholic and crack addict in a 6-week rehab stint. He wakes up on a plane, not knowing where he is or how he got there or where he's going. He's missing his front 4 teeth, has a broken nose and a hole in his cheek (eew). That's how the story opens. It's pretty raw not sugar-coated at all. But I'm enjoying it. I'll let you guys know as I progress...

Wednesday, December 21, 2005

Bless Ikea

I've been bored today. After reading, I went to the gym, went to Starbucks, went to Target, did some Tae-bo at home, watched a movie, and spent way too much time on the internet (damn eBay). I am beginning to get bored. I don't think I could ever be a housewife. Part of me is not looking forward to the months of June and August (but July is fine since I'll be bored in either NYC or Washington, DC).

I then realized, however, that I have a small shelf/drawer thing from Ikea that I have yet to finish putting together! I bought it almost a year ago and found it too annoying to put together. It's about the size of 4 shoe boxes, wodden, with nine little drawers. At the time of purchase, I didn't realize I'd have to put those nine little drawers together (although since the box was flat, you'd think I would've realized it). After putting together 6 of the drawers almost a year ago, I grew bored and frustrated. The nails kept bending, I'd get a splinter, and a drawer took me 20 minutes to put together because the slats would keep moving. So I put it aside, saying I'd finish it someday.

Today was the day. I was bored enough to pick it up. I've put together two more of the little drawers, with one left. Tomorrow, I'm going to Hobby Lobby to buy some paint and I will paint it. I bought two, so if I'm bored enough I might even put the other one together (it's not like I have anything else to do, really, and it's kind of a craft project). I was using my school textbook as a flat hard surface on which to hammer, and when I took a break, I flipped through to find "Julius Caesar." After perusing it, I got all sorts of ideas for my lesson plans, so I think I'll work on the Shakespeare lesson plans tomorrow. Vocabulary lists and essay assignments are dancing in my head.

I bought a movie on iControl today: "Hide and Seek" with Robert DeNiro and Dakota Fanning. Weird.

Other than that, nothing new. Still a little phlegmy, so I haven't been running, but I might go ahead and do 3 miles tomorrow. My sister is not doing the Houston Half with me anymore (but she'll do the Surfside half with me in March), so I do need to do some training and maintainence runs, since I won't be walking it. We're supposed to be doing 8/14 this weekend, and since I haven't run in almost two weeks, I guess I'll do the 8, even though I want to do the 14. Maybe I'll strive for the 14, and walk a bit towards the end if I need to. Yep, tomorrow afternoon I'm going running. I crave the miles.

Finished!

It's 9:22am. I've been awake since 5:45am, reading. I am done with the book, and it was great! I'm looking forward to seeing the movie this weekend.

Maybe now I can get something productive done, like eating breakfast and going to the gym.

Oh, and I'm in a better mood this morning. Sometimes I get melancholy. Such is life.

Tuesday, December 20, 2005

Sensitivity

As I watch my dogs, I am reminded on how funny humans really are. No other species get their feelings hurt. No other species beat themselves up over mistakes, or have the desire to hurt themselves in order to get attention. No other animal commits suicide. No other animals overanalyze what's going on with the people/creatures around them. Why are humans so sensitive to people and the things around them (and no, I'm not thinking about suicide, I'm just trying to make a point)?

I allowed someone to hurt my feelings today, although that person doesn't realize it. Sometimes I'm too cowardly to stand up for myself, although I use the word "cowardly" only because I don't know how else to describe it. Sometimes I find it easier to just keep my mouth shut instead of making my point. Sometimes I'm so afraid of the other person's reactions, that I stay silent instead of trying to get what I want. Sometimes I think I won't get what I want anyway, so why bother. I, for the most part, ignore disparaging remarks about me, or I blow them off. A couple of people, however, have the ability to strike me down with a single facial gesture, or a single word (or lack thereof). I know I shouldn't let those people get to me, that I should probably just distance myself from them because I don't need those attitudes around me. But then I have to go back to previous remarks and turn them into questions. Why do humans allow other humans to make them feel bad about themselves? Why did I let someone else get me upset?

On another note, I've written 4 pages of my script, wrote 4 pages of notes today and then ignored my writing as I went to Barnes and Noble/Bookstop and bought a new book - "Memoirs of a Geisha." I've been wanting to read it for years, and now since the movie is coming out on Friday, what better reason to read it now? I bought it 10 hours ago and have been reading, off and on, for the past 10 hours (except for a nap). It's great. I hope to finish it tomorrow.

Monday, December 19, 2005

Only 27, Feeling 40

(FYI, after I took the ladder out of the cage last night, Kate stopped crabbing. Who knew that she would've been terrified out of her mind by a wooden ladder.)

Last night I went to the only non-family Christmas party I'll probably go to this year (which is fine with me). I felt very much out of place. I knew the hostess, of course, and maybe 2 other people well and a handful of others not so well. It was a Starbucks Christmas party and I was the only one in the room with a steady job that requires a degree. I felt old. I did not participate in the drinking games. I did not participate in the keg stand. I ate, chatted with the few I did know, but mostly just kept my mouth shut because most of the conversation was Starbucks-related gossip and complaints. I got extremely lost getting there and since it took me so long to reach my destination, I decided to stay for a while, but I was bored and felt out of place. Here's another example of a life I've left and don't want to go back to - Starbucks. I was so happy I didn't work there! I was so happy I couldn't contribute to the conversation. I was proud that I have a stable job, that I wore nice clothes, that I look normal (some Starbucks people are very eccentric). I was also bored, so I was out of there by 11:30pm.

Today, in between workouts, I plan to work on my screenplay. I'm tempted to go to the Museum of Natural Science, but I think I'll go next week. Nope, so today I will delve into 18th century France, ancient Greece and 1980s England through my reading and writing. No television, just me and words and maybe a Sarah Brightman CD playing in the background. Day 3 of my vacation has started.

Tales from the Cage

I was bragging about my funny little sugar gliders this evening, and damn it if Kate is making me regret the compliments. I come home from the Christmas party and as soon as I walk into my room I flip on my lights, thus freezing the actions of the nocturnal sugar gliders. I promise them I'll turn the lights off in a second. Hero hangs on the side of the cage, as usual, and patiently waits for me to turn off the lights. Kate, as usual, darts into her sleeping pouch and but begins to make the "crabbing" sound - an irritating sounds that sugar gliders makes when they're scared (it sounds like an electric pencil sharpener). Having no idea what she's scared of, I go over there to pet the pouch and she quietens down (Hero is nowhere near Kate). 10 minutes later, I'm sitting in the dark and she is still making the sound. I'm not sure, but I think she's making the sound at a new toy in her cage - a large bird ladder that is hanging near the pouch. Who knew that my glider would be afraid of wood. I hope she stops soon, though, because I need sleep and the sound is very loud and irritating (Andy, Christine and April - you've heard it).

More about the Christmas party tomorrow, but I have to say this: I delved into a life I already left, and the grass is greener on my side now.

Sunday, December 18, 2005

Any Day Now

I am really getting tired of being sick. I haven't had a fever since Thursday, but this phlegm is irritating. No matter how much of it is still in my body tomorrow, I'm going to the freakin' gym. This is getting ridiculous.

Well, finals are over, grades are put in and my classroom is clean. Today is day two of my vacation and I haven't done anything productive. Oh, wait. I did. I read "Of Mice and Men," which I'm teaching in April. That is one of the shortest books I've read and and took me all of 3 hours to read. I think I'm going to work with it for only 4 weeks, tops. Maybe I can squeeze it into three weeks because of how short and how quick of a read it is.

I went to the movies yesterday and saw "King Kong." I highly recommend it. I went in not very enthusiastic, but I loved it. The guy sitting two seats over almost had me in his lap, though, when the characters landed in the Ravine of Gigantic Bugs. My distaste for insects grew as big as those bugs were. Shudder.

Nothing else of interest has happened recently. I've been talking to a very nice gentleman and we might go out this week, but as I'm picky... we'll see.

The kitchen is starting to resemble a kitchen again. We have tile! And new cabinets! Now if we only had a stove...

Tonight: Christmas party with ex-coworkers. Tomorrow... I am going to work on my screenplay (the one I haven't touched in 8 months and was working on almost two years ago... how sad). I still believe in the idea and my writing and I am going to finish the fucker this holiday season! I've already written over 60 pages of it (I think), so I'm halfway through. I just need to focus. I want to submit it to the slew of writing contests that open in the spring. Maybe I'll win and someone will buy it. Wouldn't that be wonderful?

Thursday, December 15, 2005

Panicking... stressing...

For those who don't know me, I can get stressed out easily.

I'm stressing. Since I've been sick all this week (but no fever today, just chest phlegm), I haven't been grading the finals as I should've. Now that I'm feeling better, though, I'm trying to catch up. The problem with having the flu during finals week is that there's a time limit on when grades are due. My final grades are due, as well as my 6-weeks grades, by noon tomorrow. I still have 20 finals left (which means 20 essays and 60 open-ended response questions). I wanted to be 100% done by tonight so that I could spend the entire day cleaning and organizing my classroom. Due to the damn virus, I'll be lucky if I get half the day tomorrow to organize and clean. ARGHH!!!!! I'm going to be staying late tomorrow night.

Things I want to get accomplished during my winter break...

1) Write lesson plans for at least 2 six-weeks in advance for each of my classes (complete with quizzes, project assignments and tests written... this will save me time in the long run).

2) Re-organize my bedroom/study.

3) Get a manicure and pedicure and other chick spa activities.

4) Finish "The Odyssey."

5) Re-read "Julius Caesar"

6) Re-read "Of Mice and Men." Hmm. "The Odyssey might not get done, since it's a lower priority.

7) Write at least 10 pages of my screenplay.

I want to do more, but I'll just focus on those so that I'll feel more accomplished once those are done.

One more day......

Wednesday, December 14, 2005

I Jinxed Myself

I was so excited yesterday. I felt good enough to get online and go through my horrendously full e-mailbox. I even replied to some well-wishers that I was feeling better and my temperature had dropped below 100 for the first time in three days.

By last night, my temperature was 98.9, with only my chest congestions and nasal congestion bothering me.

This morning, I awoke with a fever again. 100.7. When will this end? I want to feel normal again!! I have to grade finals!!


Argh.

Sunday, December 11, 2005

Fever in the Morning, Fever in the Afternoon

I am sick.

Last night, as I went to the theatre to watch Lonnie performing in Company OnStage's production of "The Fantasticks," I started to get a tingle of a sore throat. Upon waking up this morning, I discovered a full-blown sore throat and the hint of chest congestion (painful breathing). Yet, stupidly, I still met Andrea for our sometimes-weekly half-marathon training. We ended up walking it because the cold weather made me feel worse. I wanted to go 9 miles, we went 3. As we walk, a migraine-type headache starts to build and by the time we're done (and we're in the middle of our post-walk treat at Starbucks), I hurt so bad I want to cry. I come home, coughing up stubborn phlegm and go to bed. Sounds hurt. Light hurts. Ugh...

I slept for 20 minutes, afterwhich I took my temperature. Yea. 100.4 degrees. Woo-hoo. I eat a bit, and then watch a large amount of television, praying that the exedrin will work quickly. 3 hours later, I still feel crappy, although my head hurts a tad less. Now, however, my joints are starting to hurt. I hope to god this isn't the flu. I just took my temperature again - 100.6. It's supposed to go DOWN, not UP.

I have a final exam tomorrow. I haven't studied. My head hurts too much. In fact, my head pounds as I type this, but I must inform the world (whine) about my malady. Maybe I'll feel like studying in an hour. Without taking the final, I have a 69, so I don't need to do very well on it to pass the class with a "c," which is all I want to do.

"The Fantasticks" was wonderful, as was dear Lonnie (it closes next weekend, so go see it if you can!). He and I went to dinner afterwards to gossip - we haven't chatted in a while. We talked about our relationships - or lack thereof - and laughed a lot. His uncouth ex-boyfriend (the one that smashed his heart) had the audacity to show up at the production last night - with his new boyfriend (the one he acquired two weeks after dumping Lonnie so harshly), so we enjoying ragging on the fact that he must've gained about 20 pounds and is still an immature twit.

I picked up my script last night while I was there - it's great. I loved the last show I did there, but this one is oh so much better! And my part is great! She and her husband (Lonnie) fight a lot - both verbally and physically - and she is sarcastic (like me). It's a farce, so it's actually very amusing. I am looking forward to doing this show. March can't come fast enough!

Time for more medicine....

Saturday, December 10, 2005

A Year in Reflection

2005 is about to end. I'm not too sure how I feel about that. Are there things I didn't get done, things that I wanted to do? Sure. Did I accomplish any of my 2005 goals? Of course. Did I have a good year overall? Yes, I have to say I did. This year started off in a state of depression, which was very gradual in lifting, but lift it did. In fact, the reason for the depression nearly reversed itself in March.

Let's look at this year in a list...

1) Marathons completed: 2. I am extremely proud of this, since on December 31 of last year one of my New Years' resolution was just to finish a 5k (the marathon desire came after I finished the 5k in January)

2) Major cities traveled to: 3. I went to San Diego (marathon), New York City, and Washington DC (marathon). This year I traveled to California and New York for the first time, which just tickles me. I had a great time in both places and each time came home with a self-esteem boost. Plus, I saw the Pacific Ocean and BROADWAY!!!

3) Screenplays finished: 0. This was a disappointment, but I'm not going to dwell on it. Never mind that I've been working on the same script for two years, but I've had a busy year with...

4) Career changes: 1. I am finally teaching high school, which I've been talking about doing for about 3 years now. I'm taking the "sink or swim" route, which means getting my certification while I'm teaching and taking lots of classes and taking exams, but it's worth it.

5) Relationships: 3. Ones that survived longer than 2 months? 0. I am ok with this. I enjoyed my time with them, but they're not what I want. What can I say? I guess I'm picky.

6) Cooking classes taken: 0. Yes, this was a goal that never happened. Sigh. Maybe I'll try again next year.

7) Pounds lost: 0. Pounds gained: 13. At times this bothers me (especially when I look at the clothes I was wearing last year or on the occasional night of loneliness), but people tell me they can't see it (and they in fact tell me I look like I've lost weight - I guess my eyesight isn't the only one failing). Plus, despite the weight gain, I've finished two marathons and have planned 3 half-marathons, and 3 10ks before April 1.

8) Theatre castings: 0. Auditions: 0. I didn't have the time: I've been taking night classes since February.

Overall, I am pleased with my year. I was in a down state about a month ago (I get melancholy when I PMS, I hate to say) and I ran into a guy I used to work with. I haven't seen him in about a year, so I told him what I've been doing. As I was telling him, I began to perk up because I really have done a lot this year!

New Years is only three weeks away. I don't celebrate New Year's. I'm not superstitious, but I've realized that when I celebrate New Year's I have a crappy year, but when I don't I have a great year. This theory has been going on for nigh on 7 years. For example, three years ago I went out to a club for New Year's. That year I had tonsillitis, a bad relationship, I worked under an evil boss and I accomplished nothing of importance. Two years ago, my then-boyfriend took me out to a nice dinner and we went to a party afterwards. That year we broke up in January (which was a good thing, actually), I had the worst work-related year I've ever had and my heart was squashed almost beyond repair in the fall. Last New Year's Eve I worked, and I had a fantastic year.

So what will I do on New Year's Eve this year? I'm not sure. Maybe watch a video and do my nails. I will tell you one thing, however: I will be in bed long before midnight.

Tuesday, December 06, 2005

Am I A Diva?

Yes, I was cast!!!!!!!! Yippee!!!!!!!!!! And, to make things better, Lonnie was also cast - as my husband (which my mother calls ironic, seeing that he's gay).

I am cast in the spring production of "How the Other Half Loves" at Company Onstage (more to come as the show gets closer). They cast for many shows at once, so mine doesn't actually run until May. Rehearsals begin in March. The dates look great, except I'll be missing part of my 10-year high school reunion - it's the weekend before we close. Luckily the planning committee is planning on a weekend full of activities, so I'll get to go to those, plus I can go to whatever is happening after the show (we'll be done by 10-10:30pm).

I am frustrated. I don't even know where to begin. I am in a bad temper. I told the director of the show that his phone call was the highlight of my day, which was true. The rest of the day was just off and I feel slightly like a ticking time bomb. I'll explain more later.

Monday, December 05, 2005

Auditions, round I and II

Well, I auditioned last night and tonight. I wasn't too pleased with my auditioning - and there were a lot of women auditioning for only 3 parts, so we'll see. I also don't want to make a big deal of it... just in case. But Lonnie was there (we were cast in a show together last year) and he auditioned he made the comment that he hopes we're husband-wife on stage, together again. Yeah, that would be fun. The dressing room would be awash with him and I singing show tunes.

Yesterday Yvonne and I went bridesmaid-dress shopping. I am her last single friend, and since we're best friends, she has decided that I need to get married (so that we can be soccer moms together). She asked me who I was bringing to her wedding. I told her I don't know - I haven't even picked out my shoes yet, let alone a date. Hell, it's 7 months away! She asked me who I've gone out with recently (by the way, the date two weeks ago was nice, but no spark existed... but I got a free meal out of it). No one. She is growing frustrated, so I decided to tease her and tell her that I might not ever get married. She didn't like that at all. It's funny to see her facial expression go from contentment, to shock, to horror. :)

School was difficult today. I got behind really fast on my grading, especially since late work is still coming in and my 9th graders turned in these intricate projects. I also found out this afternoon that I have to have my finals turned in on Thursday am for inspection. I guess it's good because I won't be doing it at the last minute. It's bad because I have to do it tomorrow and Wednesday. I guess I'll be bringing my laptop to work tomorrow to do it during my off period. Ho, hum.

Sunday, December 04, 2005

Raindrops

My room is encased with a velvety silence, with only the sound of rain dropping onto the room permeating the air. The night has fallen and the creatures that dwell in this house are, for the most part, asleep (save the sugar gliders who anxiously await the lights to go out in my room so that they can frolic without fear of blindness).

I discovered yet another perk to marathon running: a free three issue subscription to my favorite magazine, "Runner's World." Since I was going to purchase it tomorrow, I was happy to find it in the mail pile from yesterday.

Running: none. I went to sleep last night with pain shooting down my quadriceps. I felt fine today, but had no time (3 hours of grading, 5 hours of bridal shopping with Yvonne and 3 hours of auditions, plus travel time to and fro those destinations). And since auditions went later than expected, I'm not waking at 4:30am to go to the gym tomorrow.

The second round of auditions are tomorrow night. Give me a few days and I'll announce news when I receive it (good or bad). I get cast: yippee! I don't get cast: I'll just plan more half-marathons.

Oh, and after trying on bridesmaid dresses, I have finally found another good reason (besides running another marathon) to drop weight (at least the 20 I've gained since my lightest in February 2003). Plus, her wedding is one week after my high school reunion, so it's inevitable.

Now, to bed. I'm slightly grumpy. 2 more weeks until Christmas break!!

Saturday, December 03, 2005

With a Thousand Sweet Kisses

I just came back from seeing "Rent"! It was *fabulous*! I cried so many times and just loved it! Since I've seen the stage production and have the cast recording memorized, I knew immediately what they left out (which were minor lines), but overall it was great. I loved how the director kept things dark and solemn and how the set was depressing (since the subject matter is depressing) and the company numbers were exciting. I could go on and on... but I'll spare you. I will say that when Jesse L. Martin sang, "I'll Cover You" towards the end, my make-up was running down my face.

I went running today. I went a bit over 14 miles (it might've been closer to 15, but I'm not too sure). Overall, I felt good. Here's the stats...

Distance: 14.5

Time: 3:30 (I forgot to stop my watch on the bathroom break and the water stop breaks)

Nutrition: Poor

Hydration: Poor

Boredom level: surprisingly low

Pain level: My right Achilles tendon (of course) was tightening up at mile 12, so I walked a mile. My knees started to ache towards the end. Now I'm just stiff (and was groaning when I went down 4 flights of stairs at the movie theatre)

Dead animals: None

Weather: Sucked. Humid, humid, humid

People I knew (besides running buddies): 2 - a teacher from my school and a college buddy

I'm going to take a nap now. Then I need to grade some papers (I must be productive for at least two hours tonight).

Tomorrow: theatre auditions!

Friday, December 02, 2005

TGIF

Here's some things I'm thankful for...

1) It's Friday
2) I have two weeks until winter holidays (two weeks off)
3) My patience and silence drive made people insane (as in, they blame and rant and I keep my mouth shut until they realize how stupid they sound and their voices trail off)
4) One of my more annoying students moved and thus transferred out of my school
5) Tomorrow is a long run (but it might be rough because the only day I've run this week is Tuesday, due to class and fatigue)
6) Matinee movies (I'm going to see Rent tomorrow!)
7) Text messages from friends

And more...

But #1 is most important right now.