I went 12 miles today (I gave up at mile 12, that is). After 2 miles, I could sense the roughness. I have got to learn to get some sleep the night before long runs - I can't function on 6 hours and then run at 6am. Also, I've been doing afternoon jogging, so I've had breakfast prior to jogging. I didn't eat before I left, felt my blood sugar hit my toes after mile 2. I ate a chocolate outrage gu and felt better - not good enough to all 14 miles, but good enough to not stop at 8 with the other half-marathoners.
Now I'm home, showered, read, etc. My mom and I exchanged Christmas presents early - I have a new toy. I have a digital camera now, which tickles me. I still love my "real" cameras, but I like the insant appeal of the digital. Very few pictures of me exist, and lately the ones that are being taken of me are when I'm sweaty and red-faced at mile 4 or 13 or 26.2, and those aren't particularly flattering. Now I can take a quick digital photo and either print it out on this nifty machine we have or I can upload it to my computer. I'm excited. I'm going to take pictures of me as soon as I put make-up on!
Tonight, Mom and I go to my cousin's house. I don't see myself eating, for the main course is white chili. I don't do white chili (mainly because I don't do beans). Luckily, I have a chicken I'm defrosting for back-up. I just have to have the appearance of eating, otherwise I'll hear "Why aren't you eating?" I could use the excuse of the upcoming race.
But tomorrow is brunch and mimosas... mmm....
No comments:
Post a Comment