I am sick.
Last night, as I went to the theatre to watch Lonnie performing in Company OnStage's production of "The Fantasticks," I started to get a tingle of a sore throat. Upon waking up this morning, I discovered a full-blown sore throat and the hint of chest congestion (painful breathing). Yet, stupidly, I still met Andrea for our sometimes-weekly half-marathon training. We ended up walking it because the cold weather made me feel worse. I wanted to go 9 miles, we went 3. As we walk, a migraine-type headache starts to build and by the time we're done (and we're in the middle of our post-walk treat at Starbucks), I hurt so bad I want to cry. I come home, coughing up stubborn phlegm and go to bed. Sounds hurt. Light hurts. Ugh...
I slept for 20 minutes, afterwhich I took my temperature. Yea. 100.4 degrees. Woo-hoo. I eat a bit, and then watch a large amount of television, praying that the exedrin will work quickly. 3 hours later, I still feel crappy, although my head hurts a tad less. Now, however, my joints are starting to hurt. I hope to god this isn't the flu. I just took my temperature again - 100.6. It's supposed to go DOWN, not UP.
I have a final exam tomorrow. I haven't studied. My head hurts too much. In fact, my head pounds as I type this, but I must inform the world (whine) about my malady. Maybe I'll feel like studying in an hour. Without taking the final, I have a 69, so I don't need to do very well on it to pass the class with a "c," which is all I want to do.
"The Fantasticks" was wonderful, as was dear Lonnie (it closes next weekend, so go see it if you can!). He and I went to dinner afterwards to gossip - we haven't chatted in a while. We talked about our relationships - or lack thereof - and laughed a lot. His uncouth ex-boyfriend (the one that smashed his heart) had the audacity to show up at the production last night - with his new boyfriend (the one he acquired two weeks after dumping Lonnie so harshly), so we enjoying ragging on the fact that he must've gained about 20 pounds and is still an immature twit.
I picked up my script last night while I was there - it's great. I loved the last show I did there, but this one is oh so much better! And my part is great! She and her husband (Lonnie) fight a lot - both verbally and physically - and she is sarcastic (like me). It's a farce, so it's actually very amusing. I am looking forward to doing this show. March can't come fast enough!
Time for more medicine....
1 comment:
I hope you are feeling better! And that you do okay on your test!
Post a Comment