Wednesday, December 21, 2005

Bless Ikea

I've been bored today. After reading, I went to the gym, went to Starbucks, went to Target, did some Tae-bo at home, watched a movie, and spent way too much time on the internet (damn eBay). I am beginning to get bored. I don't think I could ever be a housewife. Part of me is not looking forward to the months of June and August (but July is fine since I'll be bored in either NYC or Washington, DC).

I then realized, however, that I have a small shelf/drawer thing from Ikea that I have yet to finish putting together! I bought it almost a year ago and found it too annoying to put together. It's about the size of 4 shoe boxes, wodden, with nine little drawers. At the time of purchase, I didn't realize I'd have to put those nine little drawers together (although since the box was flat, you'd think I would've realized it). After putting together 6 of the drawers almost a year ago, I grew bored and frustrated. The nails kept bending, I'd get a splinter, and a drawer took me 20 minutes to put together because the slats would keep moving. So I put it aside, saying I'd finish it someday.

Today was the day. I was bored enough to pick it up. I've put together two more of the little drawers, with one left. Tomorrow, I'm going to Hobby Lobby to buy some paint and I will paint it. I bought two, so if I'm bored enough I might even put the other one together (it's not like I have anything else to do, really, and it's kind of a craft project). I was using my school textbook as a flat hard surface on which to hammer, and when I took a break, I flipped through to find "Julius Caesar." After perusing it, I got all sorts of ideas for my lesson plans, so I think I'll work on the Shakespeare lesson plans tomorrow. Vocabulary lists and essay assignments are dancing in my head.

I bought a movie on iControl today: "Hide and Seek" with Robert DeNiro and Dakota Fanning. Weird.

Other than that, nothing new. Still a little phlegmy, so I haven't been running, but I might go ahead and do 3 miles tomorrow. My sister is not doing the Houston Half with me anymore (but she'll do the Surfside half with me in March), so I do need to do some training and maintainence runs, since I won't be walking it. We're supposed to be doing 8/14 this weekend, and since I haven't run in almost two weeks, I guess I'll do the 8, even though I want to do the 14. Maybe I'll strive for the 14, and walk a bit towards the end if I need to. Yep, tomorrow afternoon I'm going running. I crave the miles.

1 comment:

Erin said...

Well poop! Who am I gonna walk the 1/2 with now? I'll see you Saturday. I'm gonna at least do 8, too. We'll see how I feel & who knows, I may end up doing 14.