Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Time Trial #2

Tonight was time trial number 2. The first one was 6 weeks ago and I managed to finish the mile in 11:24.

Tonight, since the temperature is MUCH higher than it was 6 weeks ago, I was just hoping to stay even, and I'd even allow myself no guilt if it pushed up to 12 minutes.

I finished in 10:17! That was my fastest mile ever! Never mind the fact that there is NO WAY I could sustain that pace for longer than a mile. Never mind that I could barely breathe when I finished. Never mind that I was completely anaerobic.

The point is, I did a 10:17 mile in 92 degree heat, with 3 nasty hills. Imagine what I can do on a flat surface in 55 degrees! I could probably do close to the same without all the heavy breathing. Maybe. We'll see.

Cheers!

Tuesday, June 27, 2006

Less of a Spud

Evidence that I'm growing into a couch potato: I've discovered "Little House on the Prairie" reruns on the Hallmark channel. God, I hate to admit it, but I watched two back-to-back episodes.

Almost Fall

Wow, the weather this morning was fantastic. The temp was in the upper 60s and there was NO humidity. I even wore my running pants (which I prefer) instead of my shorts.

June and I were going to tackle 4 miles together, and then I was going to do an extra 4. Since our runs have been getting slower (due to talking, we realized), we decided to aim for consistent 12 minute miles. We averaged 12 minute miles.

Mile 1 - 11:15! Woo-hoo! Although up until the .5 mile mark, we were on a 10 min/mile pace and she had to slow me down (I'm sometimes horrible with pacing myself) and there were no walk breaks.

Mile 2 - 13 and some change (not bad, considering we walked 5 minutes of that 14)

Mile 3 - 12:16

Mile 4 - A bit over 13, but it was our cool down mile.

My last 4 miles averaged out at 13:15 min/mile because I was getting tired and lazy, but the weather was wonderful! Tomorrow is supposed to be even cooler; to bad I told one of my TNT mentees that I'd meet him at 6:30am for coffee. But tomorrow evening is the second time trial, so I need to save my legs for that.

Time to nap!

Cheers!

Monday, June 26, 2006

A Run, A Hop, a Twist

I was productive today!!!

Amongst other activities, I went to the gym. As much as I dislike the treadmill, it's a good reminder. For example, I was able to churn out an 11:30 mile on the treadmill, which I can't do in this heat and humidity. It's nice to know that I'm not getting slower overall.

After the mile, I hit the elliptical machine for 45 minutes. I noticed my left knee was slightly twinging after I got off, but I ignored it.

At Kenyan Nights tonight, however, amongst the grueling hill work, my knee started twinging a little deeper, as though I twisted it.

Tomorrow I'm aiming for 8 miles, so I'm taking it easy tonight. I'm not entirely stupid; I will stop if it hurts tomorrow. Let's just hope it's a one-day twinge.

I had something funny to relate, but damned if I've forgotten what it is. Argh. Oh, well. I'll remember in the middle of the night, shout out like a freak and then fall back asleep.

Cheers!

Saturday, June 24, 2006

40 Years Later

Tonight, I went with my mom to her 40th high school reunion. She didn't want to go alone (and my father is dead), so I was her date. I knew two people there, besides my mom; her friend Gayle and my freshman/senior English teacher from high school.

It was an interesting evening. Here's some tidbits:

1) The food. I pretty much went for the food, as well as Mom's support team, and I wasn't disappointed. Roast beef, pasta, a potato martini bar (the potato was served in a martini glass and we added our own toppings) and a chocolate fountain with various fruits, marshmallows and pretzels. Yummmmm....

2) Seeing my old English teacher. She still teaches at my high school and said she'd put in a good word for me. I asked her to wait a year, but then I might consider it. I'd like to teach at my alma mater, but I wouldn't be guaranteed a classroom; the school is quite overpopulated.

3) Me. Now, on a normal day (not in my running gear, of course), I'm pretty damn cute. When I dress up - I'm just beautiful (I'm not conceited, and it's taken me a long time to acknowledge that I'm beautiful). So I went and wore this great black-and-white print strapless dress (what I wore to the theatre last Saturday). At first, I was the youngest girl there and I started getting hit on by my mom's 58 year old classmates! The first one made a beeline to me and stuck out his hand. He said he's younger than the rest of the guys here and he's escorting his sister tonight. Trust me, he wasn't THAT much younger. He told me I'm beautiful and just had to come over and meet me. Then he stopped talking and just kept staring. Luckily, I managed to push him off to talk to the woman next to us while I made a hasty escape, saying I needed to find my mom. A couple more times, I had some of mom's classmates (male) coming up to me and hitting on me. Sigh. I had to keep walking to avoid dirty older men.

4)Someone woman. I can't remember who she is - I think she was one the reunion committee. Anyway, she decided that, as a welcome, she'd make it a comedy routine. It was, however, NOT funny. In fact, it was rather inappropriate. Let's just say she talked too much about erectile disfunction and vaginal dryness. Many-a-times, glances at my table were exchanged and shocked expressions formed throughout the room.

5)Another random woman. Mom, Gayle and I spent a few minutes trying to figure out if this other woman/girl was someone's daughter or girlfriend. We think daughter, but we couldn't imagine her father would let her out of the house with what she had on. She had on a dress that Jennifer Lopez would wear, but this girl was about 20 pounds overweight and the dress was white and so skintight that NOTHING was left to the imagination. She was like a train wreck - we all just had to stare.

Finally, it was time to go. Overall, it wasn't a bad evening. But now I'm home and I'm thinking tomorrow is a gym day because I'm taking a run break tomorrow. I don't want to wake up in 5 hours to go running 3 miles. Maybe I'll hit the treadmill.

Cheers!

1...more...mile...ugh.

I'm trying to not be hard on myself, but I'm having a difficult time. I remember when I could easily run 13-14 miles. Today, I struggled with 9.5. That's it. I am going to get back up to my easy 13-14 mile runs. Next Saturday will be an 11 mile run. I'm going to start earlier, use GUs and get plenty of rest. I will get back up to my comfortable miles, despite this heady blanket of humidity that has been covering the city. I'm not really in any major pain (just usual aches), but this heat just makes me miserable!

I planned on getting to the park at 5-5:15 to get in 3-4 miles before June showed up, that way I'd be done with my longer run when she's done with her shorter run. Perhaps if I paid attention and set my alarm for 4:15AM instead of 4:15PM, I would've gotten there on time. Nope. I woke up at 5:25am and jumped out of bed, cursing up a storm. I made a quick protein shake, brushed my teeth, dressed, filled up my fuel belt (I need a new one) and ran out by 5:35, making it just in time meet her. But that means I have to do an extra lap +1 mile AFTER she and I finish. Blech.

June and I ran the first 6.4 miles together, I was alone the last bit. Mile 1 was a fast mile - we just ran that one straight out to warm up. It was a nice 11:45 mile. Then we started doing intervals and took it slowly. Nothing exceptional. Our paces were way out of whack - some 13 minutes, some 14:30 minutes. We kept telling ourselves that in this temperature, and our relative newness to running, that distance counted more than speed, so we just jogged (although I was shuffling by my last 2 miles).

When we get back to the park, Sean Wade passes us up - and he's flying. We part ways and I continue to go another lap around the park by myself. Sean passes me up two more times. Sigh. He's going 2-3 laps in less time than it takes me to finish 1.

Now, 9.5 miles later, I'm home. I haven't consumed anything but water since 5:30am, so I'm going to have a bowl of cereal.

Cheers!

Friday, June 23, 2006

Running and Bees... but Not Running From Bees

I went for a lovely 6 mile jog this morning. Actually, it was a 1 mile run, 5 mile jog. I decided to go balls out for the first mile to see how fast I could go (without dying) in this heat. I made it in 10:45! I was happy. And then panting, so I walked for two minutes to calm down my heartrate and then I jogged. I was going to stop at 3, decided to go to 4, and then decided to just finish that second lap with 6. Tomorrow is my long run, 10 miles, and if I go again on Sunday, I'll have an ok mileage count this week.

I used to HATE running with other people. In the beginning, I felt that I needed to concentrate, so running with other people would just frustrate me because I couldn't pay attention. As of late, however, I've discovered the pleasures of running with other people. (1) They keep you entertained/occupied and (2) Sometimes they'll keep you from going lazy.

Usually, I run with June. I have lately, however, made a new running buddy. This is the same guy who I met a couple of months ago on my long run around the Rice area - he's the 60-year old man who was training for Boston (and who kept me at a good pace for a couple of miles when I was irritated with my Garmin and wanted to give up). Well, we "ran" into each other (pardon the pun)two weeks ago and we caught up. He did indeed finish Boston, and I told him about Nashville. I saw him again today, and he slowed down and ran with me the last two miles. His wife is about my speed, so I think he's going to introduce us so that we may run together also. It's nice to find running buddies.

After the run (and a shower and food), I went to my school to talk to my department chair about my curriculum for the upcoming year. By the way, I really have to get cracking on that soon so that I won't be working overtime during the school year.

Anyway, I was wandering around my school, looking for a computer to use (since the library was closed). I decided to go up to my classroom (which is in a small wing with about 8 classrooms). Approaching the landing, I see a small trail of dead bees that gets thicker with each step. I remember there was a huge beehive outside of my classroom window at the end of the year, but I thought it was taken care of. I guess not. As I got to the landing of the stairs, I see hundreds of dead bees on the floor, the steps, the window sills, etc. As I continue to go up the stairs, the trail of dead bees continues. It continues all the way down the hall, there are dead bees in the lighting fixtures in the ceiling, dead bees hanging from the ceiling. All told, I must've seen about a thousand dead bees. It felt like a scene from a really bad horror movie - "The Bees!" I joked with my teacher neighbor and he said that yesterday they were flying around the hallways. Damn! I shudder to think about it. I'd've spent the entire day in my classroom with a towel under the door.

So, that's the latest buzz from my school.

:) Sorry, I had to put that pun in there.

Cheers!

E

Thursday, June 22, 2006

Fahrenheit 73

The degree in which the shredder was working in my house Tuesday.

It was a pleasure to shred...

All literature allusions aside (hee hee... and consance)... I spent the majority of Tuesday organizing and shredding.

Let me preface anything else by saying that this is the second time I've typed this entry... blogger freaked out of me and didn't publish the first one, due to some technical difficulty, thus erasing my entry. So as you read this rather long entry, remember to summon up a bit of sympathy for my wrists and fingers.

So, I was convinced to buy this book called, "Getting Things Done," which contains pretty interesting strategies on getting organized. I'm a packrat and not the most organized person (I have organized messes), so I decided to give it a try. I had to first, however, organize and clean my office. That meant I had to pull out my filing system and update it. I haven't updated it in 2 years. I had old files, and lots and lots of random piles of mail and papers spread ALL over my bedroom and office. Sigh. I had to clean all that stuff out first.

I spent 3 hours going through papers, files and using the shredder. Amongst things I found...

1) Phone bills and electric bills from my last apartment in Baton Rouge... I moved out of there in July 2002.

2) Taxes from the past 10 years. How many years are we supposed to keep them?

3) Car repair receipts from a car I got rid of three years ago.

4) Starbucks management stuff... I haven't been a manager in almost two years.

5) Bank statements from the past 10 years.

6) Painful memories - photos, papers (including the lie-filled "bomb" dropped by my evil ex-district manager at Starbucks), highlighted cell-phone bills, ticket stubs, letters, etc. ALL OF THAT WENT IN THE SHREDDER

So I cleaned out my old files, re-used folders and created new ones. I now have an HISD section, a section for my current car, a race section (now I have a place to put bibs and finisher's certificates and registration forms), a section for my TRF, updates on banks, stocks, health insurance (since I got a new one a year ago). The only thing I haven't thrown away are my medical bills from a surgery I had three years ago. Can't I throw that away?

My next action step is to clean out my office, which has, as of late, been resembling a landfill, filled with teacher shit. Tomorrow afternoon, I plan on boxing stuff I can take to my classroom (and storing that in the garage) and packing up stuff I won't need for the next few months, since I'm moving out soon. I vow that my office will be used as an office instead of landing site for random stuff.

Oh, and I have been running. I realize that my posts have been less running-oriented, but y'all will just have to suck it up and get over it.

I did Kenyan Nights last night and came to the following realization: Hills, I can do. Sprinting, I can do. Sprinting up hills... I cannot do. In fact, I was happy just to be climbing those steep motherf****rs without pulling a hamstring or killing my Achilles tendon. My warm-up mile was an 11:30 mile, which made me happy. Our next speed trial is next Wednesday, and I'm hoping for anywhere between an 11:30-12:00 (it's getting hotter, so I'm allowing some leeway). Although if it's below my previous 11:24, I'll be a very happy bunny!

Tomorrow: 6 miles around Rice, a meeting with my department chair, a trip to the gym and the organizing of my office.

Cheers!

Tuesday, June 20, 2006

Home Again, Home Again

Sorry for not posting in a while; I just got back from my wonderful weekend in Baton Rouge.

Here's the weekend in a nutshell:

Friday: Left for BR, drove almost entirely in the rain. Arrived at Andy's in the early afternoon, where he awaited me in a very clean apartment. We went out to lunch (drink number 1), drove around, took a nap, went out to dinner/Sushi, came home, watched DVDs and went to sleep.

Saturday: Woke up, ate bagels, he worked in his office while I went to the mall (and then locking my keys in my car), waited outside while AAA took almost 2 hours to get there, calmed my anxieties down with a manicure/pedicure, went back to the apartment, went out to lunch (drink number 2) Andy told me he wanted to do something really nice for me, so he got us tickets to go see a play that both of us had been wanting to see for a while! So we dressed up (we both clean up very well) and went off to the theatre. Before the show started, he took me to a lovely rooftop restaurant/bar in Baton Rouge - Tsunami. We got drinks (drink number 3) and he took me onto the roof terrace, where I my mouth just dropped - that was the best view of Baton Rouge I have ever seen. Truly, it was a wonderful evening. After the play ("Goin' to Jackson" by Jamie Wax), we went to a bar with his friends (drink numbers 4 and 5)

Sunday: Woke up, I worked on my screenplay while he did more school stuff, then we went to Lafayette to his brother's place for Father's Day (drink numbers 6 and 7). We had a very good talk on the way back to Baton Rouge, and when we got back he did more work stuff while I was a bum on the couch. Went to bed.

Monday: I was supposed to leave, but before I could I get a phone call from my mom and sister - Houston is flooded and it is not advisable to come home. Geez. I was packed, in my car, we said our goodbyes... but I stayed another day. I managed to get in 7 miles (2 running, 5 walking because my dumbass went at noon and it was sunny and I'm burnt to slight crisp on my shoulders). Met up with Andy after work and I worked on my screenplay that evening.

Tuesday: Left BR at 6:30am, arrived home at 10:45. I didn't stop, and I did get into some funky weather, but I'm safe and sound.

I had a great time with one of my favorite people. I don't get to spend a great deal of time with him (not as much as I'd like to), so I try to enjoy what we have when we have it, since one can never tell the future.

But, now I'm back home and back to reality. My mail and my laundry pile reminds me of that.

Cheers!

Wednesday, June 14, 2006

Wowza!

I feel awesome! I feel so wonderful that I can't put it into words.

I had a fabulous run this evening with Kenyan Nights. My warm-up mile was a 12-minute mile and the rest was just as good! We did relays, where we partnered up with someone of an equal pace. One of us did one half of a large circle, the other did the other half when we got to a certain spot. It took me less than a minute to do each of my parts (which is approximately 1/10 of a mile and I did 10 of them total). I was my own speed demon and I felt so good about myself when I was done! My endorphins were running, I was happy, my smile was large. It was a good evening.

Tomorrow is my long run day. I'm off to BR this weekend, so I don't know if I'll get a long run in (since I'll be at the mercy of Andy) so I'm going to take advantage of tomorrow to get in 10 miles. And if I get another long run in this weekend, that's good enough for me! I won't get near the mileage this week (I'm allowing a bit of healing), but next weekend I plan on doing 35.

Bring it on!

Cheers!

Tales from the DPS

First of all, for those who read my blog only for my running updates, I'm sorry I haven't been talking about running as much. I'm still out there, but it's nothing interesting and my speed is decreasing due to the heat - so frankly, I'm lucky I'm out there at all.

Monday: I only did the Kenyan Way. Sean decided to attempt to kill us Monday, for we had to run up the steepest hill I've ever seen - it's on Memorial and Waugh, right where those huge pink flowery trees are - we had to run up and down, up and down. It's a hill I would normally avoid even walking up. But no, we had to run up it. Needless to say, most of us refused to do anymore running after we went up the hill - we walked the long way down and around and ran only up the hill. On the positive side, I did manage to run an 11:25 minute mile warm-up, which is the fastest I've gone since the heat index has risen to "deadly."

Tuesday: 3 in the morning, 4 in the evening, both around Rice. Both were slightly miserable. Fastest mile was in the evening, mile 2, which was 12:30. And then it just went downhill.

Today: Only Kenyan. I'll talk more about that later.

Today, I actually had things to do. The most important thing was to get my driver's license renewed. It doesn't expire until next month, but I'll be in NY over my birthday and need to be able to board the plane back to Houston (and I doubt they'd let me do that with an expired license). So, I went to the DPS, luckily having the foresight to bring a book with me.

I get there, and, after avoiding a petition tent in the parking lot ("Hey, ma'am, would you like to join the petition of Women Against Bush" I was asked. I had to admit that I voted for Bush was quite surprised nothing was thrown at me) I went inside. The line is obscenely long and filled with a bunch of people who don't speak a word of English. But I stand in it. And when I get to the front, I notice a sign saying that the only methods of payment they'll accept is cash, check, and money order - no credit/debit cards. Damnmit, that's all I had with me. So yes, I had to leave. I went home (not too far away), grabbed my checkbook and went back. When I got back, the line was even longer. Much longer - out the door long. Damn.

So I waited my turn (30 minutes later, I get to the front). The guy behind me was standing too close for my comfort (he was invading my bubble) and I could feel his breath on my arm. I kept trying to gain some inches between us, but he was oblivious to my discomfort and continued to get as close to me as he could - I guess to avoid any line-cutting by others. But he kept breathing on me! Yuck! And I noticed that everyone was close to each other. Man, I hope noone had a contagious disease, otherwise we'll all get sick soon.

Finally, I get a number and proceed to wait another 30 minutes for my number to be called. And I noticed that all of the numbers were being called in English AND Spanish. I don't know about many of you, but I am not too thrilled with non-English speaking people getting drivers' licenses in America. Don't think me prejudiced, but I personally would not even THINK about getting a license in, say, France without learning French. If I can't read/translate the signs, I'd be freaked out!

Now that my number has been called, the most bothersome part of the trip comes straight to my face - the eye exam. I have forever been afraid of the eye exam because my left eye is underdeveloped (in terms of sight) and I don't want my driver's license to say that I must wear corrective lenses while driving. I guess I think of failing the eye exam as a sort of failure of me as a person. I am not ready to accept my failing eyesight. But I get up there and must admit (especially since my glasses are pushed back on top of my head to hold back my hair as a headband) that I need glasses for reading. She tells me to go ahead, sans glasses, and stick my face up to the eye screen and read the tiny numbers. Deep breath. Ok. There's the small line. Ok, I glance at it with both eyes for a second. Then I close my right eye. Hell, now I really can't see the line. I open both eyes and read the first third of the line. I'm not too confident. Then I close my left eye and read the rest of the line flawlessly. Well, I guess it was good enough because she said so and I didn't need to put on my glasses for a retest. Score! I'm good for another 4-6 years (I'll know when my license gets in the mail - in Texas our licenses are not given straight to us, they are mailed 2-3 weeks later).

Hell, I might just renew online next time. But my picture doesn't look a thing like me and I'm tired of people/bouncers/security showing skepticism when looking at my license and then at my face.

Cheers!

Monday, June 12, 2006

Another Monday



Yes, the wedding happened! It was a very interesting pre-ceremony time. Stress was high and she became something akin to Bridezilla, but everything turned out fine. Now I know how to make a pretty decent bridal bouquet. I didn't realize when I went to her house that morning that I was to make her bouquet, all of the bridesmaid's bouquets and the boutineers for the men. Her idea of ordering flowers for the wedding was ordering long stem roses, unarranged. I've never made wedding bouquets before, but they turned out wonderful!

I also learned that I will run at least 8 miles before any major event. If I didn't get up early to run that morning, I might not have had my wits about me. Poor Andy. He was the recipient of a stressed out phone conversation (from me) when I was running from the boat to my car to get something in 93 degree heat wearing a hot dress and high heels and sweat pouring down my face. But the picture above was taken after that, so I cleaned up well!

Saturday's run put me at 32.75 miles. Finally, I went over 30 miles! Saturday's events, however, left me too tired to run yesterday and in fact I slept in today also. But I'm going to run tonight with Kenyan Way and I'm going to put in about 11-12 miles tomorrow, I hope (split into an evening and morning run).

Today is/was another unproductive day. I can be totally unproductive for only another week - then I have to be productive. I have to finish "Crime and Punishment" and re-read "1984" and make up vocabulary lists and quizzes. I also have to get started on "A Tale of Two Cities." And I need to find the list of books my freshmen will read. I can only remember "1984" and "Oliver Twist." I know there's a third or fourth book in the mix, but I can't remember. Funny, I can remember all of the ones for my sophomores.

So, besides the novels, I need to work on grammar exercises, writing exercises, and and short story selections for my 10th graders.

So I will enjoy the unproductivity of the next week. Then, after next week, I will spend about 3-4 hours a day working on school work and a big portion of reading those novels.

Cheers!

Sunday, June 11, 2006

What We Do...

that you don't see...

Have you ever wondered about what happens backstage during a theatre perfomance? Well, let me tell you...

1) We talk about you. Yep, we judge the audience and say you're either "great" or "terrible." If it's a comedy and you laugh at the funny bits, you're great. If you look like you need an electric shock, you're terrible. Also, we curse you if you put your feet on the stage, if your phone starts ringing (and you don't turn it off) and we talk about who's in the first few rows (since that's all we can see, due to the lights in our eyes).

2) Stripping/streaking. There is usually a half-naked person running around backstage. Sometimes it's for a reason, sometimes it's not. When an actor gets offstage, he/she will often be pulling clothes off while running around for a quick costume change. We actors become less modest as we do more shows. Seriously, we'll just about change in front of anyone.

3) Dancing. If there's music onstage, there's actors dancing backstage. It's how we cope with the slightly boredom that sometimes occurs when we have a long time of not being onstage. And often it's the same dance to the same music, night after night. And oftentimes the dances are straight out of the 70s and 80s. Occasionally you'll see a tango.

4) Video games. Yep, sometimes there will be fierce competition with hand-held video devices. Name-calling goes with that.

5) Eating. I don't know why, but there's usually an overabundance of chocolate and sugar-infested foods in the dressing rooms. Probably to keep us on our toes and hyper.

6) Cursing. Yep, someone's usually cursing at someone... or something. Especially if a frantic search for a prop or a costume is in occurrence.

7) Actors doing situps and pushups. Another way to beat boredom.

8) The singing of showtunes. Especially "Rent." Who knows why.

9) Lonnie and I played "guess the noise" one night with the odd sounds we heard from the audience.

10) Practical jokes. Example, punching holes into a sandwich so that there's a smiley face on the bread. And then putting green olives in the eye holes. And giving it to an actor onstage.

Cheers!

Saturday, June 10, 2006

Theatre is Like Life...

...even with its imperfections.

The show closed this evening, and I would like to reflect the humerous mistakes that occurred in this show...

1) One night, as Lonnie sat down, his zipper popped.

2) A random screw was left onstage. I didn't see it. I kicked it and it flew downstage and rolled, loudly.

3) There is a nail on the side of one of the flats/walls. Yesterday, my nightgown got caught in it as I was walking onstage. I nearly took down the wall AND lost my clothing.

4) In the dark, Renata bumped into a coffee table and the coffee went flying, soaking the floor.

5) I didn't hear the "places" being called. I missed my first entrance tonight because I was in the bathroom. There was, apparently, quite a long pause.

6) Sometimes, we completely miss a page and confuse the hell out of ourselves.

7) Sometimes it's our turn to say a line and we have no idea that is it because we get brain farts while onstage. A pause usually follows.

8) Sometimes our stage manager changes up our drinks without telling us. Once I sipped from a coffee cup expecting water. It was tea. Not that it was bad, but it was a shock.

9) Sometimes bodily sounds accidentally occur.

10) Sometimes we abuse ourselves. Case in point: I was waving a ladle around onstage and got carried away. The ladle ended up smacking me on the face, resulting in a swollen cheekbone. Ouch.

11) I was supposed to throw a pot of soup upstage onto another character. Somehow, the soup landed downstage and even hit an audience member. Oops.

Hmm. A lot of these mistakes happened with me. I guess I'm accident prone.

Tomorrow's blog: things that happen backstage that the audience is unaware of!

Cheers!

Friday, June 09, 2006

You'd Think I'd Update

Seeing that I have so much time, you think I'd update. I was reminded of not updating by SOMEONE (wink) yesterday, so I must oblige!

Today's random quote of the day: "I may call you a tramp, but it's all in good fun." There is an explanation to this quote, but it's funnier without.

Wednesday's events:
Ran 3 miles in the morning, 1 on the treadmill (plus 35 minutes on the elliptical machine and upper body weights), 1 at Kenyan Nights. I left Kenyan Nights early because I was having a bad reaction to some accidental caffeine (I ordered decaf, but that's not what I received!). Nothing of great importance occurred Wednesday.

Thursday's events:
Ran 5.5 miles yesterday (although the Garmin read 7... but I know my route... my Garmin's been acting weird lately). Went to the gym, hit the elliptical machine for 30 minutes and hit the lower body weights.

I had a humerous moment yesterday. Since the wedding is tomorrow, I need a full-length strapless bra to go with the halter dress. So I went to a lingerie store to accomplish the said goal. The sales lady walked right in with me in the dressing room! And stayed! She was a little old lady, so there was nothing harassing about it, but it just took me by surprise. I think that if I would've asked her to leave, she would've laughed at me for being modest. But full-length strapless bras have about 20 hooks on the back, and since I'm not a contortionist, I allowed her to stay in to help me close it.

Came home, tried the bra on with the dress (this time, I had no assistance with the bra... it took me about 5 frustrating minutes to put the fucker on and I think I might have dislocated my shoulder in the process). Damn it! The dress has a far more plunging neckline than the bra does. So I have to go back to the store today (with the dress) and hopefully find a bra that works.

My unproductiveness is starting to bother me. I look around at the things I could've done this week: wash my car, finish my book, work on my screenplay. What have I been doing?

Wake up early.
Go run.
Come home and eat breakfast.
Take a nap.
Wake up.
Either read or watch tv or play the piano.
Work out.
Eat lunch.
Take a nap.
Either read of watch tv or play the piano.
Eat dinner.
Watch tv.

Seriously, I have never been this unproductive in my life. Usually I'd be stressed out and bored, but surprisingly I'm not. I think I'm making up for lost relaxation time.

Unfortunately today I actually have things to do. I didn't go running this morning (I stayed out late, and then stayed up enjoying a mostly one-sided phone conversation - I was too tired to contribute, so I just lsitened). I have to go by the ACP office, find a bra, meet an out-of-town friend for lunch, get last-minute things for the wedding and then I have my play tonight. I hope to go to the gym sometime today, but since I've worked out for 5 days in a row, I'm not going to beat myself up if I don't.

Oh, and I am actually going to hit 30 miles this week! I've already gone 25.5 and I'm hopefully going 6 tomorrow morning and at least 6 Sunday evening.

Next week, I'm aiming for the same. My legs have been really tired, so hopefully I'll get them used to the heavy mileage. My knee is thanking me for not running today as well.

Has anyone seen the temperatures for next week? Tuesday's high is supposed to be 98. It's 81 in DC, 65 in Boston. God, I hope those temps stay like that when I go to NYC next month.

Cheers!

Tuesday, June 06, 2006

Same Shit, Different Day

Another wonderfully un-productive day!

Here's what I've done:

1) Woke up at 5:15am, completed an 8 mile jog. My legs were still extremely tired from yesterday, so let's just call this a "mental" run - I was hurting, just tired, and had to mentally challenge myself to finish. At mile 2, I decided to stop at 3. I kept going, and at mile 4 I decided to stop at 6. At 6, I knew I'd feel guilty if I stopped so I just went on to 8.

2) Took a shower. Actually, I took a shower and then soaked my overworked legs in the tub for a while.

3) Went to school. I erred in my grading and I had to fix something.

4) Went to the movies. Saw "The Omen." It was ok, but it was a LOT like the original. They added a few things to modernize it, but every twist was the same.

5) My sister called and bailed on the Astros game. Damn. I called about 10 people and noone could go, and since I'm not going to go by myself, I'm just going to sit at home tonight. These were the free tickets, so it's not like I'm losing money. I need more friends, though... some who like Astros games.

5) I went to Starbucks. This is an interesting story, so let me get out of the list-making for it.

I like to go to Starbucks to read the paper and books. I have a few that I go to (mainly the ones I used to work at since I know the people). Well, since the Bride has told me to get rid of my running singlet tan line (since I'm wearing a halter dress on Saturday), I decided to go to the huge 24-hour Starbucks (the one I was an assistant manager at) because they have a large outside area that always sees sunshine. So I donned a pair of jeans, some cute brown espadrilles and a fuschia baby-doll top (as in, empire waist and thin shoulder straps). Oh, quick background: while I worked there, I was hit on my many greasy men, many of them from the Middle East (I've been told my bright green eyes and smile turn them on).

That said, I pulled into Starbucks and got out. I immediately saw a red Mustang convertible. Normally that wouldn't garner my attention, but this one had an advertisement on the door; it was a picture of a well-built, but shirtless, man with the words "Body by ______, Personal Trainer." I saw ______ get out of this car and almost started laughing; he reminded me so much of the greasy, slick men who flirted with me. Shaking my head, I walked inside. I ordered my drink, with him behind me and I could see him stealing a glance at my book. I also noticed that he gave his order to the person at the bar and walked immediately over to the bar (thus not paying). I walked to the bar after paying for my drink and newspaper. I was skimming the paper, chatting with the barista, and noticing this guy looking at me. Damn. When my drink was handed to me, I walked over to the condiment bar and proceeded to put milk in my Americano and ______ introduced himself to me and said, "You have the most beautiful smile, but I'm sure you're told that all the time." I looked at him, smiled and said, "Yes, I am" and I went back to fixing my drink. Then he said, "Do you come here often?" I almost started laughing and I said, "Yes" and started to walk away. He followed me and tried to get me to talk, and actually sat down at my table with me! I should've told him to leave me alone, but I didn't have anything else to do, really, and frankly I'm intimidated by those who I don't trust (and I didn't trust him - he had long, greasy black hair, bad teeth and was wearing a workout outfit that was designed to show off his muscular body). So we talked, but I tried to be very negative. I told him I hated clubs and bars and loud music and smoky places (assuming he was a club-goer, as many of these guys are). I hated stupid comedies. I don't like the beach. I like to sit at home and read. And dammit, he agreed with me! Then he started complimenting my shirt, my earrings, my purse. He actually looked down at my feet and said, "Pedicured. Very nice." I tell you, he gave me the creeps. So I finally stood up and said I had to go. He asked for my number, and since I'm crap at lying on the spot sometimes, I agreed - but I was smart enough to give him a bad number.

Now I can't go into that Starbucks for a long time, because who knows if he'll be there. Grumble, grumble.

Now I'm home. I'm hungry and tired so I think I'll eat dinner and be a couch potato.

Cheers!

Monday, June 05, 2006

Productive... no. Relaxing... yes

Here's all that I've accomplished today...

1) Morning run - 5 miles. Ran 3 around my usual, and then took to the streets for the last two. Average 12:45 minute miles, and mile 2 was a 10:33 minute mile! Woo-hoo!

2) Did two loads of laundry.

3) Actually folded the laundry (noticed I haven't said, "Put it away"... hey, I need something to do tomorrow!)

4) Tidied up my room (not perfectly... again, I need something to do tomorrow)

5) Cleaned out my chest-of-drawers, and threw away old t-shirts to fit in the new race t-shirts.

6) Watched "Star Wars: Episode III"

7) Took a nap.

8) Watched the first half of "Skulls" - too bad I had to leave for Kenyan Nights, I was just getting into it. I hope it comes on tv again.

9) Evening run/speed workout with Kenyan Nights. Finally, I got to watch Sean run. Damn. AND he was running up and down hills with us. And he's very fast and graceful (the exact opposite of me!). Ran a total of 2 miles, 15 of that was going up and down, up and down, up and down hills. I'm guessing my glutes and quads are going to hurt like a motherf****r tomorrow.

Will I do anything productive tomorrow? Maybe, maybe not. It depends on how bored I get. Actually, don't count on it because, in addition to a hoped-for 8 mile run in the morning and 90 minute gym workout in the afternoon, I plan on going to the movies (for "The Omen" remake) and the Astros game tomorrow. I will set aside at least an hour tomorrow to read "Crime and Punishment," which will be my one productive act for the day.

Cheers!

Recap: 7 miles today.

Sunday, June 04, 2006

"Finishing the Hat"

Notice that it's 10:50am and I'm awake. Not only am I awake, but I've already spent almost 2 hours at the gym. One reason I don't stay out late is that my body refuses to let me sleep later than 7:30. I hope to take a nap sometime today. I'm still tired, but not sleepy.

Ok, let's talk about the big 10-year day.

The first event was a school tour. Now, being a teacher, I've actually been to my old school for training many times this year. I didn't go to see the school, I went to look at those who showed up.

Allow me to rewind. Let me give you some background. In high school, I knew everyone and most everyone knew me, but I wasn't one of the cool kids (aka "preps" or "kickers"). I was fat, and a theatre and debate geek. Many of those I went to high school, I also went to elementary school and middle school with them. After graduation, I kept in touch with a handful of people (the Bride one of them, and a few people I talk to a couple times a year). I wanted to go the reunion festivities just to see how people turned out. And to show myself off (to be honest).

With the play, there was doubt I'd make it to the party, since I wouldn't get out of the theatre until 10:30pm. So I went to the school tour.

Only about 10 people showed up. Most of them were recognizable at the start. Those who I've seen recognized me, others didn't. But it wasn't a big deal. None of those who showed up were in my group of friends - the cool kids showed up. But I had a pleasant enough time and decided to try to go to the party. If for nothing else, to get out of the house!

I raced from the theatre to the Houston Club and surprisingly, there were many people still there. It was so good to see many of them. Most I looked at out of curiousity's sake. Many who I didn't think would remember me, did. And so many were aghast when they looked at me! One guy (who was cute, but got a lot cuter... and married) just couldn't get over me. One of my friends, Betsy, took great pleasure taking me around and going, "Guess who this is" to people (referring to me). I had a drink, spent a great deal of time on the dance floor and had a good time. I'm more outgoing now than I was in high school, so I went straight up to people and just started chatting.

Despite having a good time, I was still amused to see that the same cliques were there. They were still "preps", just older with more paunch and a spouse. Some people just haven't changed. God, some haven't changed. Damn, some people gained weight. Betsy and I were the ones who shrunk. Oh, and those girls who I thought were pretty in high school haven't changed... but I realize they're not really pretty, they're just average (and some downright plain). It's funny how in high school, the geeks idolize the popular kids, only to realize later they're nothing special. They're just the same as you are.

The Bride didn't go, but one of my other best friends from high school was there and she actually was part of the "cool kids" group, but felt out of place now. So she and I danced and went around and hung around together. We also crashed the after-party, which was amusing. The married couples sat outside and talked, the single ones danced and drank loudly in the house. I felt odd at the party; I went just to watch. I never went to the cool kids party in high school. And I didn't miss much.

So, what did I get out of my high school reunion? Plenty.

1) An opportunity to go out, have a beer, socialize and dance. I haven't had that good of a time out since that night in Manhattan. I needed to have fun, and I did.

2) An ego-booster. I'm really hard on myself, and being 15 pounds heavier than I was two years ago (hell, just being 25 pounds heavier than I was 3 years ago) has been really hard for me. I've been hosting my own pity party for a while, moping and hating how I look. But these folks didn't know I've gained 15 pounds. They remember me when I was 80 pounds heavier. To them, I looked wonderful. And it's nice to be reminded of that. Sometimes I forget what I've done, and what I'm capable of doing.

3) The comfort of knowing that not everyone became successful. My high school was ritzy and is one of the best public high schools in my city, and is very well known for having some of the most intelligent students in the city. While a couple were doctors, there was an architect, two PhD candidates, someone starting his own video production company, there was one who, when asked what he does know, said he preffered to answer such questions as, "What do you like to do?" Two guys, who were stoner friends in high school, are still stoners together... but just in another city (NY). Some worked in retail, like I did. But I was surprised that, really, no one talked about what they were doing. Or maybe they all did that before I go there, since I got there so late.

4) The comfort of knowing I'm not the only socially challenged. Again, most of the cool girls were still single. That felt good. And one of the guys is already divorced (although it's my personal guess that he drank and drugged himself out of that marriage).

5) A chance to catch up with two good friends, one I haven't seen in a couple months, one I haven't seen in YEARS.

6) A chance to wear my sexy bronze stillettos. Oh, were my toes curling by the end, but I looked great!

So, I'm glad I went. Who knows what will happen in the next 10 years and what stories I'll tell from my 20th.

I think I'm going to take a nap.

3am

It's 3am. I think the last time I stayed out this late was that night in Manhattan (ah... memories). I just got home from my 10-year high school reunion.

Yes, I looked fabulous (especially with all my stage make-up on).
Yes, I was the most improved. I had so many shocked faces looking at me.
Yes, I got huge ego boosts tonight.
Yes, I needed it.
Yes, I drank.
No, I was not drunk. Although I was tipsy.
No, I did not "hook up" with anyone.
Yes, many of the cute high school boys grew up to be very attractive men.
Yes, some of the girls gained weight.
Yes, I relished how some people haven't aged well.
No, I did not feel guilt about that.
Yes, I am so exhausted I can barely type.

God, I hope to sleep until noon.

Friday, June 02, 2006

Affronted

I felt affronted this evening.

Background: One of my friends (who shall remain nameless, in the off chance he reads my blog... which I don't think he does, but one never knows) sent me an IM the other day. I haven't spoken to him in about 2.5 months. It was a nice message, how are you kind of message and informing me that he has a new IM name. Ok. (By the way, I sent him an IM the other day asking if he wanted to go to an Astros game with my since I had the extra ticket from the 5k). When I got this new message, I replied that things were well and by the way, I haven't heard a reply from you about the game. He said he couldn't go. He sent me another IM today asking how my day was, how running was going, acting, etc. I replied that it was fine (I didn't have enough time to expand on that). During intermission, I sent him a text message asking if he was having a quiet night at work (he's a police officer who works nights). He replied that he doesn't work Thursdays and Fridays anymore and he was spending time with his girlfriend. This was new information; he didn't have a girlfriend the last time I talked to him (not that it matters to me, anyway). He also asked what I was doing. I replied, saying I was at the theatre and it's intermission.

The next message I get was this: "This is _____'s girlfriend. Back off."

Woah. Not only do we not know who the other person is, but I guess she has no idea that I'm not a threat at all. Now I'm torn between replying with a snippy remark (because I don't take attacks lightly) or a questioning one (in case _____ saw the message). I simply replied, "Excuse me?" (Imagine irritated indignation)

The reply, "I'm sorry. She's jealous."

Ya think? So I replied, "Ok then. I'll just talk to you later."

The reply, "No need... she's just upset."

Point 1: She is psycho. Proof: she read his text messages probably when he wasn't looking. Also, she actually replied to one, not knowing the person.

Point 2: I'm not going to initiate any more conversations with him anymore, because I don't need a psycho girlfriend bothering me.

Point 3: This is probably why he has a new IM name. I'm guessing (and this is just a theory) that she saw something on his other name or she knows his passwords and read messages and has decided that I'm somehow a threat. Never mind that we haven't seen each other in almost three months. Never mind that we send an IM to each other maybe once every three weeks and that we haven't had a proper chat session in a long time. Never mind that I'm not a threat!

Geez. Men, and women, watch out. The psychos are reading your messages. Choose your partners wisely. Don't let crazy girlfriends/boyfriends drive away your friends.

Have a good evening!

Ode to Shoes

I love days when the toughest decision regards shoes. For example...

1) Which store?
2) Do I buy the fabulously sexy bronze stilettos, even though I'm here for strappy silver shoes for the wedding?
3) Ooh... found wonderful silver shoes... now do I also get the stilettos?
4) Hmm. Where will I put said shoes?

I love shoes. What woman doesn't? Once upon a time, I vowed to throw out a pair of shoes when purchased a new pair of shoes, that way the quantity would not rise. Upon bringing home these two pairs, however (yes, I did buy the sexy stilettos... and I'm wearing them tomorrow at my high school reunion gathering in the afternoon!), I realized that I need every pair I have. Thefore, I will just have to get a second shoe rack to accomodate the new shoes. Ooh. I can throw away two pairs of really old flip-flops. Does that count? :)

Either that or start placing them on a bookshelf. I've become smarter as I approach my thirties in that I now save the shoe boxes to protect the nicer shoes. But those boxes are so cumbersome.

And since I'm slowly turning around my wardrobe (in the Battle Against Frumpiness), I deem these new shoes necessary. Plus the silver ones can be used in many other situations as well.

Everyone's a winner!

Thursday, June 01, 2006

I am finding clever titles increasingly difficult to come by. Sometimes I have a wonderful, witty title. Other times, my imagination is not up to par and I am forced to display a rather dull, unimaginative title. Today is one of those days.

Ran 6 miles around Rice. Jogged slowly, I should say; the humidity prevented me from actually having a desire to go faster. Luckily June was there because (a) I would've gotten right back into bed after my alarm went off at 4:40am and (b) I had a witness to a rude police officer.

Now, I generally don't have problems with police officers. My brother-in-law is one, a good friend of mine is one, and I've gone on a couple of dates with some police officers. I have much respect for their profession as a whole. Well, this morning, as June and I were running in the dark around Rice, we saw a rather unexpected homeless person lying on the side of the trail actually on Rice's property. I generally don't have a problem with homeless people (please, don't preach to me), but I don't like to run past them - I feel very vulnerable. I told June that I'd mention it to a Rice officer if we saw one. Well, we saw one right outside their building on campus. He was outside on his cell phone. I approached the officer hesitantly, in a manner that showed I wished to speak with him, but by no means was I in danger or reporting an emergency. I stood slightly to the side of him, waiting for him to end his phone conversation (you know, the polite way). He watched me for a second, continued to talk, and finally turned his back to me.

I am not completely police officer stupid. I know how they're supposed to act when they have a uniform on. That was extremely unprofessional of him. Thankfully it wasn't an emergency (just a notification) and I was so offended that I just left. The homeless man was gone when we made our second lap, as was the police officer.

This is by no means a reflection upon police officers in general, or even Rice police, but this one particular police officer just gave his uniform and badge a bad name.

I got over it and went back to The Land that Fashion Forgot. Day two of the workshop and I looked very nice. I was dressed properly, did my hair, wore make-up and did not look frumpy.

Now I'm home and am planning on taking a wee nap, since I've been up since 4:30am.

Cheers!