Tuesday, June 06, 2006

Same Shit, Different Day

Another wonderfully un-productive day!

Here's what I've done:

1) Woke up at 5:15am, completed an 8 mile jog. My legs were still extremely tired from yesterday, so let's just call this a "mental" run - I was hurting, just tired, and had to mentally challenge myself to finish. At mile 2, I decided to stop at 3. I kept going, and at mile 4 I decided to stop at 6. At 6, I knew I'd feel guilty if I stopped so I just went on to 8.

2) Took a shower. Actually, I took a shower and then soaked my overworked legs in the tub for a while.

3) Went to school. I erred in my grading and I had to fix something.

4) Went to the movies. Saw "The Omen." It was ok, but it was a LOT like the original. They added a few things to modernize it, but every twist was the same.

5) My sister called and bailed on the Astros game. Damn. I called about 10 people and noone could go, and since I'm not going to go by myself, I'm just going to sit at home tonight. These were the free tickets, so it's not like I'm losing money. I need more friends, though... some who like Astros games.

5) I went to Starbucks. This is an interesting story, so let me get out of the list-making for it.

I like to go to Starbucks to read the paper and books. I have a few that I go to (mainly the ones I used to work at since I know the people). Well, since the Bride has told me to get rid of my running singlet tan line (since I'm wearing a halter dress on Saturday), I decided to go to the huge 24-hour Starbucks (the one I was an assistant manager at) because they have a large outside area that always sees sunshine. So I donned a pair of jeans, some cute brown espadrilles and a fuschia baby-doll top (as in, empire waist and thin shoulder straps). Oh, quick background: while I worked there, I was hit on my many greasy men, many of them from the Middle East (I've been told my bright green eyes and smile turn them on).

That said, I pulled into Starbucks and got out. I immediately saw a red Mustang convertible. Normally that wouldn't garner my attention, but this one had an advertisement on the door; it was a picture of a well-built, but shirtless, man with the words "Body by ______, Personal Trainer." I saw ______ get out of this car and almost started laughing; he reminded me so much of the greasy, slick men who flirted with me. Shaking my head, I walked inside. I ordered my drink, with him behind me and I could see him stealing a glance at my book. I also noticed that he gave his order to the person at the bar and walked immediately over to the bar (thus not paying). I walked to the bar after paying for my drink and newspaper. I was skimming the paper, chatting with the barista, and noticing this guy looking at me. Damn. When my drink was handed to me, I walked over to the condiment bar and proceeded to put milk in my Americano and ______ introduced himself to me and said, "You have the most beautiful smile, but I'm sure you're told that all the time." I looked at him, smiled and said, "Yes, I am" and I went back to fixing my drink. Then he said, "Do you come here often?" I almost started laughing and I said, "Yes" and started to walk away. He followed me and tried to get me to talk, and actually sat down at my table with me! I should've told him to leave me alone, but I didn't have anything else to do, really, and frankly I'm intimidated by those who I don't trust (and I didn't trust him - he had long, greasy black hair, bad teeth and was wearing a workout outfit that was designed to show off his muscular body). So we talked, but I tried to be very negative. I told him I hated clubs and bars and loud music and smoky places (assuming he was a club-goer, as many of these guys are). I hated stupid comedies. I don't like the beach. I like to sit at home and read. And dammit, he agreed with me! Then he started complimenting my shirt, my earrings, my purse. He actually looked down at my feet and said, "Pedicured. Very nice." I tell you, he gave me the creeps. So I finally stood up and said I had to go. He asked for my number, and since I'm crap at lying on the spot sometimes, I agreed - but I was smart enough to give him a bad number.

Now I can't go into that Starbucks for a long time, because who knows if he'll be there. Grumble, grumble.

Now I'm home. I'm hungry and tired so I think I'll eat dinner and be a couch potato.

Cheers!

No comments: