I am finding clever titles increasingly difficult to come by. Sometimes I have a wonderful, witty title. Other times, my imagination is not up to par and I am forced to display a rather dull, unimaginative title. Today is one of those days.
Ran 6 miles around Rice. Jogged slowly, I should say; the humidity prevented me from actually having a desire to go faster. Luckily June was there because (a) I would've gotten right back into bed after my alarm went off at 4:40am and (b) I had a witness to a rude police officer.
Now, I generally don't have problems with police officers. My brother-in-law is one, a good friend of mine is one, and I've gone on a couple of dates with some police officers. I have much respect for their profession as a whole. Well, this morning, as June and I were running in the dark around Rice, we saw a rather unexpected homeless person lying on the side of the trail actually on Rice's property. I generally don't have a problem with homeless people (please, don't preach to me), but I don't like to run past them - I feel very vulnerable. I told June that I'd mention it to a Rice officer if we saw one. Well, we saw one right outside their building on campus. He was outside on his cell phone. I approached the officer hesitantly, in a manner that showed I wished to speak with him, but by no means was I in danger or reporting an emergency. I stood slightly to the side of him, waiting for him to end his phone conversation (you know, the polite way). He watched me for a second, continued to talk, and finally turned his back to me.
I am not completely police officer stupid. I know how they're supposed to act when they have a uniform on. That was extremely unprofessional of him. Thankfully it wasn't an emergency (just a notification) and I was so offended that I just left. The homeless man was gone when we made our second lap, as was the police officer.
This is by no means a reflection upon police officers in general, or even Rice police, but this one particular police officer just gave his uniform and badge a bad name.
I got over it and went back to The Land that Fashion Forgot. Day two of the workshop and I looked very nice. I was dressed properly, did my hair, wore make-up and did not look frumpy.
Now I'm home and am planning on taking a wee nap, since I've been up since 4:30am.
Cheers!
No comments:
Post a Comment