I went for a lovely 6 mile jog this morning. Actually, it was a 1 mile run, 5 mile jog. I decided to go balls out for the first mile to see how fast I could go (without dying) in this heat. I made it in 10:45! I was happy. And then panting, so I walked for two minutes to calm down my heartrate and then I jogged. I was going to stop at 3, decided to go to 4, and then decided to just finish that second lap with 6. Tomorrow is my long run, 10 miles, and if I go again on Sunday, I'll have an ok mileage count this week.
I used to HATE running with other people. In the beginning, I felt that I needed to concentrate, so running with other people would just frustrate me because I couldn't pay attention. As of late, however, I've discovered the pleasures of running with other people. (1) They keep you entertained/occupied and (2) Sometimes they'll keep you from going lazy.
Usually, I run with June. I have lately, however, made a new running buddy. This is the same guy who I met a couple of months ago on my long run around the Rice area - he's the 60-year old man who was training for Boston (and who kept me at a good pace for a couple of miles when I was irritated with my Garmin and wanted to give up). Well, we "ran" into each other (pardon the pun)two weeks ago and we caught up. He did indeed finish Boston, and I told him about Nashville. I saw him again today, and he slowed down and ran with me the last two miles. His wife is about my speed, so I think he's going to introduce us so that we may run together also. It's nice to find running buddies.
After the run (and a shower and food), I went to my school to talk to my department chair about my curriculum for the upcoming year. By the way, I really have to get cracking on that soon so that I won't be working overtime during the school year.
Anyway, I was wandering around my school, looking for a computer to use (since the library was closed). I decided to go up to my classroom (which is in a small wing with about 8 classrooms). Approaching the landing, I see a small trail of dead bees that gets thicker with each step. I remember there was a huge beehive outside of my classroom window at the end of the year, but I thought it was taken care of. I guess not. As I got to the landing of the stairs, I see hundreds of dead bees on the floor, the steps, the window sills, etc. As I continue to go up the stairs, the trail of dead bees continues. It continues all the way down the hall, there are dead bees in the lighting fixtures in the ceiling, dead bees hanging from the ceiling. All told, I must've seen about a thousand dead bees. It felt like a scene from a really bad horror movie - "The Bees!" I joked with my teacher neighbor and he said that yesterday they were flying around the hallways. Damn! I shudder to think about it. I'd've spent the entire day in my classroom with a towel under the door.
So, that's the latest buzz from my school.
:) Sorry, I had to put that pun in there.
Cheers!
E
2 comments:
You should just let it bee! That's a terrible pun. You're in good company.
and i SO agree..running with someone else is great! running alone though sometimes is great too. at least for me it gives me time to completely recharge with all the silence.
Post a Comment