Friday, June 09, 2006

You'd Think I'd Update

Seeing that I have so much time, you think I'd update. I was reminded of not updating by SOMEONE (wink) yesterday, so I must oblige!

Today's random quote of the day: "I may call you a tramp, but it's all in good fun." There is an explanation to this quote, but it's funnier without.

Wednesday's events:
Ran 3 miles in the morning, 1 on the treadmill (plus 35 minutes on the elliptical machine and upper body weights), 1 at Kenyan Nights. I left Kenyan Nights early because I was having a bad reaction to some accidental caffeine (I ordered decaf, but that's not what I received!). Nothing of great importance occurred Wednesday.

Thursday's events:
Ran 5.5 miles yesterday (although the Garmin read 7... but I know my route... my Garmin's been acting weird lately). Went to the gym, hit the elliptical machine for 30 minutes and hit the lower body weights.

I had a humerous moment yesterday. Since the wedding is tomorrow, I need a full-length strapless bra to go with the halter dress. So I went to a lingerie store to accomplish the said goal. The sales lady walked right in with me in the dressing room! And stayed! She was a little old lady, so there was nothing harassing about it, but it just took me by surprise. I think that if I would've asked her to leave, she would've laughed at me for being modest. But full-length strapless bras have about 20 hooks on the back, and since I'm not a contortionist, I allowed her to stay in to help me close it.

Came home, tried the bra on with the dress (this time, I had no assistance with the bra... it took me about 5 frustrating minutes to put the fucker on and I think I might have dislocated my shoulder in the process). Damn it! The dress has a far more plunging neckline than the bra does. So I have to go back to the store today (with the dress) and hopefully find a bra that works.

My unproductiveness is starting to bother me. I look around at the things I could've done this week: wash my car, finish my book, work on my screenplay. What have I been doing?

Wake up early.
Go run.
Come home and eat breakfast.
Take a nap.
Wake up.
Either read or watch tv or play the piano.
Work out.
Eat lunch.
Take a nap.
Either read of watch tv or play the piano.
Eat dinner.
Watch tv.

Seriously, I have never been this unproductive in my life. Usually I'd be stressed out and bored, but surprisingly I'm not. I think I'm making up for lost relaxation time.

Unfortunately today I actually have things to do. I didn't go running this morning (I stayed out late, and then stayed up enjoying a mostly one-sided phone conversation - I was too tired to contribute, so I just lsitened). I have to go by the ACP office, find a bra, meet an out-of-town friend for lunch, get last-minute things for the wedding and then I have my play tonight. I hope to go to the gym sometime today, but since I've worked out for 5 days in a row, I'm not going to beat myself up if I don't.

Oh, and I am actually going to hit 30 miles this week! I've already gone 25.5 and I'm hopefully going 6 tomorrow morning and at least 6 Sunday evening.

Next week, I'm aiming for the same. My legs have been really tired, so hopefully I'll get them used to the heavy mileage. My knee is thanking me for not running today as well.

Has anyone seen the temperatures for next week? Tuesday's high is supposed to be 98. It's 81 in DC, 65 in Boston. God, I hope those temps stay like that when I go to NYC next month.

Cheers!

No comments: