Monday, January 30, 2006

The Glove Has Been Tossed

Damn. I have to finish "War and Peace" soon. Grumble. I was looking forward to spending time in France, not Russia. I cannot, however, be undone so I will be reading both at the same time. I'll keep "The Count of Monte Cristo" and home and "War and Peace" at school and in my car.

Grumble.

An Old Friend

I am going to bed with an old friend tonight. I've spent only a brief amount of time with him, but it was memorable. Those were the happiest 2.5 weeks of 2005. I couldn't get enough of him. He is dark, handsome, mysterious, romantic, tragic, worldly, brave, cunning and dashing. He told me stories of France, stories of an island, stories of Italy, stories of the Middle East. He told me how some jealous acquaintences betrayed him and he was sent to prison as an innocent man. When he escaped, he discovered a vast amount of money hidden, told to him by a dying priest. He purchased a new life with it, one of nobility and class. He returned to his home and took his revenge on those who plotted against him and toyed with the woman he once loved, but was now married to one of his betrayors. He played games with men of rank, men who ensured his "death." By the time he was done with them, they were a shadow of their former glory. His name is Edmond Dantes, but more commonly known as the Count of Monte Cristo.

Yes, I purchased my second copy of "The Count of Monte Cristo" and I plan on diving in as far as I can tonight (my first copy was loaned to an ex-coworker, so I doubt I'll see it again). I was so involved in the story that I was upset to finish it. I realized there wasn't really anything new I wanted to read, so I bought "The Count..." I will be happy again for the next few weeks.

And yes, it is the unabridged version.

(sigh of happiness)

I'm such a nerd.

Cheers!

Sunday, January 29, 2006

I graded papers for a total of 13 HOURS within the past two days. And I will be grading more essays this week. Here's another lesson for first-year English teachers - space out your essays. Don't give one per week, otherwise you will be grading a LOT.

After I graded, I tried to do some retail therapy. Sigh. The purse I wanted was $200 out of my price limit. Maybe once my taxes come in. Or maybe not. I want to go back to NYC and I can use the money for a plane ticket.

I finished (finally) the first book of 2006 - Pat Conroy's "Lords of Discipline." Conroy uses the English language like Mozart used his piano. The book is beautifully written with characters that are so developed they seem real. He tugs at your heart, pulls the rug beneath you several times and ends on a note that just exudes sadness and solitude, yet resolute and determination at the same time. This is not a book for the light-hearted, nor dim intellects.

I am not quite sure what my next book will be. I am re-reading "A Separate Peace" for my English class, and I want to re-read my favorite book - "The Count of Monte Cristo." Wait. I know. One of my New Year's resolutions is to finish "War and Peace." By George, I will complete that monstrosity of a book.

Bring it on!

Cheers. Time for bed.

Saturday, January 28, 2006

Second Thoughts...

Maybe I was wrong. I think the treadmill did me good.

I went running this morning. I didn't feel like waking up all that early for the Run the Woodlands 5k (sorry guys), but I decided to do 2 or 3 laps around Rice. I woke up, brushed my teeth, got dressed and left without eating breakfast or consuming anything but a bit of water.

Yesterday, by the way, due to stress and my inherent inability to deal with it in a healthy way, I ate crap. Pizza. M&Ms (don't judge, this was a bad week). A couple hot wings. My hydration wasn't that great either.

I wasn't expecting a good run at all. I expected a bad one, actually.

I got to Rice and started out really strong. Stronger than normal. Stronger than normal yet I felt good. After a while, I decided to change my outlook on the run. Usually my runs are leisurely, but I decided to make this one a workout run. After all, I kept a good pace on the treadmill and didn't die. So I ran. And ran. And ran. I thought a lot about that treadmill and my abilities on it.

Even with my walk breaks (4 minutes running to 1 minute walking), I finished my first lap in 37 minutes! I started slowing towards the end, so I figured I'd do it in 39. I was super ecstatic when I saw 37 minutes. I haven't done 37 minutes around Rice in almost a year!!!

After the first lap, I stopped to catch my breath. I pondered: should this next lap be a leisure lap or a workout lap? Well, hell, let's make it a workout lap! Since it's my second, I'll be ok with taking an extra minute or 2.

I started lap number 2. I felt strong (albeit a bit tired), but towards the end I was really tired. I started on my leisurely pace and then dwindled to a sub-leisurely pace. I was also hungry (and a Gu would've been great at that time), and I'm sure my blood sugar was nonexistant. As I approached the start, I refused to look at my time. I was thinking it was easly 39, maybe 40 (simply because of how slow I got towards the end).

Nope! Imagine my surprise when I saw 36:30!! Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I kicked ass on the second lap!! Imagine what my time would've been had I not gotten so tired in the last mile. I achieved negative splits and the 36:30 is the fastest lap I've done in a year.

I quit at that time. Why hurt myself before next Sunday?

So... here's my stats:

Distance: 5.8 miles.
Time: 1:13:37
Speed: 12.7/mph (just 2 months ago it was 14/mph)
Weather: eh. Not hot, not cold. Not as cool as I'd like but also not humid.
Hydration: Not that great. Maybe only 1 liter (at most) yesterday
Nutrition: Crap.
Boredom level: low
People I knew: none
Comments about my breasts: none
Joggers I passed: 1 (which almost never happens)

Yes, I will be using the treadmill at least once a week now. Maybe that can be my speed workout.


Total weight loss, by the way: same. 6 pounds. Sigh. This is another reason I'm going to start running harder.

Time to shower and start my grading (which will take longer than it takes me to run a full marathon).

Cheers!

Thursday, January 26, 2006

One more week

I feel as though my life is passing me by.

I am having a rough moment, and what better to do than to vent.

Work is stressing me out, what with the masses of essays I have to grade. Plus, I'm co-cordinating the Black History program (ironic) which include writing monologues, directing a scene, and getting ready for auditions tomorrow. I am two weeks behind on my observations (hopefully I'll get them done tomorrow) and my classroom is getting disorganized.

Also, it's Rodeo time and I still have to earn my badge and coordinate Kiwanis meetings (is anyone in a Houston Kiwanis club and would like a guest speaker from the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Speaker's Committee?? Let me know), and then I want to go to a bunch of the rodeo days.

My eating is borderline crap again, which sucks because I am getting anxious about gaining the weight back that I just lost and I don't want to continue eating like this but I have no time to properly cook, what with work. The half is next weekend and I want to feel as good as I did with Houston, so I'm going back on Phase 1 starting tomorrow (for a week) to clean the bad stuff out of my system.

I'm getting scared about the race because I haven't been running much in the past two weeks (which I know won't affect me a great deal, since I'm used to long runs, but I still worry). I want to run more, but work is getting in my way (that, and the weather).

I talked to Andy this evening, and he calmed me down (as usual, which is one of the reasons we are good friends - I get anxiety-filled and he's so laid back that he calms me down). I am *so* looking forward to hanging out with him in Baton Rouge next weekend. I need a weekend off and away.

Time to put my nose for the grindstone. No sleep for me tonight!

Cheers. :(

Wednesday, January 25, 2006

Adventures at the Gym

I wanted to go running after school because I haven't gone in almost a week and the New Orleans half is next weekend. Due to either weather or time, I couldn't go during daylight and since I refuse to run at night, I just didn't do anything. I tried to go to the gym twice but both times it was too busy. I vowed today to run.

I was held up at a meeting after work, not leaving school until 4:45, which was too late because darkness would fall before I finish my run. I went immediately home and decided to immediately go to the gym, instead of waiting until the after-dinner crowd fills the place up.

I hate the treadmill. Ooh, I hate it with a burning passion that no words can describe. I used to enjoy it, until I started running outside and now I find that the treadmill install a deep boredom that even great music can't dig me out of. Since I haven't been running, however, I decided to bite the bullet and brave the boredom.

I actually had a good run on the treadmill. Despite the boredom that usually arrives after 10 minutes, I survived. One thing (the only thing) I like about the treadmill is that I can go faster (even with an incline) and it makes me feel good. While on solid ground I can pull in a 13:25 minute mile, on a treadmill I can run a 10:45 minute mile. I kicked my own ass on the treadmill, probably as a punishment for not running. People at the gym tend to look at me odd when I'm there because I mouth the words to all the songs on my iPod shuffle, whereas everyone else doesn't (I like to have fun... sue me).

Running stats:
Time: 40 minutes
Distance: 3.23 miles
Incline: 2
Boredom level: not bad, actually. I was mouthing heavy songs, which amuses me.
People I knew: none
People going faster than me on their treadmill: only one (yippee!)

After the run, I contemplated going on the elliptical machine for an hour with my book. I saw instead an aerobics class about to start, so I joined in.

I am going to be in a lot of pain tomorrow. The first 25 minutes was some heavy ab work and the last hour was an advanced step class. Halfway through the step class I was asking myself, "Why the hell am I doing this?" Afterwards, I bowed out quietly and determined to give myself a good workout like this more often.

Upon walking out, I pass an extremely cocky, muscular jock-kind-of-guy (not my type at all) and we exchanged "hello"s as we passed each other. He then turned around and called to me, "Where are you from?" I thought, great. I look like crap and I am about to have some random stranger hit on me. I turned around and looked at him like he was crazy and said, "Houston." He came close (almost too close for my comfort) and said, "Really. You have a different look about you. My name's Marcus. Are you married?" "No," I replied. He raised his eyebrows and asked, "But you have a boyfriend, don't you." "Yes!" I replied rather quickly, hoping that would cease the conversation. He looked at me and said, "That's a shame 'cause you've got it goin' on." I then ended the conversation and sprinted to my car.

Was he insane? I was NOT attractive at that particular time (of course, I usually am but not after working out hard for two hours). My hair was dripping, my clothes were soaked and my dark eye make-up was pooled under my eyes.

But obviously I "had it goin' on."

Whatever. I have to shower now.

Cheers!

PS - Because I know many people are wondering, "Who is she dating?" No one in particular. I lie to men who creep me out. I'm a woman; I can do that kind of thing.

Tuesday, January 24, 2006

Daily Rant

My rant consists of several points.

1) The gym. I tried to go to the gym last night. Too crowded. Ok, I'll go at 5am the next day (I ended up resetting my alarm after waking up, so that didn't happen). Then I tried to go again tonight. Too crowded. Grumble. Now I have to wake up at 4:30am to go because obviously the evenings are too crowded, what with the New Years resolution folks.

2) Running. When I had time, it rained. Now that the weather is lovely, I have to stay late after school. Grumble. The half-marathon is next week, and I haven't run in almost a week. I have a meeting after school tomorrow that I'll have to abandon just to get at least 3 miles in this week. Oh, I hate the treadmill, so I won't use it.

3) My students. Some students (one in particular) try to employ mind-tricks on me. When did 14-year-olds lose respect for their teachers and decide that they think they're better.

4) But on a positive note, I still haven't touched a french fry or hamburger since 2005! I succumbed to chocolate today, but still haven't touched a Quarter Pounder with Cheese and a medium fry!

BTW, this book is damn good. Must continue to read now (since I can't go to the friggin' gym).

Cheers!

Monday, January 23, 2006

Call me Goofy

I've decided that I'm going to start seriously thinking about doing the Goofy challenge next year.

What kind of training does that require? I know I can finish a half (done it before, am doing it again next weekend) and I know I can finish a full (done it twice in the past year). But can I do them one day after the other? I don't know. Maybe if I walk the half and then run the full.

Anyone silly enough to train with me, or just train me, for it?

Still 24 more pounds to go before I start training for a full.

E

A sequel I want nothing to do with

Hmm. I might get sick soon. Today my throat was a bit sore (a hint, but enough to get me slightly perplexed). Then I talked to a friend of mine who I spent some time with Saturday night. My friend has the flu.

If I get the flu again (or another strain), I will be an extremely unhappy camper. I have places to go, people to see, races to run, classes to teach.

Work's been kinda stressful these past few days and today was only a little less. I only had to call an administrator to my room once today (instead of the 4 times Friday). And my sophomores turned in their compositions today, so I have plenty of grading to do this week. Plus, I was chosen to help with the Black History program (ironically) so we have auditions this week and rehearsals starting next week. PLUS I still need to finish re-reading the novel I'm teaching.

Plus, I'm reading a novel for fun, although I've started taking it to the gym with me to read while on the elliptical machine. The novel for January is "Lords of Discipline" by Pat Conroy. I'm enjoying it immensely.

I haven't run since Thursday. I didn't do a long run this week. I have to stay after school tomorrow, Wednesday and I have a Rodeo meeting on Thursday, auditions on Friday. When will I run again? Who knows. I might be running in the dark this week. Yuck. Next week, I won't stay after school so that I can get some last-minute mantenance (sp) runs before the New Orleans half.

I am so looking forward to my trip to Louisiana! It's a mini-break, Friday-Monday and a guarantee good time (due to wonderful company with whom I will be spending time with).

But now, I must grade compositions about how my students know when a teenager is becoming an adult.

According to many of the things they've written, I'm still not an adult. I'm not married. I don't have kids. I don't support anyone. But I'm ok with that. I still feel young and look young but have the smarts, experience and wisdom that a college student doesn't.

Cheers!

Sunday, January 22, 2006

Insomnia, Part II

Again, I slept horribly last night. I didn't put my head to a pillow until 2, kept waking up every hour miserable, got up at 6, drove around, checked e-mail, went back to sleep, woke up at 10. I should've slept great, but it just didn't happen.

Total weight loss for month: 6 pounds.
Total weight loss for 2005: 6 pounds.
Pounds left to lose until I'll allow myself to train for another marathon: 24.

Running done: none. I'd like to go this afternoon, but it's raining and I don't run in the rain. I guess I'll just have to go to the gym.

Life is good right now. No complaints. Well, no major complaints anyways.

Cheers!

Saturday, January 21, 2006

Look at the Time

Yes, it's 3am.

One thing I like about myself is my ability to get through a night of sleep without waking up too seriously. If I wake up in the middle of the night, I fall right back asleep (usually after I look at my alarm clock to see how many more hours I have left).

Tonight, however, is an exception. I am awake, noone else is awake and I am bored.

Argh.

Tuesday, January 17, 2006

Steak, stake, whatever

I enjoy steaks, but not stakes and right now I feel as though I have a stake going through my left calf.

I decided to run today, which I'm not too sure was the best idea. Reason number 1: I stayed up way too late chatting with friends and got only 6 hours of sleep. Reason number 2: Work was exceptionally tiring and frustrating today. Reason number 3: my quads were still sore.

The weather was fantastic, which was the driving force for my desire to run (who knows when the weather will suck again). I started slowly, never even starting my watch because frankly I didn't care what time I finished today. After about a mile, my left calf started tightening. Mile 2, it was really tightening. Mile 2.5 I gave up and walked the last half mile. By then, my quads were hurting as I was walking. Now I'm home and plan on going to bed soon and hope that my legs feel better. I'm going to go a loop around Memorial again tomorrow, and try to build up to two loops by Thursday. This weekend my long run will be 10 miles (still in training for those other two halves!). Maybe I'll soak in a tub tonight...


Cheers!

Monday, January 16, 2006

*Moan*

Geez, I hurt more today than I did after Marine Corps. Dumbass me didn't do the good stuff - I didn't stretch nor did I soak. I had a massage right after, so I assumed that was good enough.

You'd think I'd've learned by now that assuming gets me into less-than-stellar situtations.

Here's the pain: my quads and my hamstrings. Moving after being still for a while hurts. Going down stairs causes twitching/grimacing. When I woke up, I knew I was going to hurt. Yep. I also have pain in my two upper arms, but it's self-inflicted. I exfoliated to an extreme to get the sharpie marker off. I wrote my names in black marker on both my arms (so people can cheer). My friend Ed looked at my arms and said, "How cute. You've named your biceps." Well, I pretty much had to remove a layer of skin to get it off.

I did realize, however, that I can wear my high-heeled boots and not hurt any worse. I also realized I still suck at pool.

I'm going to run tomorrow, provided that the rain has ceased and Memorial Park isn't flooded.

Going to bed... tired... is late... hurt...

Sunday, January 15, 2006

The end of the race

I forgot to mention... after I finished and ate, I went back out to the finish line and watched the fulls come in. It was so emotional, watching sore people running, walking, people running other people in, people holding hands as they cross the finish line (I want to hold hands with someone as I cross a finish line), people crying, laughing, screaming, cheering... It was wonderful to see and be a part of.

One Down, Two to Go

Here's my Houston Aramco Half-Marathon 2006 run-down...

Before the run: Woke up at 4:15am, quickly dressed and left, stopped off at CVS for a wonderfully tasty HOOAH bar (chocolate, of course). Arrived at GRB, parked OUTSIDE the course (for easy exit afterwards... I learned from last year's mistake). Went inside the GRB and hung out in a variety of places until the race began. Saw the TNT'ers, the Houston Running Bloggers (Cassie was very color-cordinated in her Tigger orange ensemble)...

When it was time to line up, we found a problem. The half started on the next street over from the full, and we couldn't get across! We were in the middle of crossing through the full marathoners when the gun went off for everyone to start. So we had to get through the marathoners while avoiding a stampeded and then walk over to OUR street and OUR start. Sigh.

Finally, we are going towards the start and... we cross!

I felt great. I was a little trepidatious at first because the last race I did (the Uptown Turkey Trot 10k) was hard. I had an good finish time, but I felt it. I pushed hard for it. This time I was smiling from the beginning and just felt healthy. I attribute it to the fact that I've been filling myself with healthy foods for the past two weeks (and even last night's chocolate cake didn't have an ill effect on me). I am determined to now continue with South Beach for a while, just because of how good I felt. I felt better today than any other race I've done.

I finished in 2:56, which is great. Actually, it's a PR, not only because it's my first half marathon, but it's better than my splits at my full marathons. My split at MCM was 3:03. I finished in 2:56 despite several stops: a shoelace re-tying, a chat and photo op with my mom at mile 9, and a chat at the TNT station at mile 10.

Here's how the miles went...

Mile 1. Getting out of downtown. Going up and down and over freeways. Passed a man with a mullet. I'm thinking he's from Pasadena.

Mile 2. Getting into the barrio. Passed a house with a rooster crowing in the front yard.

Mile 3-4. My fastest mile, 12:15. Woo-hoo! (It made up for 2-3, which was close to 14)

Mile 4-5. Random (yet attractive) man shouts out at me: "Hey Erica - Nice tits!" If he wanted to distract me it worked. I started laughing as I whipped my head back and said, "What the hell did you just say?" I kept running and laughing.

Mile 5. Going through the Heights, and found a group of Native Americans playing native instruments. Very calming. Very random.

Mile 6. Freezing. Where did that breeze come from?

Mile 6.2 Ran under a street, in which a sign was dangling, "It you were running the ConocoPhillips Rodeo run you'd be done by now." I am running that 10k in February.

Mile 7. Realized that the smell from the donut shop on W. Gray and Montrose doesn't smell that good when running. In fact, it was slightly nauseating.

Mile 8. Saw the huge TNT tent. Passed them up. Bill ran up alongside of me with a donut and said, "Want one?" Umm. No.

Mile 9. Where the hell is my mom? She's supposed to be around here! Marathoners split off (but most of them are long gone by the time I get to mile 9).

Mile 9.3 There she is! Ooh, she's got Gatorade and it isn't green or yellow. It's LSU purple. Took a swig. Eew. It's grape. Photo op with Mom.

Mile 10. Back to the TNT tent. Stopped for water and salt because I was crusted with salt (I forgot to take a packet before I started).

Mile 11. Thank god. 2 more miles to go. We are joined by the marathoners. Damn. They're passing me up, and they've run 13 more miles than I have in the same amount of space. Humbling.

Mile 12. Where the hell is the mile marker? It should've passed by now. There it is. It was long.

Mile 12.5 This is the longest mile ever. Where the fuck is the finish?

Mile 12.7 There's the finish!

Mile 12.8 I swear the finish is not getting closer.

Mile 12.9 Am I moving?

Mile 13. Run Forest, run! I hauled ass.

Mile 13.1 Woo-hoo! Mission accomplished. 3 more weeks until the next one.

Upon re-entering the GRB... We are offered Cold Stone Creamery Ice cream. Yum. Ooh, there's more food. I just ran 13.1 miles, don't waste my time with a banana.

I feel pretty good now. My left knee is a little sore, but I know it'll be gone by tomorrow.

Last year, Christine and I were running the 5k and we were both wishing we were running the half. Here I am now, running the half, and I was envious of the fulls. Next year, I will run the full. Right now, I am focusing on getting my half time down to 2:30 and dropping weight. As of 4pm, I'm back on South Beach, more determined to eat healthy now because of how good I felt.

Cheers! It's time for bed. I'm exhausted.

Saturday, January 14, 2006

256

That's the size of the memory card I purchased today for my digital camera. I was, until now, just using the internal memory (16 pictures), but bit the bullet, bailed out of my workshop early, went to Best Buy and bought a memory card. The smallest they had was 256. I'm not a cheap person, but I was hesitant. After all, what the hell am I going to do with 307 pictures? That's how many photos I can now take. You're reading about someone who hasn't even developed her prom pictures (let alone even know where the film is) from 10 years ago. Oh, well. I'm taking the camera with me while I run (as usual) and with my new memory card I can take 23 photos a mile!

I've been a bum and have eaten bread with all my meals - aren't you proud of me? I tried eating popcorn and found that it just didn't taste good to me anymore. Now if only chocolate chip cookies didn't taste so damn yummy...

On my way to Pasta Party #2 - Team In Training. Then, after a quick bite of pasta, on to bed and ready for tomorrow!!!

I'm thinking about doing the New Orleans full now. The only thing is that I haven't done a run over 16 miles in over a month. *sigh* I guess I'll just be sensible for once and do the half.

Ask me again tomorrow after the half. Maybe I'll be optimistic and stupid and do the full.

Good luck to all who's running! I'll see you guys there - I'm wearing my TNT singlet with bib #29228.

Cheers!

Day 15

Well, today was weigh-in day. I lost NOTHING. I also gained nothing, so I'm not altogether unpleased (I ate what I was supposed to, but let's just say I didn't time Phase 1 very well). Next week I'll automatically lose a few pounds. I'll keep you guys posted. I feel good and confident!

I ate pasta last night (a small helping) and a few pieces of sourdough bread. That, combined with a bagel for breakfast this morning and a couple of power bars today, should be enough carbs to sustain me for 13.1 miles. I have Chocolate Powergels (yum) and one chocolate Gu (yum) so I am well-prepared. After the race, I will eat a banana and a bagel to refuel and the back to South Beach, phase 2. Being on phase 2 will make me running better and I know I'll do the New Orleans half much better than Houston (and I look forward to the PR).

Last night with the Houston Bloggers was nice - I finally got to put names to faces. Cassie made me optimistic - I am tired of my boring blog page (compared to theirs) but she said it's easy to change the template. I don't know HTML at all, but I'm going to play around with it maybe tomorrow or Monday.

I have my bib, my chip has been checked, and I bought a new running singlet yesterday. That was the exciting part of the Expo. I was extremely dissapointed with the Expo. It wasn't as big as last year's and the vendors weren't as good. Noone was selling funny running socks! And the marathon merchandise itself bit, too. Pretty much only shirts, jackets, mugs and one bag. No socks, no key chains, no magnets, nothin'. Oh, well. I did get a listing of races and I'm thinking about doing another half in the spring (I want to add a state). Maybe Little Rock. I just wish I knew someone who lived in Little Rock so that I wouldn't have to pay for a hotel room. :)

Maybe the New Orleans expo will be better....

Wednesday, January 11, 2006

Don't lecture me...

This is directed towards the runners who read this blog (and Andy, this includes you). :)

Today is day 10 of Phase 1 of the South Beach diet. I'm managing well and have no cravings for sweets (although sugar-free popsicles help that). I'm not wanting anything bread-y or pasta-y or even potato-y.

I have discovered that doing this is taking a toll on my running.

Today's stats:
Milage: 3 miles.
Time: 42 minutes (yuck).
Nutrition: debatable (only meat, veggies, cheese and eggs - and the occasional tbsp of salad dressing)
Hydration: not stellar, but at least 1 liter
Friendly faces: 2 - TNT coach and teacher

I can definitely tell the difference between me running with carbs and me running without carbs - my energy is zapped (although I usually am more tired when I run in the afternoon anyway) I'm sticking to this until Friday, which will be the official end of Phase 1. Saturday, however, I'm going to venture off so that I can eat oatmeal, maybe some whole-wheat pasta and a potato. I don't want to feel entirely crappy on Sunday, but at the same time I don't want to reverse the weight loss. Oh, and of course I will be consuming chocolate gu's while on the route on Sunday.

My goal for this half-marathon, as my full marathons this year, is to simply finish. After I drop 24 more pounds, then I'll focus on speedwork. I'm probably going to do Marine Corps this year and I am going to do a much better job.

Friday is the Houston Running Blogger's pasta party, and Saturday is the Team in Training pasta party - both events which are sure to be fun. Finally, I get to meet the Houston Running Bloggers in person!

Time to sleep. Must get plenty of rest for Sunday's race.

Oh, and the New Orleans half is coming up soon. February 4th. If anyone is in New Orleans, cheer me on!

Ciao!

Monday, January 09, 2006

Razor blade, Cocaine, Jogging and a 3 hour search

Does the title make you wonder?

I had a few different interesting events happen today...

1) I made a new jogging buddy. A girl and I were doing the same pace, so we started talking and actually ended up increasing our speed a bit. We went for 4 miles and will probably run again. I don't usually have people at my pace (I'm slow), but she's a new runner and it's nice to jog with someone.

2) I had jury duty today. I wanted to serve, because of the defense lawyer (an ex-Houston city councilman) and I figured that if he was the defense attorney, it probably would've been a good case to sit for. Some guy was indicted for drug possession with the intent to distribute. He's not from here but was caught with 1 pound of cocaine. I was stricken, though, because of the one question that applied to me: my brother-in-law is a police officer and I have two HPD friends and one constable friend. Darn. So I sat there for almost 5 hours for nothing but a $6 check that will arrive 4 weeks later (but paid for my $5.50 parking fee). On the flip side, I now can be called again within 6 days. I was just called in 6 months ago! Choose someone else now.

3) I slashed my left thigh with a razor by accident. I was in the shower (post-run) and was shaving my legs. I moved the razor to the water to rinse it and when I moved it back to my leg, I was too close to my thigh. No stitches required, but it bled and stung like a son-of-a-bitch.

4) I lost my eyeglasses, the pair that I had to shell out $200 for (after insurance). I searched for 3 hours, with and without a flashlight, on the street, in the freezer, etc. I found them under some tool in the bomb-site that is our kitchen. How it got there, I'm not totally sure. But they are safely on top of my head.

Now I have to do my homework.

Oh, and the Houston half-marathon is 6 days away! Yippee!!!
The next weigh-in day is 5 days away. Today is day 10 of South Beach. I'm still alive and still haven't succumbed to the numerous temptations that make their way to my eyes and nose.

Sunday, January 08, 2006

Luke, I am Your Father

After my jog (5.8 miles, nothing exceptional, kinda sucked), I went to the grocery store (nothing exceptional, although I discovered sugar-free tropical popsicles, which are quite tasty) and went home. I threw my wallet and phone (I thought) into a bag of food.

I came in, greeted my mom and started to unload the groceries. After a few minutes, my mom said, "Your phone is going off - I hear Star Wars" (my ringtone is the Star Wars theme song). I was puzzled because I thought my phone was with me and puzzled because I thought my phone was on silent. I said as much and my mom just continued to look around, confused. I went on unloading groceries and she said, "There it is again! It's Darth Vadar!" Now I really thought my mom was losing her mind because my phone isn't Darth Vadar, it's music. She put the television on mute, and damned if I didn't hear clearly, "Luke I am your father." I started laughing because I knew what it was - and it wasn't my phone. I collect the Hallmark Star Wars Christmas tree ornaments, and my sister gives them to me every year. She gave me the Darth Vadar one that, when a button is pushed, he says, "Luke I am your father."

But here's the funny part: it was still in its box. No one was touching it. I went over and picked up the box as it was talking. I looked over and saw my phone there, lit up because someone was calling me. My phone was on silent and it's electronic waves set off the battery-operated Christmas ornament. Ironic, also, since my ringtone is also Star Wars.

Nothing else of interest. Went to Barnes and Noble and had a stupid moment resulting in a necessary exchange, and then a realization of a second stupid moment and I have to go back tomorrow and exchange ANOTHER thing I bought at the same time.

Now, I must grade papers.

Today is Day 9. Still ok, but am beginning to crave fruit. Instead, I bought the popsicles, which are very fruity, sweet and tangy at the same time.

Have a good day everyone!

Saturday, January 07, 2006

Day 8

Today was the official weigh-in day. During week one of Phase 1 of the South Beach Diet I netted a total weight loss of... 4.5 pounds! Yippee!! That means I am 3 pounds away from my weight at the San Diego Marathon and 9 pounds away from my weight a year ago.

I look forward to Week Two, which begins today. I'll do better because I'll make the time to exercise (I only did running twice and nothing else this week) and I'll drink more water. Bring it on.

Funny note (at least, funny to me): I played a couple of games of Trivial Pursuit with a friend last night. We played at the Dessert Gallery (not my choice). I would like to say that, despite being a cookie-fiend and a sugar-addict, I ate nothing from there but a salad and three cups of decaff coffee. The smell of sugar permeated the air (and boy, did it smell good) and my friend ate a chocolate chunk cookie dunked in chocolate (mmmmmmmmmm) and I did not waver in my stance.

Have a great day everyone!!!!

Thursday, January 05, 2006

Day 6

I am of a foul humor. Today is Day 6 of South Beach, and I'm already down half of what I hoped for during the two-week period. Good news, right? Of course. But other things are getting me down - mostly the time crunch I have between now and February 18. In between those times, I have two weekend day conferences, one practice state exam, the real state exam, preparing my kids for the TAKS and 3 half-marathons.

How long until Spring Break? Thank God they (and I) take the tests in February. Rehearsals will be a lot less stressful and I'll be able to enjoy it more without worrying.

I'm going to bed. Have you ever felt that the day just needed to end? I'm thinking the lack of sugar has something to do with my foul mood. I ate some sugar-free jelly beans today, but I guess my body wasn't fooled.

Have a great Friday everyone! :)

Wednesday, January 04, 2006

Day 5

Today is Day 5 of South Beach. Today was rough. I'm going through carb withdrawal and I am exhausted.

I did run 3 miles today, although I was tired. I'm going to bed soon.

2 more days until weigh-in. I'll keep you posted.

Monday, January 02, 2006

What muscle is that?

I have a new pain, one I haven't felt before. It's on the upper to mid left side of my left quadricep. I don't know where it came from. Yesterday it was sore, but I figured it was from the 8 mile jog I did that morning, or maybe I pulled it when I knelt down wearing the high-heeled boots on Friday. Today, it feels worse and walking up stairs hurts. If I don't move it for a while, it stiffens up and hurts worse. Help! What the hell is it that hurts??

Today is South Beach, phase 3, and the first day of doing it while working. It wasn't too bad. Usually I get a chocolate craving while I'm in school (and end up with m&ms before the day is done), but I didn't miss it. I am ravenously hungry now, though, so I think I'm going to cook dinner as soon as I'm done the on-line updates. Oh, and I know I wasn't going to weigh myself until Saturday, but... I'm happy with what the scale has been saying. I look forward to giving you a pound loss update on Saturday.

Cheers everyone!

Sunday, January 01, 2006

A Sad Sight to See

I wore a sleeveless shirt today. Why? Because it was 83 degrees outside. My poor coats and scarves are feeling neglected. I'm going to have to dust them off whenever I get the chance to wear them again (which might not be until next year, at the rate we're going). Welcome to Texas.

I jogged 8 miles today; nothing exciting. It was hot and muggy, unlike yesterday morning, which made for a rough start. I should've just shoved my fatigue and feet pain aside and did it yesterday, but too late.

Today is day 2 of the South Beach Diet phase 1. I am full of healthy vitamins from all of the vegetables I've been consuming these past two days. I haven't eaten this many vegetables in about a year. No drastic sugar craving today, but the clementines looked tempting when I passed them at the grocery store again. I'm about to cook dinner - steak and squash and salad. Mmm. Steak.

This is a boring entry. Sorry, but today just wasn't exciting at all. Now I have to cook dinner and do laundry. School starts again tomorrow. These two weeks went by fast (although I do remember my complaints of boredom last week).

Happy New Year, again.