Wednesday, January 25, 2006

Adventures at the Gym

I wanted to go running after school because I haven't gone in almost a week and the New Orleans half is next weekend. Due to either weather or time, I couldn't go during daylight and since I refuse to run at night, I just didn't do anything. I tried to go to the gym twice but both times it was too busy. I vowed today to run.

I was held up at a meeting after work, not leaving school until 4:45, which was too late because darkness would fall before I finish my run. I went immediately home and decided to immediately go to the gym, instead of waiting until the after-dinner crowd fills the place up.

I hate the treadmill. Ooh, I hate it with a burning passion that no words can describe. I used to enjoy it, until I started running outside and now I find that the treadmill install a deep boredom that even great music can't dig me out of. Since I haven't been running, however, I decided to bite the bullet and brave the boredom.

I actually had a good run on the treadmill. Despite the boredom that usually arrives after 10 minutes, I survived. One thing (the only thing) I like about the treadmill is that I can go faster (even with an incline) and it makes me feel good. While on solid ground I can pull in a 13:25 minute mile, on a treadmill I can run a 10:45 minute mile. I kicked my own ass on the treadmill, probably as a punishment for not running. People at the gym tend to look at me odd when I'm there because I mouth the words to all the songs on my iPod shuffle, whereas everyone else doesn't (I like to have fun... sue me).

Running stats:
Time: 40 minutes
Distance: 3.23 miles
Incline: 2
Boredom level: not bad, actually. I was mouthing heavy songs, which amuses me.
People I knew: none
People going faster than me on their treadmill: only one (yippee!)

After the run, I contemplated going on the elliptical machine for an hour with my book. I saw instead an aerobics class about to start, so I joined in.

I am going to be in a lot of pain tomorrow. The first 25 minutes was some heavy ab work and the last hour was an advanced step class. Halfway through the step class I was asking myself, "Why the hell am I doing this?" Afterwards, I bowed out quietly and determined to give myself a good workout like this more often.

Upon walking out, I pass an extremely cocky, muscular jock-kind-of-guy (not my type at all) and we exchanged "hello"s as we passed each other. He then turned around and called to me, "Where are you from?" I thought, great. I look like crap and I am about to have some random stranger hit on me. I turned around and looked at him like he was crazy and said, "Houston." He came close (almost too close for my comfort) and said, "Really. You have a different look about you. My name's Marcus. Are you married?" "No," I replied. He raised his eyebrows and asked, "But you have a boyfriend, don't you." "Yes!" I replied rather quickly, hoping that would cease the conversation. He looked at me and said, "That's a shame 'cause you've got it goin' on." I then ended the conversation and sprinted to my car.

Was he insane? I was NOT attractive at that particular time (of course, I usually am but not after working out hard for two hours). My hair was dripping, my clothes were soaked and my dark eye make-up was pooled under my eyes.

But obviously I "had it goin' on."

Whatever. I have to shower now.

Cheers!

PS - Because I know many people are wondering, "Who is she dating?" No one in particular. I lie to men who creep me out. I'm a woman; I can do that kind of thing.

2 comments:

Junie B said...

your post about random guy made me laugh.

i do that too...tell men, yes, i have a boyfriend. when i dont. sometimes i even go so far as to introduce my GIRL friend as my girlfriend..thats always funny.

Tiggs said...

hehehehe, good one.

i like the new look :)