Saturday, December 31, 2005

The Year of Erica, part II

Last year was dubbed, "The Year of Erica." I had a great year, so 2006 will be henceforth known as "The Year of Erica: the Sequel." I have great plans, great dreams, great friends, great activities planned - how can 2006 not be good (don't answer that... I don't want to be jinxed).

Happy New Year everyone. I hope your 2006 will be as good as I hope mine will be.

By the way, Day 1 of Phase 1 of the South Beach diet went well. It was touch and go at 3pm when I was experiencing sugar withdrawal (which is to be expected after sharing a yummy brownie bottom pie from Bennigan's yesterday), but I managed to pull through. 13 days left.

Once Does Not a Habit Make

Today was a first. I woke up, as per my alarm, at 4:55am. I walked to my desk, shut off the alarm clock, and went straight back to bed. I did not go running with the group today. Today is the first time that I have done so due to the previous' nights activities. I've even managed to drag my ass out of bed after 4 hours of sleep and go for 15 miles after one Friday night. This morning was just too difficult. Not only was I just exhausted, but I also wore high-heeled boots for 15 hours yesterday. Ladies, you understand how my feet felt this morning. I'll just go to the gym later and do my long run tomorrow, which is a great way to start the New Year.

I woke up for good 2 hours later.

By the way, my mother and I are going on the South Beach Diet. Today is Day 1. I have weighed myself (I refuse to publicize the amount just yet) and will not do so again until next Saturday. I went to the grocery store and spent way too much on healthy food (I understand why so many economically-challenged individuals are overweight). For the next two weeks, my body will be given nothing but vegetables, cheese, nuts and meat. By the end of next week, I will be craving fruit like a crack addict craves crack. But for now, so far so good. I'll keep you guys updated on my progress.

"Action is eloquence" - William Shakespeare

Friday, December 30, 2005

I can't. I'm sorry. Don't hate me.

One of my best friends just got dumped in a manner equivalent to the Post-It-Note ("Sex and the City" fans should recall that episode, with the message of the Post-It as today's header). Sorry, girl. At least bad breakups show the true side of people (and you deserve better than him!!!).

I am exhausted and am going to bed as soon as I finish this post.

I had date 2.5 today. Again, while I won't go into detail, it's the best date I've had all week (and one of the best all year). Too bad things are complicated. But I had a good time (of course) and I realized that I still suck at pool (but will continue to play until I get better).

Tomorrow is New Years' Eve. How much do y'all want to bet that some idiot will ignore the burn ban and will set off fireworks? I wonder how much of Texas will be destroyed by wildfire tomorrow night. I, on the other hand, am looking forward to a run, spending time on lesson plans, and going to bed as early as I can.

Goodnight. Happy birthday Andy. Happy hunting April. Happy family gatherings Christine. Happy running to everyone who's running tomorrow (I'll be the one yawning while jogging my 8-10 miles). I gotta get up in 5 hours.... yawn....

Thursday, December 29, 2005

Define Human

I was reading Christine's blog (which is usually extremely humorous and frank and filled with dating disasters) and left a comment. I guess I forgot to type in those random letters at the bottom, because after I clicked it, a message appeared saying, "Please verify that you are human." I don't know why, but that message tickled me.

No running today (still felt trepidatious due to yesterday's debacle), went to the gym, hung out with Yvonne, came home and talked on the phone, went on date number 2.

(By the way, although I don't go into great details of my dates, both dates were at the same restaurant, a restaurant that I have never been until this week. Will there be further dates? Possibly. Number 1 and I got along fine, no spark, but had a good conversation. Number 2, I think, was intimidated by me. Sometimes I can be a bit talkative, and if you can't keep up in a conversation I might run you over. While neither one won the "Best Date of 2005" award, at least neither made it to the "Worst Dates of 2005" list (which, thankfully, only one made the list this year - and that one is hard to beat!)

Wednesday, December 28, 2005

Last Wishes

Today's run: 2.9 miles. It was bad. I felt like I gained 50 pounds overnight. My legs didn't want to move at all. After mile 1, I knew it was going to be rough.

I went to my mom's cousin's funeral today. I hate funerals (as I might have mentioned). I've been to more funerals than most 27-year olds I know. I have only one parent left, one grandparent left (and he was given 3-6 months left), and have been to funerals for cousins and friends. I've been to two funerals on May 5 (3 years apart), I've known two people who have died on May 1 (5 years apart), two friends died in a helicopter crash on my 21st birthday (so that was two funerals in one week). In between my 15th birthday and 4 days after my 21st birthday, I'd been to 14 funerals, and there were several I didn't go to (due to me living in Louisiana at the time). I refuse to look at the body in the casket, I am the last to arrive and the first to leave at cemetaries, and I fidget while in the pews. They remind me too much of my father's funeral, which is a memory that is best remained deep in my brain.

At today's funeral, I saw many relatives I haven't seen in a long time. In fact, several times the words, "I haven't seen you since _____'s funeral" were said. How depressing.

Here are my final wishes (my family knows, but just in case we're all killed in a freak accident). I do not want to live on life support - pull the plug. I want to be cremated with my urn/box of ashes buried next to my parents. I do not want a funeral service. Come to the gravesite, say some poems (maybe parts of "The 4 Quartets) or some Shakespeare (no psalms, no prayers) and then go have a party somewhere. Spend the funeral service money on booze and food and have a good time. No "Amazing Grace", no bagpipes, nothing musically depressing. Celebrate my life, celebrate the fact I'm gone and won't bug anyone anymore, celebrate the free party. Whatever makes you happy. Oh, and plant an antique rosebush behind my marker.

Now I have to finish my vocabulary list for "Julius Caesar." E tu, Brute?

(Oh, and I was informed by someone that I have 2 1/2 dates this week. Sorry for the misunderstanding.) :)

Tuesday, December 27, 2005

Book Review 2005

Last year, the best book I read was "The Time Traveler's Wife" by Audrey Niffenegger.

This year, the decision was tough. I've read more books than I can remember. Books I enjoyed this year include:
1) The Count of Monte Cristo (By Dumas)
2) The Three Musketeers (Dumas)
3) 20 Years Later (Dumas)
4) Viscount de Bragelonne (Dumas)
5) The Kite Runner (can't remember the name of the author)
6) A Home at the End of the World (Cunningham)
7) Life of Pi (Martel)
8) Memoirs of a Geisha (Golden)
9) A Million Little Pieces (Frey)

After much personal deliberation, I have narrowed it down to two books. I cannot decide which is better, because they were both so wonderful for diffferent reasons.

And the winners are...

"The Count of Monte Cristo" and "A Million Little Pieces."

I read "The Count of Monte Cristo" in February, and until 20 minutes ago, it was the best book I read this year. The story line is wonderful, full of betrayal, revenge, duals, loyalty, love, hate, perseverance and adventure. I was immensely disappointed when I finished it, and despite the size I think it only took me a week to read. I didn't read it, I consumed it.

"A Million Little Pieces" is the book I just finished 20 minutes ago. It's so hard to call it a wonderful book, because it's an addict's memoirs of his time in rehab. It's raw, brutal, painful, honest and sad. How can one call such a sad experience wonderful? Frey's writing style was a little difficult to grasp, because it's written in almost a stream of consciousness instead of regular prose format, but since he's battling demons in his own personal hell, it worked well. The rawness and honesty is what made it so wonderful. He keeps nothing hidden (so it seems) and while some of it is painful to read, I couldn't put it down. Some of it hit close to home, and if you know anyone who has suffered from any kind of addiction whatsoever, it will definitely move you.

If I could recommend one book for 2005, I think it would be "A Million Little Pieces." "The Count of Monte Cristo" is a book that I enjoyed so much I'll probably read it again, but "A Million Little Pieces" strikes hard and stirs emotions more.

I look forward to reading more in 2006. I hope to read "Teacher Man" by Frank McCourt, "The Hours" by Michael Cunningham, "Wicked," and I plan on finishing "War and Peace."

Monday, December 26, 2005

New Long-Term Goal

My new long-term goal is to be a member of either the 50 states marathon club or the 50 states plus DC marathon club.

I have two states under my belt thus far: California and Virginia. Unfortunately, my next two races are halves. Dammit. I should've trained for fulls, then I could've gotten two more states under my belt (Texas and Louisiana). Oh, well.

Here's part of my plan...
1) Run NYC this year. If I don't get accepted, I'm going to run Marine Corps again, and do a better job!
2) Run the Houston full next year (2007).
3) Run the New Orleans full next year (2007).

Then I'll be halfway to becoming a member, since you have to have 10 under your belt to join.

I thought about doing Alaska this year, but I vowed to not start training for a marathon until I've dropped 30 pounds, and I might not have the time to do that and train. So I'll just focus on fall marathons.

ohhhhhhhhhhhh

Today's running stats:

Mileage: 8.7 (3 laps around Rice). Positive splits. First lap was 39, second 41, third 43.

People I elbowed: zero, but almost two (move out of the fucking way people)

Strangers who cheered me on: one

Nutrition - poor (ate bad stuff at the brunch... but boy was it tasty!)

Hydration - below poor. Yesterday, I drank countless mimosas, one glass of water, and 16 ounces of hot chocolate. This morning before I ran, I had a bowl of cereal. Then during the run I drank 30 ounces of water. I feel like crap right now, and I know I'm dehydrated. The third loop was getting tiresome, salt was crusting on my face. When I got home I ate some fish and spinach, but then threw it up 15 minutes later. Then I curled myself into a ball on my bed and wished to die. I feel 10% better now, but I'm going back to bed now and wish for sleep. I'm still nauseated. I feel horrible.........................

Sunday, December 25, 2005

"His name is... Lancelot he likes to prance a lot"

"He likes to dance a lot, you know you do!" "I do?"

I have officially moved away from "Avenue Q" and am now listening to the cast recording to "Spamalot," which is wonderful (and Tim Curry and David Hyde Pierce were wonderful on Broadway in it).

Christmas is almost over. "Hallelujah!" Last year I publicly boycotted the holidays, and was ok with my lack of Christmas activities. This year, I didn't boycott the holidays but for a second year they were uneventful. My sister went out of town, leaving just my mom and I. So we went to brunch (where we made fun of other people's outfits) and went to the movies. Here's why I ended up in a bad mood... (and it was a doozy)...

1) I saw lots of happy families. My family is too tiny for this. My father is also dead, which makes me miss the holidays in which he was alive - they were more fun. Seeing the little girls with their fathers was heartwrenching. This year it was just my mom and myself... again.

2) I saw lots of couples. I'm happy with my single state, mostly, but it sucks to be alone during the holidays. I used to be ok with my single-ness during the holidays, but as I get older, I'm realizing it really does suck. I'm also tired of my cousins making references on how "it will be my turn soon" or "who are you dating now?" or "don't worry, you'll find someone." I am officially the youngest unmarried cousin. They all (including my sister) were married before they were 26. I am 27 with very little hope in the near future. I wouldn't be surprised if they secretly believe me to be a lesbian. I've only brought one boyfriend to meet them during the holidays (and only one year), and I don't know if they believe that I do date men. I told them I have two dates this week but they probably think I'm lying.

3) The movie was depressing. We saw, "The Family Stone." Warning, if you want to see this movie, I am going to give it away. Samuel L. Jackson is the killer. Just kidding. But this movie does have a serious turn at the end that had me in tears and depressed the hell out of my mother and me. It's not all funny and cute.

4) Lack of Christmas feeling. We didn't decorate, due to the massive rennovation of the house. Our tree remained in the garage, the snoring Santas in the closet and the lights in the attic. Nothing about our dwelling said, "Merry Christmas!"

5) My family. It's getting harder and harder each year to attend family functions. At one point, I leaned over to my mom and said, "I feel like the bastard step-child." She and I were out of the family loop (probably because neither one of us are married nor do we have little kids). Plus, it's difficult to have a serious conversation with some of them - we rarely see each other, therefore not really know each other and appear to live in two different parts of the world although we all live in Houston.

On the plus side, brunch was tasty, I got tipsy from the bottomless mimosas (those waiter were quick with the refills), and I beat my mom at a game of Scrabble (don't play Scrabble with an English teacher). Hmm. The mimosas could be another reason for my melancholy.

Bah humbug.

.

Saturday, December 24, 2005

Toys

I went 12 miles today (I gave up at mile 12, that is). After 2 miles, I could sense the roughness. I have got to learn to get some sleep the night before long runs - I can't function on 6 hours and then run at 6am. Also, I've been doing afternoon jogging, so I've had breakfast prior to jogging. I didn't eat before I left, felt my blood sugar hit my toes after mile 2. I ate a chocolate outrage gu and felt better - not good enough to all 14 miles, but good enough to not stop at 8 with the other half-marathoners.

Now I'm home, showered, read, etc. My mom and I exchanged Christmas presents early - I have a new toy. I have a digital camera now, which tickles me. I still love my "real" cameras, but I like the insant appeal of the digital. Very few pictures of me exist, and lately the ones that are being taken of me are when I'm sweaty and red-faced at mile 4 or 13 or 26.2, and those aren't particularly flattering. Now I can take a quick digital photo and either print it out on this nifty machine we have or I can upload it to my computer. I'm excited. I'm going to take pictures of me as soon as I put make-up on!

Tonight, Mom and I go to my cousin's house. I don't see myself eating, for the main course is white chili. I don't do white chili (mainly because I don't do beans). Luckily, I have a chicken I'm defrosting for back-up. I just have to have the appearance of eating, otherwise I'll hear "Why aren't you eating?" I could use the excuse of the upcoming race.

But tomorrow is brunch and mimosas... mmm....

Friday, December 23, 2005

Thank Goodness for Friends

I am going to have a great 2006, thanks to my friends. I already have great ideas, have great ideas for resolutions, and am looking forward to many things. I'll be more specific later after I sleep.

Oh, and I got an "A" in my final University of St. Thomas class for my teaching certification. Not bad, considering I had the flu while taking it and I only spent 20 minutes on it. But I must've made a perfect score on my final, because if I made a 100, the highest I could've gotten in the class is a 94. So I must've done a damn good job.

My graduate GPA - 3.66, which is higher than my undergraduate GPA. I might just take the remaining classes and get my masters in education!

Fa La La La La

Yes, I went jogging yesterday! Woo-hoo! 5.8 miles! After the first two miles, I started coughing and grumbling, but after I passed my car and started the second loop, I was feeling much better. Afterwards I felt fine, today I felt fine. I was going to go jogging again, but since I'm doing 14 tomorrow, I figure I'd chill. Plus, Christine just called - she's in town and we're going to brave the Galleria so she can go Christmas shopping and we can catch up on the gossip between us.

Not only did I jog yesterday, but I re-read most of "Romeo and Juliet" and made up a vocabulary list for the intro to Shakespeare and Acts 1-4. I hope to finish the vocabulary lists tonight and make the vocabulary quizzes. Tomorrow, after the 14 miler and before we do the obligatory family visit, in which my mom and I are the only ones from our side, I hope to do "Julius Caesar." The problem with trying to write a quick vocabulary list for "Julius Caesar" is that I haven't read it in a while and need to re-read and analyze it since I'm teaching it. That will take me most of tomorrow and into Sunday evening. Monday, I hope to write Act tests and both Romeo and Julius. Tuesday, maybe write lesson ideas. Wednesday, lesson ideas for "Animal Farm" and/or "Of Mice and Men." Thursday, same. I wanted to get everything done for the semester for my classes, but I'll be ok if I can do at least one unit each (if not two).

I bought a new book yesterday (since I'm a book sponge). "A Million Little Pieces" by James Frey. I've been looking at that book for over a month, every time I walk into a bookstore and yesterday I finally bought it. It's a raw account (true) of a 23-year old alcoholic and crack addict in a 6-week rehab stint. He wakes up on a plane, not knowing where he is or how he got there or where he's going. He's missing his front 4 teeth, has a broken nose and a hole in his cheek (eew). That's how the story opens. It's pretty raw not sugar-coated at all. But I'm enjoying it. I'll let you guys know as I progress...

Wednesday, December 21, 2005

Bless Ikea

I've been bored today. After reading, I went to the gym, went to Starbucks, went to Target, did some Tae-bo at home, watched a movie, and spent way too much time on the internet (damn eBay). I am beginning to get bored. I don't think I could ever be a housewife. Part of me is not looking forward to the months of June and August (but July is fine since I'll be bored in either NYC or Washington, DC).

I then realized, however, that I have a small shelf/drawer thing from Ikea that I have yet to finish putting together! I bought it almost a year ago and found it too annoying to put together. It's about the size of 4 shoe boxes, wodden, with nine little drawers. At the time of purchase, I didn't realize I'd have to put those nine little drawers together (although since the box was flat, you'd think I would've realized it). After putting together 6 of the drawers almost a year ago, I grew bored and frustrated. The nails kept bending, I'd get a splinter, and a drawer took me 20 minutes to put together because the slats would keep moving. So I put it aside, saying I'd finish it someday.

Today was the day. I was bored enough to pick it up. I've put together two more of the little drawers, with one left. Tomorrow, I'm going to Hobby Lobby to buy some paint and I will paint it. I bought two, so if I'm bored enough I might even put the other one together (it's not like I have anything else to do, really, and it's kind of a craft project). I was using my school textbook as a flat hard surface on which to hammer, and when I took a break, I flipped through to find "Julius Caesar." After perusing it, I got all sorts of ideas for my lesson plans, so I think I'll work on the Shakespeare lesson plans tomorrow. Vocabulary lists and essay assignments are dancing in my head.

I bought a movie on iControl today: "Hide and Seek" with Robert DeNiro and Dakota Fanning. Weird.

Other than that, nothing new. Still a little phlegmy, so I haven't been running, but I might go ahead and do 3 miles tomorrow. My sister is not doing the Houston Half with me anymore (but she'll do the Surfside half with me in March), so I do need to do some training and maintainence runs, since I won't be walking it. We're supposed to be doing 8/14 this weekend, and since I haven't run in almost two weeks, I guess I'll do the 8, even though I want to do the 14. Maybe I'll strive for the 14, and walk a bit towards the end if I need to. Yep, tomorrow afternoon I'm going running. I crave the miles.

Finished!

It's 9:22am. I've been awake since 5:45am, reading. I am done with the book, and it was great! I'm looking forward to seeing the movie this weekend.

Maybe now I can get something productive done, like eating breakfast and going to the gym.

Oh, and I'm in a better mood this morning. Sometimes I get melancholy. Such is life.

Tuesday, December 20, 2005

Sensitivity

As I watch my dogs, I am reminded on how funny humans really are. No other species get their feelings hurt. No other species beat themselves up over mistakes, or have the desire to hurt themselves in order to get attention. No other animal commits suicide. No other animals overanalyze what's going on with the people/creatures around them. Why are humans so sensitive to people and the things around them (and no, I'm not thinking about suicide, I'm just trying to make a point)?

I allowed someone to hurt my feelings today, although that person doesn't realize it. Sometimes I'm too cowardly to stand up for myself, although I use the word "cowardly" only because I don't know how else to describe it. Sometimes I find it easier to just keep my mouth shut instead of making my point. Sometimes I'm so afraid of the other person's reactions, that I stay silent instead of trying to get what I want. Sometimes I think I won't get what I want anyway, so why bother. I, for the most part, ignore disparaging remarks about me, or I blow them off. A couple of people, however, have the ability to strike me down with a single facial gesture, or a single word (or lack thereof). I know I shouldn't let those people get to me, that I should probably just distance myself from them because I don't need those attitudes around me. But then I have to go back to previous remarks and turn them into questions. Why do humans allow other humans to make them feel bad about themselves? Why did I let someone else get me upset?

On another note, I've written 4 pages of my script, wrote 4 pages of notes today and then ignored my writing as I went to Barnes and Noble/Bookstop and bought a new book - "Memoirs of a Geisha." I've been wanting to read it for years, and now since the movie is coming out on Friday, what better reason to read it now? I bought it 10 hours ago and have been reading, off and on, for the past 10 hours (except for a nap). It's great. I hope to finish it tomorrow.

Monday, December 19, 2005

Only 27, Feeling 40

(FYI, after I took the ladder out of the cage last night, Kate stopped crabbing. Who knew that she would've been terrified out of her mind by a wooden ladder.)

Last night I went to the only non-family Christmas party I'll probably go to this year (which is fine with me). I felt very much out of place. I knew the hostess, of course, and maybe 2 other people well and a handful of others not so well. It was a Starbucks Christmas party and I was the only one in the room with a steady job that requires a degree. I felt old. I did not participate in the drinking games. I did not participate in the keg stand. I ate, chatted with the few I did know, but mostly just kept my mouth shut because most of the conversation was Starbucks-related gossip and complaints. I got extremely lost getting there and since it took me so long to reach my destination, I decided to stay for a while, but I was bored and felt out of place. Here's another example of a life I've left and don't want to go back to - Starbucks. I was so happy I didn't work there! I was so happy I couldn't contribute to the conversation. I was proud that I have a stable job, that I wore nice clothes, that I look normal (some Starbucks people are very eccentric). I was also bored, so I was out of there by 11:30pm.

Today, in between workouts, I plan to work on my screenplay. I'm tempted to go to the Museum of Natural Science, but I think I'll go next week. Nope, so today I will delve into 18th century France, ancient Greece and 1980s England through my reading and writing. No television, just me and words and maybe a Sarah Brightman CD playing in the background. Day 3 of my vacation has started.

Tales from the Cage

I was bragging about my funny little sugar gliders this evening, and damn it if Kate is making me regret the compliments. I come home from the Christmas party and as soon as I walk into my room I flip on my lights, thus freezing the actions of the nocturnal sugar gliders. I promise them I'll turn the lights off in a second. Hero hangs on the side of the cage, as usual, and patiently waits for me to turn off the lights. Kate, as usual, darts into her sleeping pouch and but begins to make the "crabbing" sound - an irritating sounds that sugar gliders makes when they're scared (it sounds like an electric pencil sharpener). Having no idea what she's scared of, I go over there to pet the pouch and she quietens down (Hero is nowhere near Kate). 10 minutes later, I'm sitting in the dark and she is still making the sound. I'm not sure, but I think she's making the sound at a new toy in her cage - a large bird ladder that is hanging near the pouch. Who knew that my glider would be afraid of wood. I hope she stops soon, though, because I need sleep and the sound is very loud and irritating (Andy, Christine and April - you've heard it).

More about the Christmas party tomorrow, but I have to say this: I delved into a life I already left, and the grass is greener on my side now.

Sunday, December 18, 2005

Any Day Now

I am really getting tired of being sick. I haven't had a fever since Thursday, but this phlegm is irritating. No matter how much of it is still in my body tomorrow, I'm going to the freakin' gym. This is getting ridiculous.

Well, finals are over, grades are put in and my classroom is clean. Today is day two of my vacation and I haven't done anything productive. Oh, wait. I did. I read "Of Mice and Men," which I'm teaching in April. That is one of the shortest books I've read and and took me all of 3 hours to read. I think I'm going to work with it for only 4 weeks, tops. Maybe I can squeeze it into three weeks because of how short and how quick of a read it is.

I went to the movies yesterday and saw "King Kong." I highly recommend it. I went in not very enthusiastic, but I loved it. The guy sitting two seats over almost had me in his lap, though, when the characters landed in the Ravine of Gigantic Bugs. My distaste for insects grew as big as those bugs were. Shudder.

Nothing else of interest has happened recently. I've been talking to a very nice gentleman and we might go out this week, but as I'm picky... we'll see.

The kitchen is starting to resemble a kitchen again. We have tile! And new cabinets! Now if we only had a stove...

Tonight: Christmas party with ex-coworkers. Tomorrow... I am going to work on my screenplay (the one I haven't touched in 8 months and was working on almost two years ago... how sad). I still believe in the idea and my writing and I am going to finish the fucker this holiday season! I've already written over 60 pages of it (I think), so I'm halfway through. I just need to focus. I want to submit it to the slew of writing contests that open in the spring. Maybe I'll win and someone will buy it. Wouldn't that be wonderful?

Thursday, December 15, 2005

Panicking... stressing...

For those who don't know me, I can get stressed out easily.

I'm stressing. Since I've been sick all this week (but no fever today, just chest phlegm), I haven't been grading the finals as I should've. Now that I'm feeling better, though, I'm trying to catch up. The problem with having the flu during finals week is that there's a time limit on when grades are due. My final grades are due, as well as my 6-weeks grades, by noon tomorrow. I still have 20 finals left (which means 20 essays and 60 open-ended response questions). I wanted to be 100% done by tonight so that I could spend the entire day cleaning and organizing my classroom. Due to the damn virus, I'll be lucky if I get half the day tomorrow to organize and clean. ARGHH!!!!! I'm going to be staying late tomorrow night.

Things I want to get accomplished during my winter break...

1) Write lesson plans for at least 2 six-weeks in advance for each of my classes (complete with quizzes, project assignments and tests written... this will save me time in the long run).

2) Re-organize my bedroom/study.

3) Get a manicure and pedicure and other chick spa activities.

4) Finish "The Odyssey."

5) Re-read "Julius Caesar"

6) Re-read "Of Mice and Men." Hmm. "The Odyssey might not get done, since it's a lower priority.

7) Write at least 10 pages of my screenplay.

I want to do more, but I'll just focus on those so that I'll feel more accomplished once those are done.

One more day......

Wednesday, December 14, 2005

I Jinxed Myself

I was so excited yesterday. I felt good enough to get online and go through my horrendously full e-mailbox. I even replied to some well-wishers that I was feeling better and my temperature had dropped below 100 for the first time in three days.

By last night, my temperature was 98.9, with only my chest congestions and nasal congestion bothering me.

This morning, I awoke with a fever again. 100.7. When will this end? I want to feel normal again!! I have to grade finals!!


Argh.

Sunday, December 11, 2005

Fever in the Morning, Fever in the Afternoon

I am sick.

Last night, as I went to the theatre to watch Lonnie performing in Company OnStage's production of "The Fantasticks," I started to get a tingle of a sore throat. Upon waking up this morning, I discovered a full-blown sore throat and the hint of chest congestion (painful breathing). Yet, stupidly, I still met Andrea for our sometimes-weekly half-marathon training. We ended up walking it because the cold weather made me feel worse. I wanted to go 9 miles, we went 3. As we walk, a migraine-type headache starts to build and by the time we're done (and we're in the middle of our post-walk treat at Starbucks), I hurt so bad I want to cry. I come home, coughing up stubborn phlegm and go to bed. Sounds hurt. Light hurts. Ugh...

I slept for 20 minutes, afterwhich I took my temperature. Yea. 100.4 degrees. Woo-hoo. I eat a bit, and then watch a large amount of television, praying that the exedrin will work quickly. 3 hours later, I still feel crappy, although my head hurts a tad less. Now, however, my joints are starting to hurt. I hope to god this isn't the flu. I just took my temperature again - 100.6. It's supposed to go DOWN, not UP.

I have a final exam tomorrow. I haven't studied. My head hurts too much. In fact, my head pounds as I type this, but I must inform the world (whine) about my malady. Maybe I'll feel like studying in an hour. Without taking the final, I have a 69, so I don't need to do very well on it to pass the class with a "c," which is all I want to do.

"The Fantasticks" was wonderful, as was dear Lonnie (it closes next weekend, so go see it if you can!). He and I went to dinner afterwards to gossip - we haven't chatted in a while. We talked about our relationships - or lack thereof - and laughed a lot. His uncouth ex-boyfriend (the one that smashed his heart) had the audacity to show up at the production last night - with his new boyfriend (the one he acquired two weeks after dumping Lonnie so harshly), so we enjoying ragging on the fact that he must've gained about 20 pounds and is still an immature twit.

I picked up my script last night while I was there - it's great. I loved the last show I did there, but this one is oh so much better! And my part is great! She and her husband (Lonnie) fight a lot - both verbally and physically - and she is sarcastic (like me). It's a farce, so it's actually very amusing. I am looking forward to doing this show. March can't come fast enough!

Time for more medicine....

Saturday, December 10, 2005

A Year in Reflection

2005 is about to end. I'm not too sure how I feel about that. Are there things I didn't get done, things that I wanted to do? Sure. Did I accomplish any of my 2005 goals? Of course. Did I have a good year overall? Yes, I have to say I did. This year started off in a state of depression, which was very gradual in lifting, but lift it did. In fact, the reason for the depression nearly reversed itself in March.

Let's look at this year in a list...

1) Marathons completed: 2. I am extremely proud of this, since on December 31 of last year one of my New Years' resolution was just to finish a 5k (the marathon desire came after I finished the 5k in January)

2) Major cities traveled to: 3. I went to San Diego (marathon), New York City, and Washington DC (marathon). This year I traveled to California and New York for the first time, which just tickles me. I had a great time in both places and each time came home with a self-esteem boost. Plus, I saw the Pacific Ocean and BROADWAY!!!

3) Screenplays finished: 0. This was a disappointment, but I'm not going to dwell on it. Never mind that I've been working on the same script for two years, but I've had a busy year with...

4) Career changes: 1. I am finally teaching high school, which I've been talking about doing for about 3 years now. I'm taking the "sink or swim" route, which means getting my certification while I'm teaching and taking lots of classes and taking exams, but it's worth it.

5) Relationships: 3. Ones that survived longer than 2 months? 0. I am ok with this. I enjoyed my time with them, but they're not what I want. What can I say? I guess I'm picky.

6) Cooking classes taken: 0. Yes, this was a goal that never happened. Sigh. Maybe I'll try again next year.

7) Pounds lost: 0. Pounds gained: 13. At times this bothers me (especially when I look at the clothes I was wearing last year or on the occasional night of loneliness), but people tell me they can't see it (and they in fact tell me I look like I've lost weight - I guess my eyesight isn't the only one failing). Plus, despite the weight gain, I've finished two marathons and have planned 3 half-marathons, and 3 10ks before April 1.

8) Theatre castings: 0. Auditions: 0. I didn't have the time: I've been taking night classes since February.

Overall, I am pleased with my year. I was in a down state about a month ago (I get melancholy when I PMS, I hate to say) and I ran into a guy I used to work with. I haven't seen him in about a year, so I told him what I've been doing. As I was telling him, I began to perk up because I really have done a lot this year!

New Years is only three weeks away. I don't celebrate New Year's. I'm not superstitious, but I've realized that when I celebrate New Year's I have a crappy year, but when I don't I have a great year. This theory has been going on for nigh on 7 years. For example, three years ago I went out to a club for New Year's. That year I had tonsillitis, a bad relationship, I worked under an evil boss and I accomplished nothing of importance. Two years ago, my then-boyfriend took me out to a nice dinner and we went to a party afterwards. That year we broke up in January (which was a good thing, actually), I had the worst work-related year I've ever had and my heart was squashed almost beyond repair in the fall. Last New Year's Eve I worked, and I had a fantastic year.

So what will I do on New Year's Eve this year? I'm not sure. Maybe watch a video and do my nails. I will tell you one thing, however: I will be in bed long before midnight.

Tuesday, December 06, 2005

Am I A Diva?

Yes, I was cast!!!!!!!! Yippee!!!!!!!!!! And, to make things better, Lonnie was also cast - as my husband (which my mother calls ironic, seeing that he's gay).

I am cast in the spring production of "How the Other Half Loves" at Company Onstage (more to come as the show gets closer). They cast for many shows at once, so mine doesn't actually run until May. Rehearsals begin in March. The dates look great, except I'll be missing part of my 10-year high school reunion - it's the weekend before we close. Luckily the planning committee is planning on a weekend full of activities, so I'll get to go to those, plus I can go to whatever is happening after the show (we'll be done by 10-10:30pm).

I am frustrated. I don't even know where to begin. I am in a bad temper. I told the director of the show that his phone call was the highlight of my day, which was true. The rest of the day was just off and I feel slightly like a ticking time bomb. I'll explain more later.

Monday, December 05, 2005

Auditions, round I and II

Well, I auditioned last night and tonight. I wasn't too pleased with my auditioning - and there were a lot of women auditioning for only 3 parts, so we'll see. I also don't want to make a big deal of it... just in case. But Lonnie was there (we were cast in a show together last year) and he auditioned he made the comment that he hopes we're husband-wife on stage, together again. Yeah, that would be fun. The dressing room would be awash with him and I singing show tunes.

Yesterday Yvonne and I went bridesmaid-dress shopping. I am her last single friend, and since we're best friends, she has decided that I need to get married (so that we can be soccer moms together). She asked me who I was bringing to her wedding. I told her I don't know - I haven't even picked out my shoes yet, let alone a date. Hell, it's 7 months away! She asked me who I've gone out with recently (by the way, the date two weeks ago was nice, but no spark existed... but I got a free meal out of it). No one. She is growing frustrated, so I decided to tease her and tell her that I might not ever get married. She didn't like that at all. It's funny to see her facial expression go from contentment, to shock, to horror. :)

School was difficult today. I got behind really fast on my grading, especially since late work is still coming in and my 9th graders turned in these intricate projects. I also found out this afternoon that I have to have my finals turned in on Thursday am for inspection. I guess it's good because I won't be doing it at the last minute. It's bad because I have to do it tomorrow and Wednesday. I guess I'll be bringing my laptop to work tomorrow to do it during my off period. Ho, hum.

Sunday, December 04, 2005

Raindrops

My room is encased with a velvety silence, with only the sound of rain dropping onto the room permeating the air. The night has fallen and the creatures that dwell in this house are, for the most part, asleep (save the sugar gliders who anxiously await the lights to go out in my room so that they can frolic without fear of blindness).

I discovered yet another perk to marathon running: a free three issue subscription to my favorite magazine, "Runner's World." Since I was going to purchase it tomorrow, I was happy to find it in the mail pile from yesterday.

Running: none. I went to sleep last night with pain shooting down my quadriceps. I felt fine today, but had no time (3 hours of grading, 5 hours of bridal shopping with Yvonne and 3 hours of auditions, plus travel time to and fro those destinations). And since auditions went later than expected, I'm not waking at 4:30am to go to the gym tomorrow.

The second round of auditions are tomorrow night. Give me a few days and I'll announce news when I receive it (good or bad). I get cast: yippee! I don't get cast: I'll just plan more half-marathons.

Oh, and after trying on bridesmaid dresses, I have finally found another good reason (besides running another marathon) to drop weight (at least the 20 I've gained since my lightest in February 2003). Plus, her wedding is one week after my high school reunion, so it's inevitable.

Now, to bed. I'm slightly grumpy. 2 more weeks until Christmas break!!

Saturday, December 03, 2005

With a Thousand Sweet Kisses

I just came back from seeing "Rent"! It was *fabulous*! I cried so many times and just loved it! Since I've seen the stage production and have the cast recording memorized, I knew immediately what they left out (which were minor lines), but overall it was great. I loved how the director kept things dark and solemn and how the set was depressing (since the subject matter is depressing) and the company numbers were exciting. I could go on and on... but I'll spare you. I will say that when Jesse L. Martin sang, "I'll Cover You" towards the end, my make-up was running down my face.

I went running today. I went a bit over 14 miles (it might've been closer to 15, but I'm not too sure). Overall, I felt good. Here's the stats...

Distance: 14.5

Time: 3:30 (I forgot to stop my watch on the bathroom break and the water stop breaks)

Nutrition: Poor

Hydration: Poor

Boredom level: surprisingly low

Pain level: My right Achilles tendon (of course) was tightening up at mile 12, so I walked a mile. My knees started to ache towards the end. Now I'm just stiff (and was groaning when I went down 4 flights of stairs at the movie theatre)

Dead animals: None

Weather: Sucked. Humid, humid, humid

People I knew (besides running buddies): 2 - a teacher from my school and a college buddy

I'm going to take a nap now. Then I need to grade some papers (I must be productive for at least two hours tonight).

Tomorrow: theatre auditions!

Friday, December 02, 2005

TGIF

Here's some things I'm thankful for...

1) It's Friday
2) I have two weeks until winter holidays (two weeks off)
3) My patience and silence drive made people insane (as in, they blame and rant and I keep my mouth shut until they realize how stupid they sound and their voices trail off)
4) One of my more annoying students moved and thus transferred out of my school
5) Tomorrow is a long run (but it might be rough because the only day I've run this week is Tuesday, due to class and fatigue)
6) Matinee movies (I'm going to see Rent tomorrow!)
7) Text messages from friends

And more...

But #1 is most important right now.

Tuesday, November 29, 2005

Frosty the Snowman

The weather was as close to perfect as can be in Houston. The air was chilled this morning, stayed a nice cool temperature during the night and then descended again after school. I took advantage of the opportunity to go for a nice jog.

My jog, despite the weather, was less than stellar. I grumbled through the initial 2.9 miles around Memorial Park until I started counting various things to get my mind in a better frame. I counted 1 dead frog, 18 cute guys, 4 tiny dogs, 2 of my running buddies, 2 mounted police officers, 2 news vans (was there another attack in Memorial recently?), 1 tow truck towing another truck, more smelly port-a-potties than desired, and a partridge in a pear tree.

I achieved, on this very rare occasion, negative splits! My first lap took me 41 minutes, while my second lap took me 39 minutes. The temperatures dropped pretty quickly and I was jogging faster to keep warm (which is why I am more speedy in the cold weather). I decided to quit my walk breaks for the second lap (I'm trying to build up the strength to go at least two laps without a walk break), and that second lap, albeit less minutes, felt like it was never going to end. My knees and right ankle started feeling sore, but I arrived at a point in which to stop would hurt more. So I kept trudging along...

And then I came home and binged on pizza.

Sigh.

Monday, November 28, 2005

Back to the Grindstone

I had to go back to work today. Bummer.

The kids were extremely hyper today. If it continues, I will be writing kids up tomorrow. I will not take it.

I had a parent yell at me today. Her child is not doing the work (I teach English, for heaven's sake, not physics), not coming to afterschool tutorials, talks in class, doesn't come to class prepared and thus does not "understand" what's going on and is therefore failing and the mother has the audacity to yell at me? Oh, no. That will not do.

I didn't run today. I had night class. Thankfully, I only have two of those left. I cannot wait until my nights are not filled with classtime and my weekends are not filled with projects! On the plus side, however, I did get a 100 on my thematic unit project (worth 20% of the grade). Woo-hoo!

Tomorrow, I'm aiming for 5.8 miles - twice around Memorial Park.

Sunday, November 27, 2005

When You're Bored of Upset... Give a Small Dog a Bath

I just gave Wibble the Jack Russell Terror (thus monikered due to the fact she is a terror) a bath. :) And then, after towel-drying her a bit, I let her loose in the house and watched her run like a freak. Yes, I laughed. A lot.

Now, 10 minutes later, she's all tuckered out and passed out on my bed. Luckily the sugar gliders haven't popped out of their pouches to say hello.

"Taking it slow and easy, eh?"

Fuck you.

I was jogging at a pretty good pace (pretty good, for me) and I jog past this older guy stretching against a tree. And he said, "Taking it slow and easy, eh?" I didn't say "fuck you" to his face, but I was thinking it. I am a slow jogger! What he thought was slow and easy was actually me going a bit faster than I normally do. In fact, I cleared Rice in 37:45 minutes, which I haven't done since April. And I cleared the second lap in 39:30, which is good for me as of late, too. Grrr.

Today's stats:
Distance: 12 miles.
Time: The first six was 82 minutes (woo-hoo!)The last 6 was untimed. But it was BAAADD. I walked it with my sister, who's a slow walker and she was on her cell (grr) for much of the time for work. After she put the phone away (3.5 miles into it), we started doing 1-4 intervals - shuffle one, walk 4. This is the first time we put any shuffling/jogging in and she did ok with it. Now we need to work on walking faster.
Nutrition: Ok. Not stellar. But ok.
Hydration: bad
Boredom level: low
Weird people: none
People I knew: one (an old Starbucks customer)
Asshole: 1

I don't have a great deal to do today, which is exciting. My ACP supervisor is coming tomorrow, so I guess I should actually write my two lesson plans for tomorrow. That'll take me all of 15 minutes. Then I'll finished reading "Julius Caesar."

Oh, and I will be there for the "Run the Woodlands 5k Blogger's Edition." And I've made up a list of race dates I want to do in the spring, including three half marathons in a matter of 4 weeks.

Bring it on.

Saturday, November 26, 2005

Saturday update - Destruction

I am fortunate to have never seen first-hand damage from a bomb, but I wonder if our kitchen resembles that...

We're renovating our kitchen. My brother-in-law is doing most of it (the women are supervising). After finally finishing cleaning and my project (and I even got ahead on tests, vocabulary lists and handouts!), I ventured into the kitchen for a snack. Upon glancing at the kitchen, I realized it was just not in the stars. The tile was ripped up yesterday, the refrigerator is now in our living room (meaning the margaritas are closer to the couch), cabinets are missing, the stove and oven is now in the backyard (awaiting trash day, they will not stay there long - we have some class), I can't find the plates and flatware because those are the cabinets that are no longer in existance, the ceiling is ripped apart where top cabinets were removed... sawdust is everywhere. We're going to be eating takeout for a week because we can't cook! Either that or we'll be doing a hell of a lot of grilling...

Tomorrow is my long run day. On my own, I will do 6.1 miles. After 6.1 miles, my sister will be joining me, since I am training her for the Houston half. She's a walker but we're going to do 5-1 intervals (5 minutes walking, 1 minute running). This is the first time we're incorporating a minute of jogging, so we'll see how it goes. Oh, she is a chronic asthmatic, so we're taking it REALLY easy. Her goal is just to finish. And I'm going to be the good sister and I will accompany her the entire time (which is fine with me; maybe I'll do better in New Orleans, two weeks later). Hell, maybe I'll walk faster with her (I tend to stroll during my walk breaks and could use some speed then). So tomorrow is a total of 14.4 miles - 6.1 on my own and 8.3 with her. Granted, I'll be walking most of the last 8.3 miles, but it's still mileage... right?

Hey, I need help. Who can tell me how to add links to my blog, such as other blogs I read or sites I visit? Keep in mind, I'm not very technologically savvy...

You Oughtta Know

Now I'm listening to Alannis Morisette.

I took procrastination to a new level today.

I woke up early to man the TNT water station. It began to rain when I got to Memorial Park, so the coaches and I fiddled around for a while, trying to determine if the weather would but a damper on the days' running. After about 40 minutes, lightening shot down and thunder rolled near the park so we packed up the water station, picked up some runners (or followed those stubborn fools who wanted to run back to the park in a thunderstorm) and then went out for breakfast.

Wow, I was given an extra 3-4 hours of time today from not having to man the station all morning. What to do? What to do? I'm not going to run because I'm a fair weather runner (I only run in fair weather). I could finish my project. Hmm.

Nope. I'm going to clean! I'm going to do anything to not have to finish my project! I cleaned like a freak this morning. I went under my bed, in my drawers, in my closets, I organized my book shelves, I dusted. I spent a good hour and a half on my bedroom. Shall I finish my project yet? No! I still have another room to clean. I went into my office. After looking around, I realized that I was really desperate to procrastinate if I was willing to tidy up that room. Let me put it to you this way: it resembled more of a storeroom than an office. Yuck.

Luckily, my phone rang and Andy stalled me by having me listen to speech he wrote (which was excellent) for his Toastmasters club.

But that conversation was short and I was forced to delve into the depths of books, papers, and miscellaneous shit. Seriously - I found some random stuff, like a finals schedule from freshman year of high school. I didn't live here in my freshman year of high school! I worked on that room for about two hours. I cleaned the top and inside of the desk, the entertainment center, organized my DVDs, took every book off of all of my bookshelves, catagorized them according to subject (which is when I realized I own a small library of British history books and plays), and put them up according to era (example, all of the Tudor histories here, all of the screenwriting books there, Harry Potter here, Jane Austin there, Shakespeare here). It was sad. Then I sat down and read my old diaries I found (I am so happy I am not the anguished college student I was) and my unfinished screenplay. I haven't touched that screenplay in months. I need to finish! I'm going to review what I've written and my notes tonight.

At least I can see the floors now!

After hours of cleaning, I settled down in front of my computer and spent an hour finishing. I spent 4 hours cleaning to avoid 1 hour of computer work.

So, my grades are done, my project is done. Now I'm going to write three tests: one vocabulary test and one test over chapter two of "Fahrenheit 451", one over books 21-23 of the Odyssey. And maybe I'll be generous and create a sheet of questions for my sophomores on chapter 3 of F451.

Yea!!!

Friday, November 25, 2005

Friday Update

Uh, oh. It's coming on... there's not a lot I can do to stop it...

I am bored.

Yes, I was productive today. I finished grading, updated my gradebook and updated my grade spreadsheet (so I know how many kids are failing now). Then I started on my 12-page paper. I've completed 8.5 pages, so I only have 3.5 left to do. And now... I am bored.

I don't like to be too bored, because when I'm too bored I start thinking, and I think way too much. Then when I start thinking, I think depressing thoughts, and get lonely and get myself into such a state that I don't want to talk to anyone and I don't want to do anything but sleep. And eat chocolate cake. And watch "Sex in the City" reruns.

Sigh.

Gingerbread... an excellent cooldown

Today's stats;
Mileage: 6.2 miles (total this week - 24 miles)
Time: The first 5.8 took 82 minutes. I stopped my watch for the last 4/10 mile.
Pain: None whatsoever
Boredom level: High, but I kept saying 6 miles sounds better than 2.9
Weird people: None.
Temperate: Cooler and overcast. Almost perfect.
Hydration: Fine, fine.
Nutrition: Fine, even with yesterday being Thanksgiving - I did't pig out and ate veggies.
Route: Twice Rice and a half mile to and from Starbucks. :)
Post-run treat: Happily munching on a piece of gingerbread loaf from Starbucks (on the cooldown walk back to my car).

I have to be productive today. I will update my spreadsheet - I will not leave my house until that and half of my project is done. And since Christine and I are going to Company OnStage's production of "The Fantastiks" tonight (we must support our theatre home and friends/fellow actors), I have to be done with that stuff by 6:30pm.

But first... a shower. Ooh. Maybe I can pencil in a nap today, too...

Thursday, November 24, 2005

Do Turkeys Really Trot?

I ran the Uptown Park 10k Turkey Trot! Woo-hoo!

Here's the stats...
Distance: 6.2 miles (17.8 miles thus far this week)
Nutrition: Better, but not perfect (damn the leftover pizza!)
Hydration: Good.
Pain: None. Although when I was walking prior, my shin was bothering me.
Time: 80:45

I am really happy with my time for a number of reasons:
1) It was hot. While running, 70 degrees is hot to me (remember, I'm not thin)
2) After weeks/months of not running regularly and then running like a freak for the past 5 days, it's amazing I wasn't too tired or hurt.
3) It was only 2:45 minutes longer than my last 10K, which was in the cold of March.

I was running 13 minute miles. Notice that these past couple of days I was running 5.8 miles in 80 minutes. I ran an entire 4/10 mile more in just an additional 45 seconds. I felt it, though. I saw many running buddies and actually kept on pace with one, although I was behind her. With 1 mile left to go, I sprinted to catch up to her. After I caught up with her, I slowed down because that sprinting was not a good idea. The only real problem I had was that they ran out of water at the end by the time I finished. That sucked. My friend Erin was behind me a bit of a ways and she said that they ran out of water at the last water stop before she got to it.

On the plus side, finishing food included Kolaches from the Kolache Factory.

Another plus: I went to my gym to shower afterwards and when I weighed myself, I was three pounds lighter than I was last week. Now, it could've been water loss, but I hope not.

Afterwards, I met my family for Thanksgiving lunch. Due to issues (i.e. cousins with little children, a sister who has a small abode, an aunt in a wheelchair, and our house under renovation), we decided to eat out for Thanksgiving. So we went to Landry's. I don't see my aunt, uncle and cousins and their families much - only at Thanksgiving and Christmas. Due to a personal tragedy, I skipped out on Thanksgiving festivities last year to wallow in rented movies and chocolate and not everyone made it to Christmas, so I hadn't seen some in two years. This is sad, and please don't think me evil: but I am so freakin' happy I'm not the fat cousin anymore!!! Growing up, I was always the chubby one. Then the fat one. Then I started shrinking and at the same time my two girl cousins and my sister started growing. I was the smallest woman there. And I loaded my plates with vegetables and salad (and bites of the traditional Thanksgiving fare) and felt good when I saw fried foods and gravies and other stuff on their plates. Call me horrible, but I'm not judging just observing.

Anyway, the one thing I wanted was pumpkin pie. I ran 6.2 miles this morning, damnit, and I want pumpkin pie! I acquired a lovely piece, put a bite in my mouth, and then wanted to spit it out. It was the worst pumpkin pie I've ever had. :( Looks like I'll have to go to the House of Pies this week to get my pumpkin pie fix.

Tomorrow: 5.8 miles again. Easy run. I'm not going to bust my ass, but I will go early while it's still cool.

Wednesday, November 23, 2005

Ahh... They Still Have that New Shoe Smell

I'm sitting here, lacing my personal Champion Chip into my fabulous new shoes. I've worn them 17.1 miles, and they still have that "new shoe" look and smell about them. Someone asked me today how far I could run in high heels. I told him that from experience, I know I can run at least 5 blocks in strappy heels, but I prefer my Aasics.

The 10K is tomorrow! I'm going to bed nice and early tonight to be well rested. I hope to see some of you there!

PS - I wish people would think before they speak. I can't go into any more details about it, but seriously, THINK FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!! Have some fucking consideration!

Lesson o' the Day

While peppermint oil cooling gel feels good on legs and feet after a long jog, it does not feel so good after a shower which included a leg shaving (sorry guys, I know you didn't want to read that).

Ouch.

How Many More Miles?

Today was not a great jog, it was an okay jog.

Stats:
Mileage: 5.8 (total this week: 11.6)

Time: 80 minutes (to show how it got worse, the first lap around Rice was 38 minutes, the second lap was 42 minutes).

Nutrition: A hell of a lot better than the previous day, but not perfect (I had three slices of pizza last night and one for breakfast before the run, but at least I ate fruits and vegetables as well)

Hydration: Good. I consumed almost three liters of water yesterday.

Pain: Not bad. Maybe a slight pull once on my Achilles tendon, but after 2 miles, I started feeling a new pain in my left lower shin.

The rundown: I arrived at Rice, not really wanting to keep my time, but I did it just out of curiosity. I started my watch, started the jog, and after a mile I started complaining. God, I did not want to run today. I decided I was only going to do one lap. Then an irritating thing happened: a speedwalker passed me. I am slow. My best time was a 11 minute mile, and that was in 30 degree weather last winter when I started jogging. Considering I haven't been running as much due to the heat and have gained 5 pounds since the San Diego marathon, I can manage to pull off a 13:30 minute mile. I was talking an interval walk break and a speedwalker passed me. Oh, no, I was not going to let that happen. So I started jogging again and got ahead. Then when it was time for my walk break, she'd pass me again (I take slow walk breaks). So we did this for about a mile until I just decided to take out the walk breaks (catch me now, speedwalker!) and I jogged the last mile stopping only for a red light. I was miserable, but my total time around Rice was 38 minutes, which I haven't done since... April maybe. I then stretched and pondered going another lap. I pondered for about 5 minutes. Then I said, "F**k it" and went on, slowly and bitching the entire way. So I barely did 5.8 miles and my heart wasn't in to it. Then I went to the gym and bitched as I lifted weights.

Now I am home, thankfully. The shower is calling my name and I feel obligated to answer.

Tomorrow is the 10k Turkey Trot. I will don my favorite singelet, the one that is purple and reads, "26.2 Miles and Still Smiling" and jog comfortably. And then eat pumpkin pie.

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

Nope

I chose not to run this afternoon - why hurt myself and also it became warm. Blech.

I did, however, go to the movies again (I'm trying to catch up). I saw "Pride and Prejudice." Men: this is a 100% chick flick. Women: Do not see it if you are depressed over a guy - you'll be crying by the end. If you're not heartbroken, go ahead and see it and fall in love with Mr. Darcy. It was fabulous.

"I Gotta Go My Way"

Wow! I'm not listening to a musical.

First things first... running stats.

Distance: 5.8 miles

Time: 80 minutes (which I'm not happy with, but can't complain too much b/c of...)

Nutrition yesterday: Sucked. What word is worse than "poor"? The only vegetables I had were the tomatoes, onions, pickles and banana peppers on my cheeseburger. The other meals were just as bad. I eat too many brown and beige foods.

Hydration yesterday: Sucked. Most of my fluid intake (which was minimal anyway) was diet coke, decaf coffee and a smidgen of water (no more than 30 ounces)

Pain: Zip

Weird people I ran by: Zip.

Dead animals: Zip (cringe if you like, but when I run in River Oaks, I count dead frogs and squirrels as a distraction to the pain of the long runs).

I'm going to run again this afternoon, with TNT. I figure I'll do two laps around Memorial (another 5.8 miles) and then do the speedwork/leg strengthening exercises. It's not like I have anything else to do.

Here's the story of the weird guy from yesterday. Andy and I go into the theatre again for the second of the two movies we watching - this one being "Harry Potter." It was pretty empty, so I picked a good, central row with good, central seats. We sit and I immediately put my sexy-boot-clad legs onto the chair in front of me. Damned if this one guy walks to that aisle in front of us. He looks all around, counts seats as if he's reserving for a bunch of people, tilts his head in all directions, waves his arms around. I move my feet and he plops (and I mean plops) into the seat directly in front of me (grumble). This guys actions sound normal, but they weren't. His actions were just not normal. I was curious and trying so hard not to laugh. I had tears coming from my eyes. Andy looks at me and tries to suppress laughter himself, which just makes me laugh out loud. I try to laugh quietly, because I don't normally laugh at people (talk about them, yes. Laugh, no). But then Andy starts laughing and I just about lose control. Andy then leans over to the guy and asks what he was doing. The guy (in his young twenties) looks at us and asks if we know who Plato is. Andy, the literature major, was slightly offended and said, "Yes, of course I know who Plato is." Then the guy starts rambling about Plato and geometry and the acoustics of the theatre. Andy interrupts and says, "So you're just trying to find the best seat." "Yes." Andy settled back in his chair, satisfied but still humored. I admit to the guy I have no clue what he's talking about with geometry, telling him that Andy and I are English teachers. His eyes widen and says, "Wow. English teachers. Cool." And then he proceeds to tell us that he is a Biology major and trips up his professors by writing his lab reports in 17th century prose. I was just about to lose it again (once I get the giggles, they don't go away quickly). Then he asks if Andy and I like sushi. Warily, I say yes. He says that we should try out the sushi place in the food court of the mall but not to mistake the wasabi for guacamole, like his grandmother did... Andy mercifully interjected again telling him that he lived in Japan for years and knows what wasabi is.

Then the guy puts on his mp3 player and bobbs his head back and forth "Night at the Roxbury" style. I had to cover my head with my leather jacket. I needed a tissue to stop my eye make-up from running. Damn the giggles.

I think this is a "you had to be there" story, because it was a lot funnier there than when I describe it.

Today is more of nothing. Except I will update my gradebook - that is my one objective for the day (that and putting away my laundry, which I did at 6:30am because I couldn't sleep). But tomorrow, I have a date with a new guy! We'll see how this one goes.

Monday, November 21, 2005

"There's a Fine, Fine Line..."

Yep, I was listening to the "Avenue Q" cast recording again. There's a specific reason why this is the song o'the day (and Christine is the only one who knows the reason why... so this one is for you!)

Well, I have been on my vacation for three days now. Today was the busiest, by far. I met up with Andy in Lake Charles and we took in two movies and an uber-fast lunch and coffee. Yes, I did rub the marathon in his nose. Yes, he knew I was going to do it and yes, he laughed. Luckily he's a good sport about these things. I think we're at the point in our friendship where we have to take digs at one another - it makes things more fun.

The trip back sucked. This is horrible, but I was thinking, "Wow. If only I didn't break it off with Matt. I could just drive an hour to Lafayette and stay with him instead of the two-and-a-half hour drive to Houston." But since I did break it off with him, I didn't see going there as appropo. So I sucked it up and drove home, listening to "Avenue Q" and a Dave Matthews CD.

I told Andy about my blog and he found the site. I didn't tell him the address because I wanted to rush home to make sure I didn't write anything bad about him (I didn't think I did, but I just wanted to check). I did realize, however, that my posts are boring. I would like to apologize to everyone, then, about how boring my life is. :) And thanks to my running buddies (new and bloggers) that check up on my boring life!

I'm off to bed. I've a busy week ahead. I'm going to run as much as I can, get my grade book organized, go on a date on Wednesday, run a 10K Thursday, do my freakin' project (the one I'm procrastinating on), go out with Christine this weekend (since she's home), catch up on my movie-watching, clean my room, etc.

"And now it's time to go home..."

But here's a teaser for tomorrow: I must share the story about the very odd individual at the movie theatre.

Sunday, November 20, 2005

New Shoes, Same Route

I decided to take my new shoes on a run today to break them in. I jogged the same 5.5-6 mile route, but this time I finished 5 minutes earlier, going 1 minute/mile faster. I was so excited I was cheering on Greenbriar. :) I love my new shoes. I think that's what did it - these are much lighter and more flexible.

I got my pictures developed from MCM. Not realizing it, I took a picture of the juggling runner, as well as the Leap Frogs. Of course, I also have a picture of me between two hot Marines. :)

Just a few more days until the Turkey Trot. I'm ready. Bring it on!

Saturday, November 19, 2005

"There is Life Outside Your Apartment..."

"... there's a pigeon squashed on the street. Eew."

Sorry, I'm listening to the "Avenue Q" cast recording again.

Anyway, on with my life. :)

I played waitress at our TNT water station today, and I was absolutely jealous of those running. It was freezing cold, overcast which is my favorite kind of running weather. ARGHHH. All I could think of was, "Damn my Achilles tendon." Then I started to think... hmm...

I went home after the torturous watching and I decided to go running. I donned my running gear and headed to Rice. I went one loop around Rice (2.9) and tacked on the ENTIRE Hermann Park (including the golf course, not just the zoo area - which is at least 3 miles). I did my jog in 1 hour, 17 minutes, which is great, despite the pain that kept coming. Then, I decided to go to Luke's Locker and sign up for the 10k Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving. I want to run it, even if I hurt. It's all about the bib collection.

A funny thing happened at Luke's Locker. 104 KRBE was there for promotion purposes. I went to their "Meet Market" singles even with Tracy on Wednesday. I'm not a bar person, I'm not a drinker, but I went anyway for the hell of it. They had a drinking contest - a spelling bee. If you spelled the word correctly, you got a shot and continued until you spelled two words wrong. I'm an English teacher. Guess who won. Anyway, Reno, one of the KRBE producers/on-air personalities, was the host of the spelling bee. When I won, I won 40 shots and got to pass them out to cute guys. Unfortunately, the guys kept insisting I take shots with them. I think I had a total of 9 shots. Plus the rum and coke I had before the spelling bee. For a non-drinker, that's a lot of alcohol. Yes, I felt it the next morning.

Anyway, Reno was there. I looked horrible - in my running gear, hair pulled back, no make-up. I signed up for the Turkey Trot and while I was there, I bought some new running shoes (I'm starting to hate the brand I've been running in for a year). As I walked to check out, I paused by the KRBE table. Reno looked up at me and immediately said, "Hey teacher, how did you feel after Wednesday?" Shit. He recognized me. So I laughed it off and we chatted for about 30 minutes. One of the tech guys came over, stopped and said to Reno, "Isn't this the teacher?" Dear lord. What a way to be remembered. Winning a drinking contest. But I had a good time.

So I've signed up for the Turkey Trot. I want to sign up for the Houstonian Lite 30k, but that's an 18-miler and I'm not sure I want to hurt that bad (although finishers get a medal). We'll see how my Achilles tendon feels in a week or so. But I'm thinking the 18 miles is not a good idea.

But I have new running shoes! And they're lighter! I'm an over-pronator and the motion-control shoes I was wearing (Brooks Ariels) felt like boats. So the guy at Luke's Locker introduced me to some Asics that are more flexible and light. I can't wait to try them out tomorrow!

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

I Felt Like A Child Getting Chastised...

I was chastised today, borderline yelled at. And who did this... Andy.

So, my achilles tendon area has been sore, so I've decided to not run the Baton Rouge half-marathon in two weeks. I don't want to limp for the rest of my life. So I told Andy, since I had previously told him I was going to do it and we were going to hang out while I was there. He was very irritated with me. Why, you ask? Because I was running while hurt. He told me that I shouldn't even run Houston, but that's two months away and I know I'll be ok. I just started off too much too soon for me. Granted, the first run after a marathon shouldn't have been 14 miles, but it was two weeks later! And I know, that I shouldn't just jump into 14 miles after two weeks of no running. I do realize the mistake. Trust me, I feel the mistake. But he became angry! He literally chastised me, reminding me how I hurt myself before San Diego and he said that I should stop training for marathons because I need to heel and there will always be more, etc etc etc. I didn't tell him I wasn't going to run another one until I dropped 30 pounds, because I'm sure he would've thought it was a feeble attempt to save face.

Runners, don't lecture me. Please. I know I was wrong. I feel it. And I will get better and wade in the shallow end instead of jumping into the deep end. I guess my justification is that I'm so slow, that hurting myself doesn't seem like a big deal.

Moral of this story: my next run won't be until the Houston half two months away. I'm going to go a short distance on Sunday (as in no more than one lap around Rice). I'm going to start slower. And build up.

Arghh....

Saturday, November 12, 2005

ARRGGGHHHH!!!!!!!

So, today was a 16-miler, but I decided to do only 14. I'm not training for a full anytime soon, but I do have 3 halves within the next three months, so I'm thinking a maximum of 14 miles on a long run will be fine, and will keep me in a bit of shape when I start training for a full again.

I haven't really run since the marathon. I tried last Sunday, but gave up after a mile (due to back pain) and walked the other 4.8 miles. For the past week, I've been at the gym daily, doing weight training and spending time on the elliptical, so I figured I'd be ok. Ummm... no.

The first 10 miles were fine. I decided to stop running with my iPod because it distracts me, but I had a great time and was running better without it. After the 1st mile, my right achilles tendon (which has been tight and slightly sore since the marathon) starting stiffening up. Groan. But after another mile it was fine. Then tight again. Then fine. That went on for a while, but the weather was pleasant and the route was nice and scenic and familiar and I was feeling fine. After 10, though, I was feeling the strain and pain. After 11, I gave up jogging. I walked fast for a mile, and then I limped for the last 2 miles. I was whining so badly the last two miles, that it's a good thing I was by myself. Each step was torture.

Now I am home. I've decided to make a concerted effort, despite the weather, to actually do the weekly maintenance runs that I've been skimping on. I need to get back to normal (which means how I was running before my June marathon).

Now, for the rest of the day, I'm thinking I'll take a nap and then work on my project.

Oh, yeah. I donated blood yesterday afternoon. That might have an effect on my overall feeling today. Duh.

Thursday, November 10, 2005

When I get down in the dumps...

So, I've spent a good portion of 2005 being depressed because I thought my life sucked (to quote one of my favorite musicals, Avenue Q, "It sucks to be me.") I focused so much on the bad things (my weight, stress over my poor time management, the stress of a job switch, being in too many short-lived relationships with people I shouldn't've gotten involved with), but the other day I looked at my year as a whole and came up with an epiphany. My year was pretty damn good. On December 31st, I decided to dub 2005 "The Year of Erica," mainly because 2004 sucked big-time. I decided that I was not going to sabotage my happiness, like I usually do, and focus on more positive things. And here's what I realized about this year...

1) One of my New Years' Resolution was to run a 5k. I've run 2 5ks, 1 10k and 2 marathons. That's pretty damn good!

2) I wasn't going to date any losers. Well, I fell short on that one, but on the positive side I've had more dates this year and relationships (short-lived or otherwise) than I've had period. Which is great for my ego! I'm not the troll I thought I was.

3) My weight. Sigh. This has been a very depressing issue (a continuous battle since high school). But then I realized that, despite gaining 10 pounds this year, I've done all that running/jogging and had all those relationships and dates. I decided that my weight wasn't going to stop me from doing one marathon (and I've done 2!) or dating. So I'm coming to realize that my weight doesn't play as big of a part as I thought it did. (I know, it's the inside that counts, but I've dealt with eating disorders for the past 14 years and this is a big realization for me).

4) Job. I hated my job at the beginning of the year. And though the switch to teaching has been busy and time-consuming, I still love it! And I am actually proud of what I do. I am not embarrassed to tell anyone that I'm a teacher.

5) Writing. I haven't finished my latest screenplay. But I've been busy. And I'll finish. I'm ok with not finishing yet... sometimes the best things take a while to do.

6) While I didn't go to London, as I had hopes of, I've traveled more this year than I ever have in one year - I went to California (a first), New York City (a first) and Washington DC (a trip I've made before and always love).

So, all in all, I've had a great year! And this makes me feel stupid for spending the majority of my year feeling depressed and sad.

I wonder what 2006 will bring me...

Tuesday, November 08, 2005

Farewell, dear jacket... how I'll miss thee....

Hey Mr. Weatherman! Bring back the cold! Bring back the cold! What's up with this heat and humidity - don't tease us with 2 weeks of coolness, only to yank it away!

In case you can't tell, I'm irritated. I hate the heat. I want the cold. I want to go running again (of course, after my back is 100% - it's now only 80%). I've been working out for the past 6 days and am getting tired of the elliptical machine.

But I've been getting up at 4:30am to go the gym. I'm proud of myself. And I'm so tired that I feel like I'm going to fall over. But my muscles are sore and I'm happy about that - I might actually be finding a routine again.

Sunday, November 06, 2005

I Spoke Too Soon

Back spasm! Back spasm! AHHHHHHH!!!

Yesterday morning, my back started getting sore. By last night it was spasming. During the night was ok, but after moving around for a little while this morning.... more spasming. I was waiting for this to happen, but I was hoping it wouldn't.

I have problems with my sciatic nerve. I've had problems since early in college. A slight move in a certain direction will send pain shooting down the nerves from my back down my legs. It usually only happens once a year, but it happened after San Diego and I am not surprised to feel it now, but I was hoping it wouldn't. I'll be fine in a week or so, but it's just annoying.

I tried to jog this morning, my first jog since the marathon. I've been using the elliptical machine for the past couple of days, and I might have to go back to it until my body can take the impact of jogging. My back was giving me problems after just a mile, and my right ankle/achilles tendon area was still smarting. So, I ended up walking 2 laps around Memorial this morning (the last lap with my sister).

I've also decided NOT to do the New Orleans full marathon. Instead, I'm going to do the half. I can't run another full until I lose 30 pounds - this weight just makes it harder and I know it's why my back is the way it is. I can't train for a marathon and lose weight at the same time, so I'm just going to do halves until I drop the poundage. But I'm going to keep my weekly long runs to around 15-16 so that I won't have to start completely over.

Time to grade the papers now....

Friday, November 04, 2005

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

So I'm feeling good. Sort of. Almost. I noticed, however, that my legs were starting to hurt, but not from the marathon - they wanted me to move them again! So I decided to brave the gym (despite the blister that is on the ball of my left foot and way under a callous, thus making a feeling as though I am walking on a sharp rock). I did 45 minutes on the elliptical machine and called it an evening. I felt pretty good afterwards. This is the first time I hit the gym since the MCM, and it didn't tire me out!

After the trip to the gym, I went home, took a shower, dolled myself up and made an appearance at my Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo committee meeting/auction. Being that it's a rodeo event, I wanted to wear my boots. They have heels on them. Bad idea. I ended up barefoot less than two hours later. My feet were killing me! I guess they're still sensitive from the marathon.

Today at work, my feet were feeling the brief time in the boots, especially that pesky blister. I am so happy, however, that my legs don't hurt! I'm going to go to the gym in an hour (after my dinner settles) to work out another 45 minutes. I need to get back into a steady workout regimen (one that's been suffering since school started). If I do 45 minutes on the elliptical and 20 on weights, I'll be a happy camper.

When will I start running? When the damn blister heals. It hurts that bad. I tried to pop it today (sorry, I know it's disgusting, but I was desparate), but it is so far underneath a callous that I wasn't successful. I was afraid I'd stick the pin into my bone. So I guess I will just have to suffer. The elliptical machine, however, is easy to do since your feet don't move - your legs do. I want to try to run Sunday. We shall see.

Oh! I ran into another friend of mine who was supposed to run the MCM - he bailed out. But he told my sister that he's doing the Houston half, and since she and I are doing it we invited him to trot along with us (since we're slow). So now the three of us will jog it together.

Yes, my sister is going to do the Houston Half. We start training Sunday. She's a very serious asthmatic, so I'm pretty sure we're going to be walking most of it, which is fine since I hope to do the New Orleans marathon two weeks later. We're going to start with a simple loop around Memorial Sunday morning (but by the time she shows up, I hope to have done two loops). She doesn't run at all, so we'll probably be doing run 1 walk 4 or run 1 walk 5. We just want her to finish.

I am going to work on increasing mileage and dropping 30 pounds. For those who don't know me, I weigh around 190. I know that to have a good marathon I need to drop at least 50 pounds, but I'm not in a hurry. I'm going to focus on 30.

Wednesday, November 02, 2005

Must Vent

Ahh, the wonders of a blog... a place where you can vent and people can laugh at your problems. :)

I need more hours in the day. Or I need a week off (how many weeks until Thanksgiving?). Let me list what kind of pressure I'm under...

1) School (as in work): I need to write my lesson plans a month in advance because I'm starting to feel pressured and overwhelmed by days. I also have to update my grade book since it's a new six weeks, grade tests for my freshman class, grade papers for my sophomore class, write tests for them...

2) School (as in night class): I have a large project due Monday (but she said she'll take it the following Monday if necessary... and it might be necessary). I have to write a thematic unit. Not hard, but time consuming. Then at the end of November, I have to have a 12-page instructional strategy research paper written. Again not hard, but time consuming (this will be my Thanksgiving break).

3) ACP (the alternative certification program I'm doing): I have to have my second portfolio assignment in by November 9 and I haven't even started. Again not hard, but time consuming.

4) HLSR: I'm on a committee and have to write reports and call contacts. Again, not hard but time consuming.

5) Exercise: Oof. I need time to do it, but often when the time is here I am too tired or stressed from worrying about the other things. But I need to get back into the gym (my card is gathering dust) and I need to start running again (next week) to train for the next race....

And the time I have to do that stuff? A couple of hours tomorrow night, Friday night, Sunday all day (Saturday I have plans). God, I'm tired. I cannot wait until Thanksgiving break.


AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Tuesday, November 01, 2005

Two Days Later...

I feel almost normal!!! Here's the update on the pain: ass still hurts, quads don't hurt at all (and haven't at all), knees don't hurt, calves still slightly sore, ankles still hurt, back fine. I should be 100% back to normal on Thursday. I'm going to start going to the gym again tomorrow and I might try to easy jog again Friday.

My next marathon: New Orleans. But from now until then I will focus on the following: getting in the appropriate miles of training a week (strive for no less than 18, and getting up to 36-40 depending on long run) and losing 30 pounds. If I drop the weight, I won't tire as easily.

Upcoming races: Baton Rouge half marathon (December 3), Houston half marathon (January 15), New Orleans marathon (February 3). Goals: to finish!! (Actually to finish each half in less than 3 hours and the full in less than 6:30).

Later!

I Forgot to Mention...

More Marine Corps memories...

1) The guy who played the sargeant on "Full Metal Jacket" gave a pep talk before the gun went off.

2) There was a little boy around mile 18 holding up a sign that said, "Run you freakin' idiots!"

3) I owe much thanks to whatever group was passing out cups of M&Ms around mile 16. I was going to toss them out (I wanted water), but decided to eat them and felt so much better 5 minutes later (I guess my blood sugar was down to my toes).

4) High school bands played the theme from "Rocky"

5) A sign at mile 23 said, "3.2 miles until beer."

Monday, October 31, 2005

26.2 miles later...

Yes, I finished the Marine Corps Marathon! Woo-hoo! Was it hard? You have no idea... (some of you might).

Friday, I went to the expo and picked up my race packet and mock turtleneck (and promptly calling Andy to rub it in his nose, which only made it better that the mock turtleneck is purple and gold). Then, after buying myself presents (consisting of a new running t - with the MCM logo, MCM socks, a MCM windbreaker, and a sterling silver pendant/dog-tag chain that says, "Marine Corps Marathon Finisher"), I wandered around the expo. I love running expos - the energy level is so high and I feel like I'm a real runner (yes, I know I am but expos just re-affirm it). Then I sat in on the speaker series and had a front-row seat for Jeff Galloway's talk. It was so motivational and great - but that has to be one of the smallest men I have ever seen. Duh, he's a runner.

Sunday, race day. The night before I ate yummy homemade baked ziti (it was great, April) and cookie cake (not the best thing, but I didn't care). I wake up early Sunday (as in 5am), leave the house at 5:45am, am on the Metro for an hour until I get to the start line (by the way, some poor person decided to jump in front of one of the trains, which caused a delay that morning on the blue line). Shivering with cold and excitement, I exited the metro station and walked around the Pentagon parking lot until I found Runner's Village. I found a couple people I knew (a Marine I met the day before, Bill from TNT) and chatted with them for a while. Anxiety was filling the air (and I have to say that the MCM had plenty of port-a-potties) as we waited. Finally, the scarlet wave was getting ready to line up. The National Anthem was sung and the Navy Leap Frogs (the parachute team made up of active SEALS and SRIC) jumped out of planes and swirled around until they landed. Then, the scarlet wave was off! I was on the yellow wave, so we all begin to line up (carefully because the Marines were running the show and as one guys said, "I'm listening to them - they have guns). Finally, it's our turn.

The first two miles were a bitch. Nothing but uphill. I managed to walk the first 2 miles because I didn't want to tire myself out. Then I coasted downhill probably too fast. Then I was passed by Kermit the Frog and Miss Piggy, as well as the guy running and skipping rope at the same time, and finally passed by a guy running and juggling at the same time (marathoners like to have fun). I saw Bill up ahead, so I ran to catch up with him (this is mile 7). He and his friend were walking, so I trotted up alongside and joined them. Bill said to me, "Erica, I'd like you to meet John Bingham." Yep. Bill was running with the Penguin. I ran with them for about 1/2 a mile, and then I ran up ahead (calling Andy and rubbing it in his nose again). But then Bill and John passed me and I was getting tired so I let them go.

I got to mile 13 in 3 hours and a few minutes, which was about the same time as San Diego. By the time I got to mile 15, however, I was tired of running. And I mean tired. I hit the wall. April (my Gatorade girl) met me at mile 15 and that was basically the last time I ran (although I made several fierce attempts, each one lasting less than 4 minutes). So I sped walked, since I had to make it to the bridge in 5 hours. By mile 19, I was afraid I wasn't going to make it, so I called people and just cried (actually, I first broke down at mile 14 - running a marathon is very emotional). By the way, thanks to Mom, Andy, Christine and April for the inspirational text messages sent throughout the run - I needed them!). As I crossed the 19 mile mark, Marines were yelling, "Go faster or you won't make it! Pick up the pace! Speed up!" I respect the Marine Corps and I admire them, but at that time I was cursing those respective Marines under my breath. As I got closer to the bridge, it got worse. More Marines were yelling. Finally, I got to the bridge and started crying - I made it! I could finish! I got to mile 20 in 5 hours. I then gave up trying to make a better finish time and went very leisurely - for now it was just about finishing. My ankles were killing me and the bottoms of my feet were like fire. So I walked slowly to ease the pain and sang from my iPod shuffle as loud as I could (drawing many a glances).

Finally, I got to mile 25. In San Diego, I forced myself to jog the last mile in, but my feet refused. So I continued my easy walk. I met up with April at 25.5 and she walked with me the rest of the way. When we get to the chute, she convinced me to jog in, which I did. Once across the finish line, many cute Marines were there, congratulating me. They put a medal around my neck, gave me a camoflauge space blanket, took the timing chip off of my shoe (and relaced it, too!) and then guided me to the food. I thought I was going to pass out. I was uber-dehydrated. The sun was beating and I wanted more water stations. I had salt crusted to my face and hair and my sunscreen didn't work as well as before.

But I finished! I finished! And today, the day after, I don't feel all that bad. The bottoms of my feet still burn and my right ankle is hurt, but the rest of my muscles (ass, quads, calves) are only minorly sore. Walking isn't that much of a problem. I'm still trying to recover from the dehydration. Yesterday I almost passed out at the Metro station (I had to sit on the ground with my head between me legs and sit until my breathing went back to normal and the wave of nausea passed). Today, I almost passed out at the grocery store. I am fighting off nausea now, and am going to bed as soon as this is posted.

I'll finish this up tomorrow. I need sleep.

I FINISHED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When's the next one, might you ask? Ask me again in two weeks, once I've healed.

Thursday, October 27, 2005

One foot at a time...

My poor Astros. They lost the World Series. They lost bad, but the put up a fight until the very end. But I still love them and will continue to support them. They've made it to one World Series, they can do it again!!

On another note, I leave for Washington, DC tonight. As soon as the final bell rings, I'm outta there! I have to race to IAH because the traffic is going to suck. I think I've packed everything, my iPod shuffle is charged, I have my supply of gels and first aid....

Keep me in your prayers Sunday morning! I begin at 8:45am (which means I'll be running ALL freakin' day... why can't it start earlier?).

Ciao.

Tuesday, October 25, 2005

The Weather Outside is Frightful...

But it's just my kind! I love the brisk air!! Cold weather means better running for me! I jogged twice around the park for a grand total of 5.8 miles. I love this weather - it makes me want to continue being a runner.

I checked the DC weather forecast... now the chances of showers has moved to Saturday with Sunday being partly cloudy and a high of 66 - perfect! Maybe I can "Beat the Bridge." I was running 13:30 minute miles today (jogging, actually), so I just have to be strong enoughn to not slow down any. Also, with the drop in temperatures, I think I'll be able to knock off another 30 seconds on the day of the race, which will put me as barely beating the bridge!

God, I have to pack. The problem is that I have to grade assignments tonight, and then I have class tomorrow until 8pm. I was supposed to have dinner with a co-worker tomorrow (as our weekly custom, moved to Wednesday due to my Thursday flight), but I'm thinking I'm going to bail... I have to pack! And I want to make sure I don't forget anything (need to pack my shoes, gear, gels, safety pins, Body Glide, Vaseline, my runner's pack, my camera and film, peanuts, Band-Aids...)

Packing. Yuck. Wait, I have to wash my running clothes. Argh! I'm running out of time!!!!!

Monday, October 24, 2005

Bye Bye Burger King

I had my last Burger King breakfast this morning. Since my marathon is 6 days away, I have now forfitted grease. I need to forfit chocolate, but let's not get too hasty...

Finally, the weather in Houston is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!! I wore my leather jacket this morning and I can't tell you the last time I wore a weather jacket in Houston in October. I looked at Weather.com for the weekend weather for the marathon, and it's going to be nearly perfect (the perfect part being the high is 62 and the nearly part because it might rain). Things are looking up.

Two of my friends completed the Nike Women's Marathon in San Francisco yesterday. Delphi, who ran the San Diego Rock'n'Roll Marathon with me, finished and shaved 13 minutes off of her time. Christine is a first-time marathoner and she finished in a little over 6 hours. Both give me hope. Neither one of them trained like they should have (as I should've as well) and they finished within 6.5 hours. I want to Beat the Bridge, which is 21 miles in 5 hours (I just discovered that extra mile yesterday, much to my dismay). I wonder if they give any leeway on that. We shall see on Sunday...

Sunday, October 23, 2005

7 More Days

My next marathon is in 7 days. Am I ready? I guess so. Am I worried? HELL YES!!!

My goal is to finish, and to finish I must "Beat the Bridge", which is at mile 21. I have to make it there in 5 hours. I might be able to do it. I can do 21 miles in 6 hours with an hour of bathroom breaks, conversation breaks, water stop/chatting breaks. 5 hours will be pushing it, but I am going to try!!! Running this marathon has been a goal of mine since last December, and while it's been on the backburner when school started, I still want to finish it. I'm running it to one-up someone, and the next time I see that person (which will be a week later), I'm going to wear the medal and show him the pictures. Hee hee.

After next Sunday, I might take a break from marathon running. I want to enjoy running again, and I want to not train for something. Although I won't be training, I'm still going to do Saturday long runs of 13 miles (in case I want to sign up for a random half marathon, because 14 miles isn't bad at all). With the not training, I can focus on speed training and just enjoying myself without watching a stopwatch. So I'm not going to do New Orleans. It's too much. If they have a half, I'll do the half. Plus I'm doing the Houston half. My next marathon... who knows. I'll do at least one next year. Christine just finished the Nike Women's marathon (go Christine!) and she wants me to do that one with her next year. With the medal being a Tiffany's necklace... I just might! :)

I've been thinking a lot this past weekend, as well as listening. I had dinner with Yvonne and Stephen last night. They are the cutest couple and they're waist-deep in their wedding plans. Yvonne tells me that I need to get married soon, because she wants us to be soccer moms together (actually, she's been getting on my case for about a year now). That got me thinking. What if I don't get married? Will I be ok with that? I think I will. I think marriage is scaring me and I didn't want to admit it until recently. There are so many things I want to do, and I don't know how a marriage will work into that. For example, I want to live in NYC. And I want to live in London (getting my masters or PhD at a university in England). I want to live in either NYC, DC, London or San Diego for the long run, but who knows when that will be? And will someone want to move around for me? I wouldn't want to.

There's a lot to be said about acceptance.

Friday, October 21, 2005

What is happiness?

My sophomore class is reading "Fahrenheit 451" and since each day they have a journal entry to write, Tuesday's was "Are you happy? What is happiness?" I asked that question because Clarisse asked Montag if he was happy (see, I have a journal-novel connection).

That question got me wondering. I am not happy. I pretend to be and since I'm such a good actress, I manage to pull it off convincingly. But I'm not. I always knew I wasn't, and this trip to New York made it more evident. I am bored. I want a different kind of life and I am too bored here. I love my friends and family, but I want to have adventures. New York gave me the time to have an adventure (as did San Diego). I miss exploring places and finding out new things, which is why I have to move. Living in New York will be a constant exploration and adventure. If not New York, I could move to DC or one of my other cities of choice (my top choices are New York, San Diego, London and Washington DC). I love Houston, and Houston will always be home, but I think it's time to uproot my Southern self and live out of the South.

Sorry for the whining/complaining. I'm getting worried because my marathon is next week and I feel totally unprepared, and I'm taking out my fears and frustrations on myself. Meaning I am a nervous, grumpy wreck and I can't wait until the marathon is over (actually, I can't wait until mile 20 and the bridge is behind me). One week and two days away...

Are you happy?

Monday, October 17, 2005

Avenue Q... and 5th.... and Madison...

I love New York! I had the best time. Rather than go into unnecessary detail, here's a smattering of my fabulous trip...

Thursday: Landed in NYC and, I kid you not, I started singing showtunes outloud as soon as I got in Manhattan. The day was cold and rainy, but Christine took me around and we went through SoHo and the lower east side. That night, we saw "Sweeney Todd" - it was interesting. I am extremely familiar with the show and wanted to see an elaborate set and fantastic singing. I heard the fantastic singing (Patti Lupone, how wonderful!), but the setting was blah. The director made some interesting choices - there was no chorus and there was no orchestra. The main actors sang everything and played the intstruments themselves. Watching Patti Lupone play the tuba and other actors playing the cello, pianos, drums, etc. became more interesting than watching those acting and singing at the moment. I had some issues with it, but that's because it was different. The talent, however, was fabulous. That night, I got maybe 7 hours of sleep.

Friday: Woke up early to explore. I explored, however, in the cold and constant rain (hence my present sore throat). I watched GMA and the Today Show (I saw Katie Couric yawning), discovered Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Tiffany's and other 5th Avenue things. I loved it! I loved seeing the pedestrians, the cabs, the horns honking, the people wearing wacky clothes, the immense number of little dogs being carried in bags (and walking around in department stores). After returning home (2.5 hours of walking later), I picked up Christine (she was sleeping in) and we walked around in the cold some more. Macy's is amazing - it is 8 stories high and has a Starbucks, McDonalds, and more... plus it sports wooden escalators! I saw Ground Zero (taking pictures, of course) and was introduced to New York Pizza, Tasty Di-light, hotdog street vendors, and more (I ate a lot and walked a lot). That night, I went to a bar with Christine and made a friend in New Jersey. After the bar (in which I stupidly wore 4 inch heels), we walked all around Manhattan - we went to dinner in Times Square, went bar-hopping and exploring the night life. Friday night was one of the best nights I've ever had. The company was fantastic and the evening was full of laughter and excitement.

Saturday: Christine and I went running along the Hudson (although my feet were in much pain). We stood in line for tickets to see "Spamalot" that night (and got them), then shopped some more - I have a cashmere substance abuse problem. Afterwards we went to a favorite bar of Christine's to watch the UT game (for her) and the LSU game (for me). At halftime, I decided to go shopping again. I bought nothing, but went to Bloomingdale's and Barneys. My first celebrity sighting was Christine Applegate at Barney's. I was trying on $400 hats for the fun of it and she came right next to me and started doing the same thing (although she was probably going to buy the hats). She is tiny!!! Later, Christine and I met to go see "Spamalot" - it was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't relate how wonderful it was and I wished I saw it Friday also. Tim Curry and David Hyde Pierce and Alan Tudyck and Sara Rameriz were astounding and hilarious. Afterwards, I stood outside the stage exit door with other audience members and waited for the actors to come out. David, Alan and Sara came out and signed Playbills. They signed my poster and David took a photo with me! I was so excited and I'll post the pictures when I get them developed.

Sunday was bittersweet because I was to leave. Christine and I went to a traditional diner for breakfast - I wanted my bagel with lox and cream cheese. I kid you not, the diner cook gave me a slab of cream cheese for my bagel. A huge square block. And it was fabulous. Then we ate cupcakes from Crumb and walked around Central Park, which is absolutely beautiful.

Basically, I had a wonderful trip and have now decided that I will be moving to New York. I am going to finish out this year at my school and also next year in order to save money and get an extra year of experience, but then I will be off to New York!!!! I am a city girl, and NY was everything and more I expected. I can see myself there.